Radiohead
OK Computer


5.0
classic

Review

by ThePlaceboEffect USER (1 Reviews)
April 18th, 2007 | 30 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This album is good for people who like this sort of music but not for others

OK album, recommended if you are into this sort of music but otherwise you may not like it. One of the many reasons OK Computer stands out from its contemporaries is that it was the first rock album in almost two decades that dared to deal with themes of urban alienation and technology's effect on the human psyche. Coming out in a period where a gaggle of bands were sticking rigidly to a revisionist, oversimplified reading of their progenitors' music - Kula Shaker's psychedelia revivalism, Ocean Colour Scene's "mod" revivalism, Oasis's increasingly moronic tributes to the Beatles - OK Computer stuck out like a sore thumb.

With this album, Radiohead dared to catch up with the surrounding popular culture; it stands proudly alongside works by Martin Amis, Oliver Bevan, JG Ballard, David Cronenberg and other who focused on the dystopian aspects of an increasingly technology-driven world.

One of the album's strengths lies in Thom Yorke's lyrically Orwellian depiction of a terror-filled yet hopeful world peopled by characters who buzz like fridges. This was in such stark contrast to much of the music from the Britpop moment as to sound like something entirely new (the honourable exception being Blur's sublime The Universal which predates Radiohead's millennialism by a good two years), There is Airbag's Ballardian tale of surviving a car crash, where technology nearly takes and then rescues life; Paranoid Android's disorientated, scattershot anger towards the alienating effects of digital sound, featuring some mind-boggling guitar work from Jonny Greenwood; Subterranean Homesick Alien's Miles Davis-influenced, innocent fantasy of seeing the world new and beautiful; and the album's great opus, No Surprises, an unspeakably atmospheric, beautifully disillusioned update of the Beach Boys' Caroline, No, delivered with humanity and a fatalistic compassion that its authors would lose in the imperious and paradoxically technology-embracing drone of their subsequent albums.


user ratings (6410)
Chart.
4.6
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
riobravo1023
April 18th 2007


274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Did we need this review?

Anyway, decent review for a first.This Message Edited On 04.18.07

Two-Headed Boy
April 18th 2007


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah what he said. I'll still vote, though.

The Jungler
April 18th 2007


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This review, while well-written, is pretty annoying. I love this album just as much as the next Radiohead fanboy, but a lot of your statements are just way too ridiculous (i.e. calling it mankind's magnum opus). Also, anyone who thinks Pablo Honey should be bought before Kid A, Amnesiac or Hail to the Thief is brain dead.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
April 18th 2007


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

basically what jungler said

I wonder if anyone will ever write a negative review for this. or something below 5. And after Med reviews basically anything, there's no need for anotherThis Message Edited On 04.18.07

FlawedPerfection
Emeritus
April 18th 2007


2806 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Med's is a great track by track, but overalls are much more effective so I think Holland's (Eliminator's) is the best.

The Door Mouse
April 18th 2007


2092 Comments


I've been meaning to buy this. This is an excellent review for a first. Eventually you will naturally get better. To answer IsITLuck's question, I'm going to buy it and intentionally give it a 1 to get respect and a review with over 20 votes :p

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
April 18th 2007


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol :p

tom79
April 18th 2007


3384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with Jungler about the review.

Ive listened to this album tons of times but it still isn't a 5 for me, though its excellent, to say the least. Karma Police, Climbing up the Walls, No Surprises are probably my favorites.

Digging: Bent Outta Shape - Bent Outta Shape

La Revolucion
April 18th 2007


1060 Comments


[quote=Review]Radiohead would sadly go on to release very average rhythmic electronic music[/quote]
Wrong wrong wrong wrong wrong wrong

Oh and decent review.

plane
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2007


6100 Comments


This album grew on me. Kid A used to be my favorite, but this... this is perfect.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2007


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

All Radiohead is awesome, save Pablo, so your electronica statment is very off. Amnesiac contains my favorite Radiohead tracks, and Kid A is a magnificent effort. And the same as everyone, This is Perfect.

Zmev
April 18th 2007


983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not the best Radiohead, not even the second best Radiohead.

Doppelganger
April 18th 2007


3124 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Review is meh. Like previously stated, your comment about "average rhythmic electronic music" could never be more wrong.

The Door Mouse
April 18th 2007


2092 Comments


Do you expect anything else from a first time reviewier though?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The review is super duper pretentious, and lacks in the organizational department a bit. Ironic coming from me, but yeah.
I wish I could have heard this when it was released to maybe get the "majesty" of it. It's not like its aged in a short period of time, but I don't see the humongous deal.

plane
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2007


6100 Comments


Do you expect anything else from a first time reviewier though?

Praising him for a first review when it shouldn't be praised is kind of against the point. He's supposed to get better, and not telling him why his review isn't good just because it's expected of a first reviewer isn't going to make him better.

The Jungler
April 18th 2007


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[quote=zepdude]I'm going to buy it and intentionally give it a 1 to get respect and a review with over 20 votes [/quote]Yeah because a shitty, negative review of a well-liked album is going to get you respect.


The Sludge
April 18th 2007


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just find this album kinda average, I'd like to write a review why, but really, I just don't know why. It'd be like reviewing Converge, giving it a 2.5, and not knowing why.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2007


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

So it'd be like every below-3.5 review for Converge on the site, then.

Kaleid
April 18th 2007


711 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's really bleak, and does the whole 'technology terror' thing very well. But I reckon you've gotta be in a very specific mood to listen to it. Still excellent, though.
Review was better than a lot of firsts but Ilu's right, it needs a bit of structure/reorganisationThis Message Edited On 04.18.07



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy