Unwound
Leaves Turn Inside You


5.0
classic

Review

by BringHomeTheBacon USER (7 Reviews)
March 11th, 2007 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A dark, bleak, and forgotten masterpiece of the 21st century.

The cover of Leaves Turn Inside You doesn’t seem to be a very interesting one; a plain dark gray background with five letters at the very bottom: U, N, N, D, and a strange hybrid of N and W in the middle. However upon listening to the album, the cover makes more sense. Leaves Turn Inside You really is the ultimate gray album, the perfect soundtrack to a dark, cold, gray-skied setting. Frontman Justin Trosper sings about freezing summers, ghosts and demons, and a future void of any hope. While the album maintains a consistent mood of hopelessness, the songs do not suffer as none of them sound too similar to one another.

Leaves Turn Inside You is basically Unwound’s equivalent to Fugazi’s The Argument. Primarily a post-hardcore band in their previous records, this record was a major step away from their normal sound, experimenting with a string section, mellotron, spoken samples, etc. While Unwound had quite a few long songs before this record, none can compare to the amazing epic 9+ minute Terminus. The song is broken up into 3 sections: a typical guitar driven vocal section, a Godspeed You! Black Emperor- like orchestrated section, and a swirling guitar/keyboard instrumental. Another experimental standout is the depressing, atmospheric One Lick Less, which has a strong My Bloody Valentine feel. October All Over features Trosper’s droning vocals sang over a haunting guitar riff played in an alternate tuning, a characteristic common in many Unwound songs.

Leaves Turn Inside You is one of the most emotionally captivating albums this decade has to offer. With the exception of Slint’s Spiderland, I can’t think of another album that creates such a bleak and hopeless atmosphere. I highly recommend this to any fans of later Fugazi, Slint, or Sonic Youth. Leaves Turn Inside You can be an exhausting listen, totaling in at 74:38, and it’s certainly not an album for everyone or something to listen to everyday. However, every minute is used effectively and contributes to the album’s flow. Once given the proper time for everything to soak in, Leaves Turn Inside You becomes a very rewarding and unique listen.

Pros
Extremely well written and structured songs
Amazing album flow

Cons
Can be exhausting

Recommended Songs
Terminus
Demons Sing Love Songs
Off This Century
October All Over



Recent reviews by this author
Oasis (What's the Story) Morning Glory?Jimmy Eat World Stay on My Side Tonight
Switchfoot Nothing is SoundWeezer Weezer (Deluxe Edition)
Led Zeppelin Led Zeppelin [DVD]Foo Fighters Everywhere But Home
user ratings (469)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
BringHomeTheBacon
March 11th 2007


248 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I haven't reviewed in about a year and a half so let me know what you think. I was going for something just a little more than a soundoff. This Message Edited On 03.11.07

BringHomeTheBacon
March 13th 2007


248 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Anyone give the stream of "December" a listen? I know this wasn't the greatest review, I just think a lot of people on this site would really like this. I've upped my personal rating of this to a 5, I just love every moment of it.

FreshCoffee
March 14th 2007


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I first heard this album 3 or 4 years ago and immediately loved it. It's amazing... I can't give it a classic rating but it's definitely worth listening if you haven't heard it. The only real problem I have with it are the vocals in places.

It really has that cohesive "flow" that marks a good album. All the songs work and feel right together. Yet at the same time, each track stands out. They have a similar sound and work as an album, but they don't sound repetitive or blur together

You seem to be more of a fan of Disc 1. I like Disc 2 better, it has more atmospheric "epic" feel.

Best song is "Below The Salt" in my opinion. "December", the stream, is a good track, but if you don't like it I still suggest checking the album out as each song is fairly different from the rest.

FreshCoffee
March 15th 2007


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's a shame no one else is commenting on this, it's such a great album. Truly as you put it, a "forgotten masterpiece". Looks like it will stay that way :/

Bukowski
March 19th 2007


45 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review, nice and concise. This is easily my favorite album since 2000, aand the only album since then I'd describe as perfect.This Message Edited On 03.19.07

The Jungler
March 20th 2007


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really good album, I'm sure my rating will go up in time.

Boddah
April 7th 2007


129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great great album.

711
April 7th 2007


1341 Comments


Great band, Ill probably eventually get the album, but I already have a list of things awaiting download on soulseek...

LordGreekFolder
April 6th 2008


7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review, and this is a terrific album. Jawdropping the first time I heard it.
It's just completely solid and airtight. I agree however that there are points where the vocals are a little weak, or over processed, but that is only a miour problem. The composition and playing on the album are top-notch. Truly a masterpiece.




rasputin
April 23rd 2009


14544 Comments


this is good

SeaAnemone
September 11th 2009


20321 Comments


where can I find this?? I want it sooooo bad

Digging: Holy Sons - Lost Decade II

kitsch
September 11th 2009


5107 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

blogsearch
sordo
pretty much anywhere



Roach
September 11th 2009


2148 Comments


Amazing album you must get it.

Boognish
September 27th 2009


1003 Comments


43,000 times better than any Brand New album

fireaboveicebelow
September 27th 2009


6837 Comments


true, though random

iarescientists
November 27th 2009


5863 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i don't think any band will be unwound ever again

NortherlyNanook
November 27th 2009


1285 Comments


one of the best ever

but i'm a fag for unwound

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2009


15737 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

really need to listen to this fo srs

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

Roach
November 27th 2009


2148 Comments


you really do downer

1drummer
March 13th 2010


324 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album is GOLD. Tripped to this, it was a beautiful experience.

absolute gold.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy