The Flaming Lips
Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots


4.5
superb

Review

by Ian USER (107 Reviews)
August 7th, 2006 | 16 replies | 3,005 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist


5 of 6 thought this review was well written

The Flaming Lips- “Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots”

Oklahoma isn’t very well known for famous Rock bands, more like famous Country artists. That’s alright and isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but I’d like to be able to claim one band that is at least fairly well known is from my home state. Doh, how silly of me, I forgot about one of Rock and Indie’s greatest bands in history, the Flaming Lips.

“Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots” isn’t the Flaming Lips’ best record, but it’s very, very soothing. The structures of many songs on the album are intricate, but the band still makes the overall album extremely accessible. “Fight Test” opens the album like a long lullaby and gently sways through, making the song fly by. Vocally, the album is almost perfect; it’s soothing, quiet, but adds a whole new texture to some songs. The whole record doesn’t have an overall standout song because everything blends together so well, which is a rare case. Many bands sound similar to the band, but the Flaming Lips take those influences and create their own unique atmosphere. There really is only one part of the entire album that isn’t entertaining. That’s “Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots pt.2”. It disrupts the flow of the album slightly, but not by much even though it’s widely different with uptight electronic beats dominating the song. The only vocals are in the background and sometimes hard to hear and don’t add much to the song either. Still, “Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots” is an amazing album that swept me off my feet the first time I heard it and hasn’t ever gotten old, or tiring to hear and is superb in all forms.

Pros:
+Whole albums flows elegantly and seems like one entire song
+Great musicianship all around
+Soothing vocals

Cons:
“Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots pt.2” slightly disrupts the overall nature of the record



Recent reviews by this author
Z-Ro CocaineEmery The Weak's End
Papa Roach Old Friends from Young YearsLinkin Park Living Things
Krizz Kaliko Kickin' and Screamin'Madina Lake From Them, Through Us, To You
user ratings (1211)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
August 7th 2006



12702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Remember, how short a review is does not matter anymore, it's the quality of the review.

innerdark
August 7th 2006



749 Comments


i've only heard part one of yoshimi... good review, short, yet sweet

francesfarmer
August 7th 2006



1477 Comments


Too vague, it seems like you started to describe the first few tracks then just pulled the plug and submitted whatever. This could have been a great review. But it was well-written; even so I'm not going to vote. Sorry.

Two-Headed Boy
August 7th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this review. This album is, too me, a classic.

Zesty Mordant
August 7th 2006



1196 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This album to me is great in moments ("One More Robot", "Do You Realize") and amazingly bland in others. And agreed about Yoshimi Pt. 2.
Soft Bulletin is THE Flaming Lips album imo.

TheNewJungler
August 7th 2006



30 Comments


Pretty good review, is this your first Lips album?
Anyway about the album, it's a great album and all, but everytime I listen to it reminds me how much I miss old F-lips. Are You A Hypnotist (among others previously listed) is amazing though.

Btw, I think the first track is called Fight Test.

Storm In A Teacup
August 7th 2006



12702 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[quote=]Too vague, it seems like you started to describe the first few tracks then just pulled the plug and submitted whatever. This could have been a great review. But it was well-written; even so I'm not going to vote. Sorry.[/quote]

Thanks for the criticism, it's always appreciated. However, I like just writing shorter reviews now and focus on attempting to describe the album as quickly as possible without mentioning too many tracks. I have and can write long reviews if I want to, but they just don't seem neccesary when the message I want to deliver can be summed up in a fourth of the words.

And I don't like the voting system anyway so it doesn't really matter.

And to whoever asked, this is not my first Flaming Lips record.This Message Edited On 08.07.06

Hatshepsut
August 7th 2006



1997 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Perfect length. Nice review. I have this but have yet to listen to it. I love Soft Bulletin.

Cygnus Inter Anates
August 7th 2006



721 Comments


"In the Morning Of the Magicians" is such a good song.

Vectorman
August 7th 2006



2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Your description of the album was both accurate and detailed yet I think another paragraph wouldn't hurt. You could have easily gone over some more tracks but the review is well written.
I think the big problem with this album is that it is to boring. The mid-section is soothing yet dull and songs like "One More Robot" and "It's Summertime" save it from being a big snoozefest.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
August 7th 2006



16083 Comments


Even with the shorter reviews being allowed, most people come to sputnik to read at least somewhat-heavily detailed reviews, and this and your other review really don't fit that too well. At all.
Haven't heard this nor do I ever plan to, by the way. The Lips are the epitome of my blind musical hatred.

TheNewJungler
August 7th 2006



30 Comments


I guess that means you didn't see them at Lollapalooza?

Btw, I totally agree with Iluvatar on the review.This Message Edited On 08.08.06

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
August 7th 2006



16083 Comments


I avoided them like the plague. Almost bought a neat looking tshirt though. Bought a bottle of water. And they were about the same price :-/ /vast overexaggeration

Kyle
August 8th 2006



667 Comments


You could of almost posted the large paragraph as a soundoff really. But either way, it's written well and sums up the sound quite well.

Sepstrup
August 8th 2006



1563 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A short review needs more detail and a more informative style in my opinion. Not a bad review, but you could have talked about more of the songs for instance, and I'm not that fond of the opening paragraph really (It might suit a longer review better, actually).

nutty_bar
August 8th 2006



194 Comments


I like having some short reviews on the site. Some really long ones make me not want to get started reading them.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy