Lydia
This December; It's One More and I'm Fre


3.5
great

Review

by Ben Greenbank USER (41 Reviews)
November 9th, 2006 | 9 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Passionate, beautiful album. Which i recommend to anyone who wants to here some slow burning piano rock.

If I were to describe Lydia’s music in one word, the obvious choice would be beatiful. They make slow well crafted, piano driven rock. Not unlike Mae’s slower moments without the Christian undertones. A move to a major label is almost certainly in the air. Another obvious comparison has got to be Straylight Run, in that they mix the male/female vocal styles over a melodic base. The impressive artwork was also drawn by the same man who designed the Straylight Run full length.

On opener “Smile You’ve Won,” withdrawn vocals shimmer over a slow burning intro, this is probably Lydia’s heaviest song which really isn’t saying much but their not that kind of band. Dual Vocalists, Leighton and Maria, trade of in an emotive opener which draws parrelels with the anthemic, “Song About an Angel” by Sunny Day Real Estate. The near-eight minute "A Story for Supper" shows Lydia at their best; passionate, emotive and truly moving. The soft loud dynamics are often prevalent here particularly on “Her and Hayley” which winds and winds from the raw vocals of Leighton over the drums to a great wall of sound, with the transition seemingly effortless. Lydia create great layers of instruments in their music, the delayed clean guitars in “It’s In Your Blood” are backed by delicate, steady strings, there is a great ambient feel to this record, while also retaining a firm grounding in emotion. “A Camera Lens and Careful Days” is a poignant acoustic song that is another highlight. Everything on the album seems to be played with passion. Think of how everyhting on “Clarity” by Jimmy Eat World just seemed so raw and flawless.

Lydia will obviously not be for everyone. They are by no means an aggressive band and the vocals are for the most part extremely quiet and held back. But given the chance this album can produce something really special. Definitely one of my albums of 2005, even if I only discovered them a little later, they will soon rise out of their underground birth so I suggest you jump on the bandwagon beofre everyone else.



Recent reviews by this author
Mutyumu IlyaAutechre Tri Repetae
Buddy Holly The Chirping CricketsPaul Simon Graceland
Celeste Nihiliste(s)The Ocean Precambrian
user ratings (121)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wildcatforever
November 9th 2006


441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice Review, seems more like a soundoff but you described the songs well though there sound needs to be described as well. But for a third this was impressive!! Lydia are a pretty good group, they just take a while to get intoThis Message Edited On 11.09.06

bdizfoshiz
December 12th 2006


273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This album is amazing. I didn't know about this band and I went to a show yesterday and they were playing and they just blew me away. I think there were a few times when I didn't even cheer in between songs because the music just put me in this relaxed trance-like state and I couldn't even move. So I picked this album up and it's amazing.

lunchforthesky
January 8th 2007


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

With hindsight i hugely overrated this album, its still good though.

icaught fire444
January 8th 2007


622 Comments


I saw these guys live at a skate demo like 2 years ago. I had no idea who they were then but they were pretty good.

Sweetness
March 12th 2008


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Amazing.
Pure eargasm. and I never use that word!

The dual sex vocals (Y)
and the male vocals are Mmm, so just like yeah!!

And the piano, love.
Just over all bliss.This Message Edited On 03.12.08

AndyRictor2000
December 18th 2008


146 Comments


Fix the damn summary "Passionate, beautiful album. Which i recommend to anyone who wants to 'hear' some slow-burning piano-rock."This Message Edited On 12.18.08

Ubicuo
August 29th 2009


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Beautiful, melodic, dynamic music. The front mans vocals go so F.ing well with the music. I obnoxiously played both of their albums as if there was no other band on earth. Ha, I did prefer Maria Sais De Sicilia to Mindy however. Mindy sucks butt live. Maria was cuter too. Tee hee hee. Can’t wait for their next one. One thing I like about the vocalist is that a lot of other singers in this genre tend to get a little too feminine at times in my perspective I don’t that’s going to happen with him he’s got this low mystical thing happening with his vox. Great band

zlenn45
October 6th 2010


4 Comments


I understand that this is an album review and nearly everyone here is basing their information on how the band sounds by what is on the cd...but to truly understand why this band is so good you have to listen to them live. I went to some of their early shows when I was in high school. When they were playing with the likes of Before Braille and Scary Kids Scaring Kids, it is bands like these that you can really only know how good they are by what they do with their instruments LIVE...not recorded and processed...what a concept...bands that are better live than recorded...its the way it should be though.

loveisamixtape
August 25th 2014


6037 Comments


listening to this for the first time in years and it sounds a lot like a more atmospheric ILAVLAC by manchester orchestra

Digging: Free Throw - Those Days Are Gone



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy