System of a Down
Mezmerize


4.0
excellent

Review

by k4t4lyst USER (2 Reviews)
June 19th, 2006 | 13 replies | 1,724 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


1 of 1 thought this review was well written

One thing that really stands out about System of a Down is their lyrical prowess, and their vocal style. I have yet to find another band that is similiar to SOAD in their vocal style. As to their lyrical prowess, SOAD is a perfect example of an intelligent rock band. They definitely have something to say about the world, and B.Y.O.B. is a good example of that, with lines like "Why don't the presidents fight the war?" and "Why do they always send the poor?". Also, some of their other songs are about drugies and prostitutes, and other things that are wrong with the world today. While most of their stuff is political, not all of it is, but it all has a point to put out into the media. As for the music itself, as musicians they are also pretty technical, which is somewhat rare in bands that focus on ideals in their lyrics. This album is devoid of solos, but it has decent riffs and grooves that fit with the vocals and with the other instruments. Some people dislike the singers' vocals, so it may be an acquired taste. Excellent Album.

Pros:
+Vocal Diversity
+Lyrics
+Great Harmony between instruments & vocalists

Cons:
-Some find the vocals to be annoying
-No solos
-Somewhat simple instrumental parts

4/5

NOTE: This was originally a blurb, and i'm working on making it longer so it's a more useful review. So don't needlessly neg it. I don't really know how it became a review.


user ratings (3427)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Acey
June 19th 2006



2578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i agree completely. nice blurb

a_martini_kiss
June 19th 2006



93 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Amazing. I agree, but you already know that of course, considering we had a conversation about how B.Y.O.B. was actually saying meaningful things. Lol, great job (again)!!

Brain Dead
June 19th 2006



1150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It's funny how we think bands are smart simply because they criticize the government, isn't it? Still, a pretty good blurb.

k4t4lyst
June 19th 2006



201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It is an intelligent band. I mean sure, a lot of bands criticize the american government, but combined with their mocking vocal style and the lyrics themselves, these guys DO do it differently, and intelligently.

fisky009
June 20th 2006



813 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice blurb, this album seems more mainstream than any other SOAD atempt.

k4t4lyst
June 21st 2006



201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm confused...how'd this become a review instead of a blurb?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2006



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

All blurbs of sufficient length became reviews. I wouldn't suggest bumping any more of them, unless you want to take the chance of someone ignorantly negging it.

k4t4lyst
June 21st 2006



201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmmm....perhaps I should edit it and make it longer when I have the time... eh

Dead_Trench
June 25th 2006



159 Comments


System Of A Down and smart lyrics? I think not.

k4t4lyst
July 6th 2006



201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^^why not? explain. What's so unintelligent about them?

Hunter555
July 7th 2006



424 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They acually are smart. Great blurb.

Hunter555
July 7th 2006



424 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They acually are smart. Great blurb.

Hunter555
July 7th 2006



424 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn these double posts! I hate this computer!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy