The Killers
Wonderful Wonderful


2.0
poor

Review

by SowingSeason STAFF
September 24th, 2017 | 183 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: How did it end up like this?

I’d like you to close your eyes and see if you can picture where you were when you first heard Battle Born. A blank slate, right? Well that same cloud of overwhelming indifference has been surrounding The Killers for three consecutive releases now. After the sharp, noticeable decline between the overzealous but entertaining Sam’s Town and it’s glitzy, substance-less successor Day & Age, it’s been a streak of mediocrity so potent that one would be hard-pressed to recall anything worthwhile that they’ve done since 2008. In today’s perpetually changing musical climate, that’s a long time to go without making any sort of distinguishable mark. Unfortunately for The Killers, Wonderful Wonderful simply lengthens that streak, leaving us all wondering if there’s much point at all in continuing to follow the band.

It’s not so much that the record is devoid of any redeeming qualities – ‘Run for Cover’ is a delectable throwback to the group’s ambitious rock n’ roll heyday, while ‘Rut’ possesses endearingly pathetic and most likely unintentional irony ("don't give up on me / cause I'm just in a rut"). Even the scripture-citing industrial pop (yes, you read that right) of ‘The Calling’ serves up some late-album amusement. However, as with Battle Born and Day & Age before it, the core of this album is just a remarkably tepid identity crisis. Flowers weaves from one regrettable approach to another, from the faux-soul of the title-track opener to his best Arcade Fire impression on 'The Man' - an 80's themed song that is lyrically ridiculous ("Cause baby I'm gifted / You see what I mean? / USDA certified lean) even if it's more fun than most will care to admit. Honestly, had they just committed themselves to that sort of marketable shallowness, Wonderful Wonderful could have been played off as a carefree good time. But Flowers has never been able to do that - he takes himself too seriously which is evidenced by the starry-eyed power ballads that fill this album's numerous vacancies. The worst offender is the closer, ‘Have All the Songs Been Written?’, which aside from being the stuff amnesia is made of, simply tries too hard to be poignant without having anything at all to actually say.

And therein lies The Killers' current identity - this insuppressible urge to make a grand statement, fueled by nothing. The band is out of gas and has been for a while now. Wonderful Wonderful fills the same role as Battle Born, taking mid-tempo pop-rock with aimless verses and marrying them to one stab-at-the-radio chorus after another. It's a vicious cycle, and it's one that they will likely never break unless they can find the inspiration to make something as emotional as Hot Fuss or as creative as Sam's Town again. The smart money says it's not in the cards.




Recent reviews by this author
St. Vincent MASSEDUCTIONManchester Orchestra A Black Mile to the Surface
Circa Survive The AmuletGang of Youths Go Farther in Lightness
Brand New Science FictionLana Del Rey Lust For Life
user ratings (111)
Chart.
2.6
average
other reviews of this album
Zack Shapiro (3)
Not quite Wonderful Wonderful, but not Terrible Terrible...

Luckynum19 (4)
Have All The Songs Been Written? After this album, I sure hope not....


Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
September 24th 2017


24819 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

More of a soundoff. I just couldn't bring myself to write about this at length.

Digging: Billy Corgan - Ogilala

Groundking
September 24th 2017


230 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The Man and Run for Cover are good fun and I like Tyson vs Douglas, but the rest of it is mostly forgettable and boring

neekafat
September 24th 2017


4994 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I disagree, I thought it was just a good fun record, nothing too special but enjoyable nonetheless

ABjordanMM
September 24th 2017


1700 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First half of the album is really solid for me. The rest is lacking.

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 24th 2017


24819 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah it certainly has its moments. I'm just so tired of the bland midtempo stuff that always offsets anything they do well. They need to pick a new direction and just run with it for better or worse rather than spin their wheels in mainstream pop-rock purgatory.

MarsKid
September 24th 2017


5548 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I think the length works, band doesn't deserve many words at this stage.

Digging: Planes Mistaken for Stars - Up In Them Guts

LethalPaintball
September 24th 2017


554 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

depressing release

Digging: DJ Okawari - Compass

MarsKid
September 24th 2017


5548 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sounds like it has some decent cuts though?

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 24th 2017


24819 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It does. I liked 'Run for Cover' and 'Rut'; 'The Calling' is interesting although I wouldn't call it good. And 'The Man' is sheer garbage, but fun garbage.

MarsKid
September 24th 2017


5548 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

His voice and lyrics seem to go further and further down the drain. For some reason I can imagine him penning some of these lines and thinking he's just the smartest motherfucker on this planet Earth



Some of these melodies really aren't bad, but Flowers' ego just runs a train through every track.

Clumseee
September 24th 2017


649 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I actually like Battleborn, but I can't get behind this one.

neekafat
September 24th 2017


4994 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thought that the first track was gonna be the direction they were going for and I got excited, but that was the only unique song on here

I think his voice is at its best since Sam's Town on here, he only sounds like a drunken cowboy a couple of times

MarsKid
September 24th 2017


5548 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The "USDA certified lean" line is one for the history books



This is bad but could have been salvaged

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 24th 2017


24819 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

they just need to make Sam's Town part II

MarsKid
September 24th 2017


5548 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

You sure it wouldn't be Brandon's Town at this point

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 24th 2017


24819 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm okay with that as long as he makes it a rock record

An entire album of 'Run for Cover' would have been great

MarsKid
September 24th 2017


5548 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Exactly. I don't think they'll ever make that, but it sucks because you can tell they COULD if they focused their creative ability towards it. They don't really need to be that innovative really, they just need to bring back the actual fun.

NorthernSkylark
September 24th 2017


8664 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Rebel rebel

Digging: Cindy Lee - Act of Tenderness

bloc
September 24th 2017


43510 Comments


Turkey head on the album cover

Digging: Venenum - Trance of Death

someguest
September 24th 2017


28614 Comments


The Killers were never good.

#twosinglesaside



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy