GZA
Liquid Swords


5.0
classic

Review

by supraman_2 USER (7 Reviews)
June 28th, 2006 | 53 replies | 7,797 views


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist


3 of 3 thought this review was well written

I have been on somewhat of a hip-hop binge lately but I keep finding actual quality albums that represent true good hip-hop. The GZA's album Liquid Swords is generally regarded as a Hip-hop classic for good reason. The silky vocals of the GZA aka The Genius permeate through the great production of the RZA who layers beats and sounds to perfection.

As part of the legendary Wu-Tang Clan, their contract allowed each member to sign with a different label as an individual artist which allowed the GZA to make this record. There is an appearance by every member of the group on this album but the GZA rules the roost. Like much of his work with Wu-Tang, samples from kung-fu movies are used during the course of the record, however these clips are much darker and sinister than the usual fare used by the group. The use of these clips adds to the atmosphere of the album giving it a cold vicious feeling.

The beats are well produced and carry a funky stomping groove. The beats are never content to just sit still and endlessly repeat. When you listen there's always something different going on. RZA knows when to add and when to take away and the sound effects are top notch. Listening to this album you have to appreciate how talented GZA is with his rhyming, he tells a story like no other and has an incredible flow. The songs deal with life on the street, various other topics and even labels taking advantage of artists. None of the subjects he covers are ridiculous like many of todays artists talking about rims and grills.
He even speaks about spiritual matters and it doesn't come off corny like many MC's on Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth (B.I.B.L.E.).

If you are a fan of rap and hip-hop this is a must own album showcasing one of the best MC's to date. The music has an eerie almost haunting sound and shows the creativity the memebers of Wu-Tang possess. Few artists can come close to matching this earth shattering album.

Final Rating: 5/5


Reccomended tracks:
(I like them all but try these)
Liquid Swords
4th Chamber
Shadowboxin'
Gold




Recent reviews by this author
God Lives Underwater Life in the So-Called Space AgeDead Prez Let's Get Free
Cave In Perfect Pitch BlackCave In Until Your Heart Stops
Injected Burn It BlackHelmet Meantime
user ratings (1308)
Chart.
4.6
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
pixiesfanyo
June 28th 2006



1222 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dammit. i was going to review this.

supraman_2
June 28th 2006



146 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Haha sorry, I just had the cd on my mp3 player and I was bored at work.

"Freshly Baked"
June 28th 2006



583 Comments


There is no review limit, why not.

It's not like it'll be like Master Of Puppets wiith 2 reviews every other week.

cjstunna
June 28th 2006



119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this album alot, but I don't know if I would consider it a classic....I'm gonna go listen and then rate it.

supraman_2
June 28th 2006



146 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I consider it a classic because you can still listen to it today and it doesn't age at all, lyrical and technically brilliant. Out of all the Wu-Tang solo projects this is in my opinion, the best one.

Knuckleheadz
June 28th 2006



36 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of the best hip hop albums of all time. So gritty and raw, it's some of RZA's best work, and as always GZA is brilliant.

"What is the meanin of crime? Is it Criminals Robbin Innocent Motherfu[font=verdana]c[/font]kers Everytime?This Message Edited On 06.28.06

TurnTheOtherWay
June 28th 2006



459 Comments


A hip hop review not done by Hep Kat? Blasphemy!
Flowbee, your avatar is wrong on so many levels...

LiveWire420
June 28th 2006



90 Comments


I love that hip hop is finally getting love on this board.

Blindguardian
June 28th 2006



186 Comments


There is not a weak track on this album, for me this just edges out 36 Chambers and Only Built 4 Cuban Linx as the best Wu-tang affiliated album
It's criminal if you're into rap and don't own this
Just so you know, the 4th Disciple did alot of the production for this album, along with RZA

Robert Crumb
Emeritus
June 29th 2006



165 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So many classic tracks here, but I don't love this album as much as I probably should. Still...

Blindguardian
June 29th 2006



186 Comments


yeah well I kinda jizzed on it in my comment, don't feel bad that you don't like it as much as me, I overreact when I'm overtired

(but its actually that good)

smokersdieyounger
June 30th 2006



672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

4th Disciple only produced the last track on the record.

cjstunna
June 30th 2006



119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

After careful review I would give this a 4.8/5 just because I can never listen to this whole album at once, some of the songs take way to long to get going.

burton.and.gas
June 30th 2006



641 Comments


as a kid i was into wu-tag, I shud check this out. This guy was pretty damn good.

smokersdieyounger
June 30th 2006



672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dibs on method man - Tical review!!

Dried Muffin Remnants
September 18th 2006



297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is one of the best rap albums ever...shit, maybe the best.

Lee Harvey Castro
September 20th 2006



2 Comments


I don't mean to nitpick on the review but I believe Killah Priest is the rapper on Basic instructions Before leaving Earth.

donkeyrope
November 13th 2006



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth (B.I.B.L.E.). is actually Killah Priest rapping not Gza. Awesome song though. Classic album.This Message Edited On 11.13.06

Apocalyptic Raids
January 22nd 2007



810 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great album, and easily one of the best Wu-Tang solo efforts alongside Only Built For Cuban Linx...

JumpTheF**kUp
May 20th 2007



2710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very good album. B.I.B.L.E. rules.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy