Mono
Requiem For Hell


1.5
very poor

Review

by Xenophanes STAFF
October 17th, 2016 | 75 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mono aren't worth talking about anymore, but here are 356 words anyway.

Mono haven't improved. Mono haven't gotten worse. Mono haven't changed in over ten years but that doesn't stop fans from arguing where each new album falls in respect to the others. The band has existed in some bubble universe that only allows them to step side to side without altering any aspect of their sound or approach to composition. Is that fine? Is that good enough?

To snarky answer is "no." Frankly, Mono have never been more than a "pretty" band that makes "nice" music. They're only as good as your first listen, falling further and further away the more you chase after the. Listening to Mono is like losing your virginity: at first it's this amazing feeling and one you want to experience forever until you grow up and think back to how awkward and unmemorable it was.

That's the feeling Requiem for Hell brings to mind over and over again. "What did I ever see in this band?" is something this reviewer echoed in his mind throughout the album's trudging run time. Beneath the repetitive tremolos and cymbal crashes, there isn't a sense of wonder to be found. With all post-rock, this feeling of discovery eventually subsides to an simple appreciation of the inherent beauty found in the interwoven strings and guitars. With Mono, the beauty is stretched so thinly that it's become transparent.

Requiem for Hell is difficult to discuss because of this transparency. It's Mono. It's post-rock. You know what you're getting. With most bands that is acceptable when more of the same is, well, acceptable. Requiem for Hell is anything but acceptable. It's lazy, trite, mundane, dull, and every other superficial adjective that's been thrown at the genre. You'll never feel what you felt the first time you heard "Ashes in the Snow" because there was nothing there to feel to begin with. The history of Mono has been one of smoke and mirrors. If Requiem for Hell is your first exposure to the band then it's best to just pack it away, cut your losses, and enjoy whatever beauty you can derive from the closing moments of "The Last Scene."



Recent reviews by this author
Full of Hell Trumpeting EcstasyPhrenelith Desolate Endscape
Krallice PrelapsarianGorguts Pleiades' Dust
Deftones GoreCobalt Slow Forever
user ratings (66)
Chart.
3
good
other reviews of this album
CaliggyJack (4.5)
A Hell with no fire, no foundation, and no forgiveness....

Chamberbelain (3)
A requiem for Mono's better days...


Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
October 17th 2016


47856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep, this is gonna be a 4.5 after I hear the whole thing so I'll just rate this in advance. Curious though, a 1.5 and 3 review for this.

Digging: Lowdown Da Sinista - Coming For Your Soul

AsleepInTheBack
October 17th 2016


3939 Comments


"the more you chase after the"

presumably the 'the' should be 'them'

not listened to this, but agree with the general sentiments of the frustration at post-rock bands in 2016 thinking they can regurgitate what was fresh in 2000 and get way with it

minty901
October 17th 2016


3452 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Love the summary. Very funny. Rating seems a tad harsh but will read anyway.

ashcrash9
October 17th 2016


2490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"You'll never feel what you felt the first time you heard "Ashes in the Snow" because there was nothing there to feel to begin with."



them's fightin' words, mate

minty901
October 17th 2016


3452 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"You'll never feel what you felt the first time you heard "Ashes in the Snow" because there was nothing there to feel to begin with."



I vehemently disagree with this point. Their music wasn't always as auto-piloty as this album. Ashes in the Snow is a masterpiece of a song and is still beautiful after 100 listens, as are many of their older songs. They just aren't doing much that's beautiful any more -- they don't have the melodies in them that they used to. But they DID used to have them.



Really good review though overall. Definitely a style I enjoyed reading. Not pretentious or too wordy or difficult to read. Very nice style, I'd like to see more reviews like this on the site. It's just saying what you want to say and making the point you want to make, without trying to find the longest, most elaborate route to that point.

minty901
October 17th 2016


3452 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ashes in the Snow is one of the best songs I've ever heard, to this day.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
October 17th 2016


13946 Comments


Are Mono now officially less popular than Bono?

Digging: Palace Music - Lost Blues and Other Songs

minty901
October 17th 2016


3452 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Bono and Mono formed a supergroup.



They called it Bono.

ashcrash9
October 17th 2016


2490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd unironically be curious about that tbh lol

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
October 17th 2016


13946 Comments


Minty yeah, I can see how that would save an argument xD

Tyrael
October 17th 2016


21018 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Spot on review, dude. Mono has been rehashing the same sound for many years now.

wwf
October 17th 2016


5355 Comments


fuckin savage summary

Digging: Caravan Palace - Robot Face

dreamgazing
October 17th 2016


1293 Comments


good review but i disagree completely. i do wish mono fluctuated a little in their style and i was hoping this album to be darker in mood accordingly to the title, regardless; this is still pretty good.

johnnydeking29
October 17th 2016


11312 Comments


"So how have Mono become to be know as masters of the genre?

To put it simply, those behind Mono are genius. Pure, unbridled geniuses.

Everything that is the band can be heard and felt behind their mammoth compositions."

LOL times change

Digging: The Clash - The Clash

Sevengill
October 17th 2016


7071 Comments


At least somebody in the band likes Gustav Dore.

Tunaboy45
October 17th 2016


15156 Comments


so this is boring then

MarsKid
October 17th 2016


4809 Comments


"To snarky answer is "no." "

I'm assuming you meant 'The' instead of 'To'?

Either way I like how straightforward this is. It gets right to the point.

RustCohle
October 17th 2016


178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I am enjoying this album alot.

parksungjoon
October 17th 2016


5232 Comments


DAE post-rock is boring amirite xXXDXDDXDDDDD

oh and it comes from resident edgelord staff member what a surprise

Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2016


611 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I'm not staff but nice try

Digging: Boris - Dear



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy