Sorority Noise
Joy, Departed


4.5
superb

Review

by Alexander Abidin USER (13 Reviews)
June 17th, 2016 | 32 replies


Release Date: 06/16/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I might not be as dark as I think

The more that bands seemingly gravitate towards a similar sound, the more it increasingly becomes about the little things. What does a band do to separate themselves? If they don't, what aspect of their sound or performance is so strong to make them special? There are many cases for both parties; Tiny Moving Parts are becoming increasingly singular by injecting a healthy dose of pure fun into what is becoming a definitive blend of dynamic emo and complex math-rock. Vice versa, Foxing succeeded in following in the footsteps of other bands (La Dispute, Pianos Become The Teeth) and slowing down their sound on the strength of singer Conor Murphy's pristine voice and way with captivating vocal melodies. Enter Sorority Noise. What the band have put forth with Joy, Departed could easily be dismissed as more of the same; the whole 'emo revival' thing is becoming one of the most crowded genres in all of music recently. However, there is simply a mastery of dynamic and diverse instrumentation coupled with superb production and winkingly self-aware lyrics that make the album a huge winner.

Employing ghostly guitar slides, distant piano keys, and slightly reverbed vocals, there are a number of atmospheric touches in the production of the album that are intriguing and memorable; the drums are also expertly produced, and go a long way towards making sure that every shift in quiet/loud dynamics packs the necessary wallop. On Corrigan, acoustic guitars, piano, and genuinely soulful riffs only serve to underpin a classically emo/pop-punk chorus that is passionate and messy in all the right ways. Art School Wannabe is a sprightly strummed tongue-in-cheek anthem that also encompasses subtly eerie guitar bends, a bouncy organ, and a rip-roaring solo near the end. The band continuously find creative ways to imbue what can be standard emo/indie rock songs with ingenious and distinct touches; Mononokay employs surf-rock backing vocals to spice up what is one of the shorter and simpler tracks on the album, and closer When I See You (Timberwolf) pairs somber violin and the most poignantly penned lyrics yet with multiple swells in volume that culminates in a chorale of wordless crooning and a wailing, reverb-flecked solo to end the album. With Joy, Departed, the band show a playful and subtly inventive twist to the emo formula while still including emotive vocals and expressively biographical lyrics. In a burgeoning genre, Sorority Noise get the little things right in a big way.



Recent reviews by this author
mewithoutYou Ten StoriesFrank Ocean Blonde
The Smith Street Band No One Gets Lost AnymoreMinus the Bear Infinity Overhead
Brand New The Devil and God Are Raging Inside MeArcade Fire Neon Bible
user ratings (140)
Chart.
3.6
great
related reviews

Forgettable

Comments:Add a Comment 
FreddieDelaney31
June 17th 2016


2465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this one is for Conmaniac. wasn't planning on doing this so soon but then i heard it was the one year anniversary of the album and it still didn't have a review, so (turns out the 1yr anniversary was actually yesterday anyways, oops)

anyways, i'm worried i'm getting a little stagnant with all the reviews i'm posting and i want to improve with each one, so lemme know what i can do better!

Digging: OutKast - ATLiens

Conmaniac
June 17th 2016


10715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

:D will read thx bud

Digging: Acid Ghost - WARHOL

Conmaniac
June 17th 2016


10715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hmm nice write up. not sure you justified the 5 rating but you like to rate a lot of albums a 5 haha. 2nd paragraph is killer tho

FreddieDelaney31
June 17th 2016


2465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is true lol, won't deny it. i did think about making this a 4.5, but i just love this album. also please tell me i'm not the only one who gets distinct Deja Entendu vibes from this album

Conmaniac
June 17th 2016


10715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i get a bit of em. the whole dark side of pop punk feel. this is distinctly more emo revival influenced though (obv)

Ebola
June 17th 2016


2207 Comments


Nice write up, my girlfriend loves these guys. Never really listened to them, probably should.

Digging: Jeff Rosenstock - Worry.

FreddieDelaney31
June 17th 2016


2465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks, appreciate it. it's a little more subtle and a little bouncier than the usual 'emo revival' stuff so i'd say give it a shot since I think it's a bit different than the usual

oisincoleman64
June 17th 2016


1816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice to see this finally has a review, might bump to a 5, one of my most listened to albums

FreddieDelaney31
June 17th 2016


2465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I had mine at a 5 but then decided this just doesn't read like a 5, and was already on the fence between 4.5-5 anyways. it is an incredible album tho

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2016


54669 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good album

Digging: The Great Old Ones - EOD: A Tale of Dark Legacy

Conmaniac
July 26th 2016


10715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bump cuz I jammed this today. so many good songs. def like this better than Forgettable, which was pretty great

FreddieDelaney31
July 26th 2016


2465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album (':

Conmaniac
July 26th 2016


10715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

same dude

oisincoleman64
July 26th 2016


1816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still need to give Forgettable a listen

Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 26th 2016


22175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

yeah, great album

Digging: Max Richter - Three Worlds: Music from Woolf Works

SnakeDelilah
October 26th 2016


18197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if giving up doesn't make you stronger then why the hell am i still here

Digging: The Menzingers - After The Party

Conmaniac
October 26th 2016


10715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album needs more attention tbh

FreddieDelaney31
October 27th 2016


2465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It really does

Conmaniac
October 27th 2016


10715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

its so fucking solid. also forgot that ya wrote this review cuz I kept bugging you to write it hahaha

Feather
January 26th 2017


3331 Comments


New song No Halo is fucking awesome!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy