Circa Survive
Juturna


4.0
excellent

Review

by WordsAreDead USER (5 Reviews)
June 27th, 2006 | 17 replies | 3,052 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


1 of 3 thought this review was well written

Sound: Circa Survive, consisting of members from Saosin and This Day Forward, combine elements of Experimental and Progressive rock to form an intriguing post-hardcore experimental sound. With interlaced, subtley intricate guitar lines, amazing syncopated drums, driving bass lines, and a piercing lead vocalist, this band personifies the experimental-hardcore scene beautifully. The songs often utilize braintingling time signature changes and great syncopation, so look for that on your first few listens.

Lyrics: The lyrics, while straightforward upon first glance, have very provocative meanings, and are sung with a voice to be envied by many potential "high" vocalists. The strange lyrics fit quite nicely with the equally strange tonal moods and settings. A good combination of lyrics and voice.

Impression: Being a very unique band with unique sounds and abilities, this album is quite literally beyond comparison. It is very "out there" music-wise, but is always tied together with the rock and indie feel you get from most songs. The drummmer, Steve Clifford, may be the next big splash in the drumming world, so I'd watch for that guys name. The drums are a large part of this band, and it contributes to the overall feel of this group and style of music.


user ratings (1540)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Sam Feldman's Rating (3.5)
Juturna is an album that seems to go somewhere and nowhere all at once....

Devon Longerbeam (3)
...

John weathered old reviewer Hanson STAFF (2.5)
"Juturna" is a passable attempt at creating a progressive indie album, sometimes achieving greatness...

Atticus 69320 (4.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
jacobdixon
June 27th 2006



4 Comments


simply amazing

waronpeace
June 30th 2006



11 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

AHHH!! not long enough to cover circa survive!!! but i know what thats like, i write reviews for a HS newspaper and i cant go past 250 words. it blows, but yes Circa Survive are utterly amazing for about a million reasons

Xximxnottheone
July 24th 2006



24 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not a very efficient review, but the album is awesome.

bushman198
September 4th 2006



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

short review, the album however is just amazing

B10z
September 7th 2006



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

greates album ive ever heard

circacx205
October 5th 2006



6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

circa survive is the best band ever yo!!!!!

circacx205
October 5th 2006



6 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

somone talk 2 me fuck i am so bored!

spoonfedcrayons
October 25th 2006



35 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

im not really into the whole "emo" scene, but something about this band is different. they're almost like a faster coheed and cambria without the sci-fi story line, maybe that doesn't make sense, but this band is pretty shofu

KillEmAll114
March 16th 2007



15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First off, this is another great work by anthony green.
I reccomend Stop the Fu*cking Car, Act Appalled, and Oh Hello.

Second, this isn't emo btw "spoonfedcrayons".

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2007



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is really, really, really boring. He has an okay voice, but woulda been better off in Saosin (if thats possible).

laserlife42
March 26th 2007



23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I disagree. I think Circa survive are a much better band than Saosin. And that is definitely shown in this album.

trustxdialect
March 26th 2007



1502 Comments


The slower parts of the song sound exactly like the louder parts, so most of it comes out like a dull pounding.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2007



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Circa Survive sound like a slightly less talented, slower version of Saosin when Green was in them.
I still don't get how "amazing" his voice is, someone should probably explain it to me.

Shiftyly
March 27th 2007



82 Comments


i dont know either, maybe its just his combinations of singing, screaming and yelling with the high pitch that just...does something for everybody. Most people either just hate him or love him

hellalegit
April 4th 2007



6 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Aside from a few exceptions, this album (and band, really) is really boring.

bdizfoshiz
April 4th 2007



273 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

honestly, I'm not just being a fanboy or anything, but I don't see how this band is boring. I will admit, I used to hate them and after a while they really grew on me. They are so talented.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
October 14th 2010



10585 Comments


this looks like a long soundoff bro

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy