Tiny Moving Parts
Celebrate


4.5
superb

Review

by Alexander Abidin USER (16 Reviews)
June 2nd, 2016 | 278 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This couch is not as long as I remember

From the clean, snaking guitar lead that opens 'Good Enough' to the ethereal backing vocals and heavy chugging that closes out 'Minnow', Tiny Moving Parts tweaks their formula just enough to come out with a memorable release that builds on the foundations set by their previous albums. Here, they've managed to move away from their standard breakneck dynamics. Expanding their themes, you'll find soaring choruses backed by pummeling percussion and squealing riffs, beautiful reflection in improved lyricism, warmly buzzing guitar tones, and more thoughtful, intricate drumming. The fantastic production work makes it so that each snare hit is a gut-punch and every ringing squall of guitar is heard and coalesces into a thrilling whole.

There's a comfortable but undeniable dynamism to the songs found here, like how 'Happy Birthday', with just one sustained note ringing out for a few seconds transitions the song from its briefly dizzying arpeggios to a tranquil drumroll that leads into one of the album's many hard-hitting choruses. 'Volumes' begins with shimmering curlicue guitar and bouncy bass before a somber chorus with a lone guitar and emotive vocals from Dylan Mattheisen break into a second chorus that resembles 'Adam's Song' Blink 182. There's an amalgamation of emo, pop-punk and math rock that is equal parts Blink 182 and American Football, and the band consistently pull it off with frankly stunning guitar work and choruses that are both fun and meaningful but above all else always memorable. Tiny Moving Parts continue to improve and have released an exemplary album that gives their fans every reason to celebrate.



Recent reviews by this author
The Mountain Goats GothsSorority Noise You're Not As ____ As You Think
Dirty Projectors Dirty ProjectorsmewithoutYou Ten Stories
Frank Ocean BlondeSorority Noise Joy, Departed
user ratings (272)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
xLiamStrongx (5)
There's a headache in my head from listening to this too much....


Comments:Add a Comment 
FreddieDelaney31
June 2nd 2016


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Snakedelilah already wrote a better review when they posted their soundoff: .5(Blink-182 + BTMI! + American Football) + .25(This Couch is Long) + .25(Pleasant Living) = this

but i'm trying to write more and this is one of the years best so here it is. Trying to get better at writing about the actual music, so any pointers are greatly appreciated!



Digging: Captain, We're Sinking - The King of No Man

tacos N stuff
June 2nd 2016


2023 Comments


Have to check this, This Couch is my jam

FreddieDelaney31
June 2nd 2016


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

do it man, it's top 5 of this year so far for me. Although for what it's worth, i'm not that big a fan of This Couch

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2016


54961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Thank you for reviewing this



Just learned half of Birdhouse on guitar it's so fucking fun!

Digging: Captain, We're Sinking - The King Of No Man

FreddieDelaney31
June 2nd 2016


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that's awesome! the guitar on this is unreal, they just keep one-upping themselves

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2016


54961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

I'm stoked to see them live



Dylan is such a huge inspiration to me like fuck how does he play that tapping shit and sing at the same time goddamn no second guitarist to lean on either

FreddieDelaney31
June 2nd 2016


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah i'll be honest, before looking up some stuff about them when reviewing this, I had NO idea that it was the singer playing and that he's the only one, that is just mindblowing

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2016


54961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

If anyone is interested in learning Birdhouse he did a video of it



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZqVAtseHWmc

YoYoMancuso
June 2nd 2016


12658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

the guitar parts on this are insanity yeah



album is great

Digging: Captain, We're Sinking - The King Of No Man

FreddieDelaney31
June 2nd 2016


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is probably my #4 album of the year so far

not in my wildest dreams could i play 10 seconds of any song on here, i tried to play guitar on and off for like 11 years and am still just awful lol

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2016


54961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Damn bruh



I just learned that second tapping part from the video just from watching him holy shit I'm proud of myself

FreddieDelaney31
June 2nd 2016


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i tell myself it's okay because i'm a pretty decent drummer

anyways do any of y'all have any constructive criticism or anything?

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2016


54961 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

Review is pretty good dude, nice and concise



FreddieDelaney31
June 2nd 2016


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks man, I appreciate it

i'm trying to write more and get better at it as well cuz I wanna apply for contributor whenever that next comes around

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2016


22442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, I dug how quickly you got down to business in the review. I personally would have mentioned the lyrics more given your 4.5, but nice and concise like trebor said (might want to put a space between the two paragraphs)



I'm actually in the middle of a review for this one as well haha.





Digging: Captain, We're Sinking - The King of No Man

SnakeDelilah
June 2nd 2016


19212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

dammit you beat me

FreddieDelaney31
June 2nd 2016


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i thought about giving the lyrics some attention especially because they're so improved over their other releases, but I wanted to focus on being better about talking about the music/songwriting

can't wait to see your review!

FreddieDelaney31
June 2nd 2016


2947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha sorry snake i've been lazy, been sitting on reviewing this for a few days now, finally got around to doing it. I gave you a shoutout in my first comment tho!

SnakeDelilah
June 2nd 2016


19212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i saw, thank

Atari
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2016


22442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no guarantee my review will ever see the light of day, so enjoy the spotlight for now :]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy