Wiegedood
De Doden Hebben Het Goed II


3.0
good

Review

by zaruyache USER (21 Reviews)
February 16th, 2017 | 48 replies


Release Date: 2017 | Tracklist

Review Summary: All This and De Doden II

Belgian black metal band Wiegedood have returned two years after the release of their relatively well-received debut, De Doden Hebben Het Goed, with their sophomore album. With the minimalism and humor one would expect of a black metal band, Wiegedood not only took the name of their freshman record and stuck a Roman numeral II on the end of it, but also chose to use very similar cover artwork--again going for the “pagan-y stick bundle thing sitting in a field beneath a melancholic sky” idea. Krieg. But does this new entry into the De Doden series live up to its relatively unoriginal title? In short, yes: while the first-generation De Doden album featured a cold, synthetically treble-heavy-like-they’re-pretending-to-be-from-1996 oriented sound coupled with a definitively second wave-inspired instrumental style, De Doden 2: Belgian Metal Boogaloo seems to act as a fairly well represented sequel.

Featuring a largely similar black metal style as before, Wiegedood Episode II: Attack of the Clones dips its toes into a handful of different black metal cliches as if going down a checklist, making clear nods to and more-or-less lifting ideas directly from various bands of olde. Both ‘Cataract” and the title track feature lengthy sections with clearly Burzum-esque influences on hypnotic tremolo leads and slow tempos, with the former adopting a faster and more Emperor-ian riffing style in its second half, and the latter a adopting a melodic flourish here or there that was definitely written after listening to Storm of the Light’s Bane a few too many times. The as-yet unmentioned bookends also feel similarly borrowed in style, albeit with quicker tempos; featuring mostly blast beat-driven rhythm sections and frantic riffing, both “Ontzielling” and “Smeekbede” round out the album by focusing on the faster sides of “traditional” black metal. The two pieces mostly abandon the band’s infatuation with Burzum altogether for styles much more akin to the unrelenting tempos of traditionalist acts like 1349 or Marduk.

While Live Free Or De Doden II may be a solid follow-up to its well-received and more originally titled predecessor, it still at its core feels like a copy and pasting of many typical black metal-isms and straight stylistic tributes rather than something new. Normally being run-of-the-mill isn’t much of a problem for black metal music, but the material on De Doden II simply isn’t strong enough to justify all of its clear stylistic copying and get away with it without criticism. And while the resulting record definitely isn’t bad, it lacks a sense of personality and organicness that could’ve made it feel a bit more worthwhile. As far as sequels go, though, De Doden II: Back in the Habit still isn’t half bad.

3.3/5



Recent reviews by this author
Black Malachite NightfallGhost Bath Starmourner
Unru Als Tier ist der Mensch NichtsSix Feet Under Torment
El-Ahrairah El-AhrairahMgla Mdlosci
user ratings (33)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
zaruyache
February 15th 2017


17522 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It's no Batman Returns, but ain't no Batman Forever, neither.



get riffs: http://wiegedood.bandcamp.com/album/de-doden-hebben-het-goed-ii

Digging: Gabor Szabo - Dreams

cryptologous
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2017


1701 Comments


The ridiculous album title edits interlaced with a semi-serious review made me laugh out loud on more than one occasion, pos. Didn't care much for the debut, doubt I'll spend much time with this.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2017


22536 Comments


Lol great write-up zar. Haven't heard this band but I'll give them a whirl

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2017


10686 Comments


Great review man, gotta check this just coz it's Wiegedude

"its latter half, and the latter a adopting a melodic"

Latter used twice really close and the extra 'a'

Digging: Saltvind - Saltvind

Hawks
February 16th 2017


50061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love their first album, def gonna jam this.

Digging: Wolves in the Throne Room - Thrice Woven

Sniff
February 16th 2017


3806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wiegedood Episode II: Attack of the Clones



Had me laughing so have a pos

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2017


5271 Comments


Great review fella, pos'd hard.
Their first album was... a'ight. I probably could've given it more time, but the minimalism of it kinda didn't sit well with me. Might try this if I remember.

kingdedethefifth
February 16th 2017


3796 Comments


I don't know why but somehow this actually sounds moderately good even if it's essentially just a "big black metal bands" copy cat.

zaruyache
February 16th 2017


17522 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This one definitely has more clear ripoffs than their first album, but I can see this getting good reviews by more trve bm fans who aren't bothered by the production as much as I am. First one has a 3.33 on RYM which is pretty solid.





I think this is my first feature? Figures this one would be the one to get it. :3

DungeonBoy
February 16th 2017


2925 Comments


What did I just read? Pos'd?

kingdedethefifth
February 16th 2017


3796 Comments


Lol i'm still really hoping my Mors Principium Est review get's featured, in part because i'm really working for that potential contributor status also because I am damn proud of that one. This was a good review though, don't be dissapointed that this is the one to get featured.

zaruyache
February 16th 2017


17522 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

can't wait for De Doden III: Die Doden Die

cryptologous
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2017


1701 Comments


suggestive comment is suggestive

Doden IV: The Die and the Dodenous

Relinquished
February 16th 2017


36330 Comments


has to fit with II

zaruyache
February 16th 2017


17522 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I think my fav was 2 Fast 2 Doden, but I didn't get to stick it in.

SCREAM!
February 16th 2017


14728 Comments


Would've had to be II Fast II Doden ;)

Sweet review though. I liked the debut so I'll try and check this sometime

zaruyache
February 16th 2017


17522 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

ooo snappy

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2017


22536 Comments


"I think this is my first feature? Figures this one would be the one to get it"

one of the best first features in sput's history? probably

zaruyache
February 16th 2017


17522 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

^_^ Coulda used more puns tbh, but at only like 33 mins there wasn't a whole lotta room for it.

Pho3nix
February 16th 2017


325 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nice review, and a nice little homage to Star Wars hidden in there



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy