Unearth
III: In the Eyes of Fire


3.5
great

Review

by talentless USER (3 Reviews)
September 13th, 2006 | 21 replies | 4,707 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist


1 of 1 thought this review was well written

I must admit my expectations for this album weren’t all that high. I had long since left metalcore behind, with the exception being a few God Forbid listens that were tepid at best. And for the first 4:21 of III: The Eyes of Fire, my take on the album was about the same as my expectations.

The first track,Glorious Nightmare, is a pretty standard metalcore song. Somewhat entertaining, but hardly impressive. By the end of the final breakdown, I thought my hopes at finding a band whom had transcended the standard metalcore fodder were dashed. Somewhat disappointed, I waited for the next song to come in.

And then came hope. His name was Giles. A spectacular amalgamation of fret wizardry, frantic snare hits, and a breakdown that was actually somewhat satisfying, Giles represents the potential that Unearth show on this album.

Unfortunately, it’s only potential. III fails to be consistently innovative. Take for instance, Sanctity of Brothers. At about 1:55, as guitarists Ken Susi and Buz McGrath chaotically ascend the fretboard, vocalist Trevor Phipps screams an echoing mantra. After this huge build-up comes….a ho-hum breakdown. In fact, this is a trend that occurs throughout the album. Just when the steam behind a song is building, any kind of build-up is ruined by cacophonous D5 bashing. The breakdown, while a trademark of metalcore, is overused.

But by no means is III a bad album. On the contrary. It doesn’t fail to entertain in the least. In fact, it has the old At the Gates quality of having at least one thing in every song that makes it worth listening to. Unstoppable, for instance, employs some nice clean parts that really are nice break from the rest of the album. So it Goes features a spectacular (if all too short) shred duel at the end. Big Bear and the Hour of Chaos, the final track, has some nice piano work in it.

The production on the album is quite tight, and with the exception of the bass, all the instruments are well defined in the mix. Speaking of instruments, guitarists Susi and McGrath have done their part to ensure that the guitar work on III is tight, aggressive and entertaining. It’s unquestionably more melodic and technical than almost anything in the metalcore genre. Drummer Mike Justian provides more than just a crash cymbal, showing off some very precise fills and frenetic beats. John Maggard, like most metalcore bassists, is quite inaudible. Finally, vocalist Trevor Phipps’s voice is an acquired taste in my opinion. I didn’t really like it all that much at first, but I got used it enough to enjoy the album.

In all, III is a superb metalcore effort. But therein lies the problem. It suffers from the usual metalcore habits of having samey-feeling songs and too many breakdowns. But underneath that there is great potential for Unearth to put out something great. This deserves a look.


user ratings (800)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of
  • Andy H. B. (4)
    Unearth's third album is a nearly flawless example of metalcore at its best, with another ...

    Pim K (4)
    Best Unearth album to date...

    Steven McMahan (4)
    In The Eyes of Fire is almost everything that metalcore can and should be, but not without...

    YHB (4)
    A fine showing from the masters of the genre....

  • Kit Brown (5)
    The best metal album of 2006....

    TID22 (5)
    ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Thor
September 13th 2006



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This review was certainly less biased than mine. Pretty good work, but I have to say that I disagree with some of your points. The breakdowns on this album fit the songs greatly and they don\'t really seem to take anything away from any of the songs. They\'ll even add to them most of the time.

I also wished that you talked about more of the songs, but I guess that\'s what you get for having such a short review. I\'ll vote for this though, seeing as how it\'s only your third review.

Edit: I forgot to mention that This Glorious Nightmare owns and is in no way a dissapointment like you said. This Message Edited On 09.13.06

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

talentless
September 13th 2006



94 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the comments.

Thor: The breakdowns might fit in sometimes, but they are greatly overused. Variety is the spice of life, and I just don't like having to hear how many different ways can play D over and over. I think there are some breakdowns on the album that are halfway decent. Giles and March of the Mutes have some pretty sweet ones. But I get tired of them after awhile.

As for songs, going over all the songs on an album isn't really my thing. I'm an album type of guy, so when I review an album I focus more on how good the album is as whole, and less on how good some individual songs were. I usually just use a couple songs to point out the highlights and lowlights of the album.

As for Glorious Nightmare, there just weren't any parts on it that stuck out as particularly spectacular. It's a decent song, but by no means one the best on the album IMO. Thanks for your feedback though

Mudvaynian: Thanks for your feedback too.

Thor
September 13th 2006



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought the album was consistenly great all the way through, but hey, different strokes for different folks. That's what this site is here for. :thumb:

loathed
September 14th 2006



174 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

...breakdowns are overused here? i dont think so imo...they always come in at the right time and make you want to headbang so bad.

but anyway, alright review, just wished it was longer.

Giles owns btw.

Itwasthatwas
September 19th 2006



729 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album wasn't bad but I found it boring. Too many parts sounded nearly identical to parts from The Oncoming Storm, and while, they were sweet the first time I really was hoping for something new. And I agree completely with the reviewer, WAY to many pointless breakdowns.

An awesome review though, one of the better one's I've seen on the site. Succint, refers to individuals songs without going into track by track lameness, and pretty well unbiased. Well done.

Neoteric
September 19th 2006



3243 Comments


Nice review :thumb:

labonza01
October 7th 2006



546 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice review. i really like this album. that solo in "so it Goes" is pretty good, i like it a lot. great album

Yimmypalooza
January 5th 2007



81 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Like Thor said the breakdowns aren't a bad thing for this cd. Especially because Unearth actually knows how to pull them off unlike some other metalcore bands.

ibanezbassist369
May 30th 2007



5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think this album is great. i think it's just something you have to be in the mood for

SynGates
May 30th 2007



2467 Comments


the snare is annoying as hell though.

Epilogue
May 30th 2007



1555 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't think so, Mike uses it alot, but he has cool patterns.

Bfhurricane
May 30th 2007



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Overrated album. But still pretty good. So It Goes is fantastic - and The Glorious Nightmare really isn't anything spectacular

antihippy
May 30th 2007



696 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i really, really, really, really, really, really, really like the the sanctity of brother.

rather good album.

Confessed2005
May 30th 2007



3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I would say this is probably the best metalcore album released as of yet.

Looking forward to seeing them this summer.

Aeksis8745
May 30th 2007



448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It is definetly in the top albums with regards to metalcore.

Meelk
May 30th 2007



126 Comments


haww? they sound just like everyone else. unearth are just as bad, if not worse than all the other generic metalcore bands out there.

Tyler
Emeritus
May 30th 2007



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They don't do much differently, they just pull it off better.

Tyler
Emeritus
May 30th 2007



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It will, it'll just take a little longer.

LifeInABox
May 30th 2007



3707 Comments


You really changed it?! Sputnik History in the making, my friend.

antihippy
May 31st 2007



696 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0



it's a sad day when you can't use mudvaynians name against him




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy