Recondite
Corvus


3.0
good

Review

by Tristan Jones STAFF
November 19th, 2016 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: raining all the time

Recondite’s newest EP feels like a blend of full-bodied presence and mental detouring. Opener “Capable”, for example, is engaging, club-worthy acid house, but bears a feeling of being fixated on far surroundings. It’s fitting for either 124 beats-per-minute floorwork, or head-lolling relaxation. The problem is, this avatar-like absentmindedness doesn’t really waver, and is unchallenged throughout Corvus’ duration (at least, as far as the original mixes go). Lorenz Brunner’s tilt into house territory has led some to observe a sterilization of style, and, with the exception of Richard Donoso Clemency’s excellent remix of “Capable", Corvus is an expectedly cold release. It’s like if Skee Mask’s vision on Shred was a supplementary video projection in a club background. We don’t see a visionary expansion beyond his work on, say, 2013’s Hinterland, and the beats, while serviceable and catchy, are hardly Brunner’s most creative or multi-dimensional. That said, there’s something admirable in Brunner’s artistic streamlining. “Capable” and “Kauz” are fluid, efficient lead-ins to album highlight/title track “Corvus”. The track thoughtfully implements the language of crows atop the deep pulses, perhaps drawing from authors John Marzluff and Tony Angell: “So much of what we hear from crows or ravens is inexplicable. They ring like bells, drip like water, and have precise rhythm. They sing alone or in great symphonies. Some of their noise could be music.” It’s uncanny how similar Recondite’s approach is to these sentiments, as his latest effort indeed chimes, drips, and hinges on precision; it occupies spaces of both loneliness and movement en masse.




Recent reviews by this author
Azfarat Enough of SongAt the Drive-In in•ter a•li•a
Vysoké Čelo ŰrutazásPeter Van Hoesen Oscar's Blood
Actress AZDMount Eerie A Crow Looked At Me
user ratings (13)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2016


6107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

https://recondite-de.bandcamp.com/album/corvus

Ryus
November 19th 2016


14241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

love this dude

Digging: Young Thug - Beautiful Thugger Girls

ShitsofRain
November 19th 2016


7896 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i hate you because now i have to listen to it JOTS

ShitsofRain
November 19th 2016


7896 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

if you want more of the same it's fine. so much stuff here sounds exactly like what he's done before. totally agree with you that corvus is the best track. overall it's just too tame.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2016


6107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah idk why i committed to reviewing this, as the whole time i basically just wanted to say "it's recondite, and it's dece tbh". does the job but i wouldnt be in a rush to show it to non-fans. it's between 2.5 - 3 for me.

MotokoKusanagi
November 19th 2016


905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i agree with everything you said, big fan of Recondite though

ShitsofRain
November 19th 2016


7896 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

good to see that u r still around

Keyblade
November 19th 2016


24393 Comments


can't believe it's been 3 years since Recondite

real nice review Johny

FullOfSounds
November 19th 2016


15227 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sweet I'll give this a listen soon, nice review

Relinquished
November 19th 2016


35667 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

good for playlists but yea

ShitsofRain
November 19th 2016


7896 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

and then next one says it's good music for studying

FullOfSounds
November 19th 2016


15227 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is good

FullOfSounds
November 19th 2016


15227 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

really atmospheric stuff

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 19th 2016


23872 Comments


brief but excellent review man

embedded track is great

Digging: Lorde - Melodrama

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2016


6107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

haven't been too inspired to write lengthy stuff lately, but like to stay sharp anyhoo

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2016


6107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can handle 5 + para reviews if it's.. idk, acad or someone

Keyblade
November 20th 2016


24393 Comments


so...nobody reads my reviews :[

iambandersnatch
November 20th 2016


1707 Comments


Why feature something that is a 3.0 rating?

If I see something featured I figure it's something worth my time, not something that is slightly above average. Or it's a review of an extremely highly-anticipated album that people will want to see some initial opinions on. (new Radiohead or w/e)

This is not hating on the review itself, of course. Nor is it saying that you shouldn't review something because it falls in the middle for you. Simply questioning the thought-process of the feature.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
November 20th 2016


6107 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

1. different staff members have different standards for rating. if we only allowed, say, 3.5 and higher on the feature board, then you'd see a lot of people inflating their rating (which many people already do)



2. IMO, a 3/5 is a ~good~ album, and therefore worthwhile for fans of the style



3. as long as I try to be fair in my assessment, then you should be able to weigh whether or not it's worth listening to regardless of my rating



I had a couple other things I was going to type out but I CBA really

p4p
November 20th 2016


1939 Comments


this guy should've focused on making dancefloor cuts instead of boring albums



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy