Mesarthim
Isolate


1.5
very poor

Review

by Hawks USER (92 Reviews)
February 22nd, 2016 | 86 replies


Release Date: 07/26/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This just in: a black metal album that will make you want to dance all night long! If only that was a joke....

Let's all be honest with ourselves for a minute. A lot of us who love metal realize right off the bat that a lot of it is silly. Grown men dressing up in full on costumes, paint, leather and all of that good stuff. Some bands take themselves too seriously, but a lot of these guys just like to get ***ed up and jam. Then there's some bands where you just can't tell, and this is one of those bands. All we can do is hope and pray that the people behind this monstrosity aren't being 100% serious. Mesarthim is an atmospheric black metal band from Australia that incorporates a lot of electronic type music into their sound. Some of you may think that sounds interesting, well I'm here to tell you that it's really, really not.

Obviously being an "atmospheric" black metal band you could guess that this album focuses on the "atmosphere." Right there is where the problem lies with Isolate. Their idea of building an atmosphere is throwing the worst possible sounding synths right in your face for a little over 40 straight minutes, which is a normal time for this type of album. Right off the bat you will notice that these guys really fall flat on their faces with the way they attacked this album. The synths are completely overbearing and this is coming from someone who loves synths in his black metal. The only possible way I can describe the attempts at adding electronics to this is that it sounds like half attempting to make a black metal album and half attempting to make an album that you would want to dance to in a ***ty night club. No, I'm not joking. It's as if these guys wanted to make an album full of house music and tried to make it grim at the same time. That doesn't sound appealing? Well, it's not. Don't think it makes sense? Yeah, it doesn't.

The lack of riffs here is a problem just because the atmosphere that is trying to be built is, for lack of a better word, insufferable. If there was any type of success of building an engaging atmosphere, the lack of good riffs wouldn't be a problem. Normally I'm not the type of person to frown upon an album for being cheesy, but Isolate takes the meaning of that word to a whole new level. The synths and electronic bits do not mix in or sound right next to the black metal parts in any way and it ultimately makes for a terrible experience where you'll find yourself wanting to shut this off within the first 10 minutes.

A band such as Summoning, who also incorporates heavy use of synths into their brand of black metal (and actually does it well), have to be laughing at the guys of Mesarthim. If they made a synth heavy electronic album, it might not be as bad as this is. The fact is, I understand what these guys were going for here, but they just don't execute it at all. It's weird to think that a black metal album could be associated with music that wouldn't sound out of place at a club in Jersey or something of the sort, but that's really all this is. Not sure how the rest of you feel/will feel about this, all I know is this will be my last experience with Mesarthim.



Recent reviews by this author
Desecresy Stoic DeathDrudkh / Hades Almighty One Who Walks With the Fog / Pyre Era, Black!
Arizmenda Without Circumference Nor CenterAxis of Light L'appel du vide
Mayhem Live in LeipzigDraconian Sovran
user ratings (42)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
PortalofPerfection (4.5)
Reach for the stars...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
February 21st 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Not sure how this turned out, but I've been wanting to write something.



Worst album I've heard in ages.

Digging: Mur - Heartworn

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2016


10787 Comments


Damn, sounds awful but I'm curious anyway, album art is pretty cool too. Good review for the most part, a little bit rant-y though.

Digging: Rabor - ?????????

Hawks
February 21st 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Some people seem to dig it, don't know why, but yeah lol. Give it a chance and decide for yourself I guess.



And yeah, might be a little ranty, but it's a very negative review. Album blows all kinds of donkey dicks.

elcrawfodor
February 21st 2016


1264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I remember this being mostly "meh" with a few decent bits

Hawks
February 21st 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It has some good ratings here. I found absolutely no redeeming qualities, but if someone enjoys it then more power to them hahaha.

emester
February 21st 2016


8163 Comments


Remember scrolling through bandcamp with the gf and found this crap. Unsurprisingly we were not fans.

This is like the offspring of a Devin Townsend, Midnight Odyssey and Elderwind threesome with no lube

Needless to say thats its REALLY bad just from that description alone

Digging: Spectral Voice - Eroded Corridors of Unbeing

Hawks
February 21st 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah idk how else to describe it other than it sounds like a bm band that wanted to make house music.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2016


13225 Comments


great review man

Digging: Emma Ruth Rundle - Marked For Death

Hawks
February 21st 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Thanks buddy. :]

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2016


13225 Comments


wow just listened to beginning of the album, synths do not just fit at all

Hawks
February 21st 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah it's god awful man.

LifeFeedsOnLife
February 21st 2016


461 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Really not sure where all the hype for this came from.. or how they got signed to Avantgarde of all labels. Review is a fun read though.

Hawks
February 21st 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Appreciate it bro. m/

LotusFlower
February 21st 2016


12002 Comments


this album would be x10000 better if the synths didn't sound like they were made with stock FL Studio plug-ins.

Hawks
February 21st 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

The synths here are the worst I've ever heard on any metal album hands down. Completely ruin the whole thing.

LotusFlower
February 21st 2016


12002 Comments


Only heard one and a half tracks and couldn't take it anymore, lol. Been seeing this album creeping up the bandcamp charts for about a week now and I've refused to listen to it just because of how dull the cover art was. Prolly should've just ignored it all together.
Also, good review man. I feel like faulting the album for a lack of riffs seems kinda silly. when the real problem is that it can't compensate for the lack of riffs through it's synth work, not because it's atmospheric BM sans the riffs.

LotusFlower
February 21st 2016


12002 Comments


but thats just me so it's w/e i suppose

Hawks
February 21st 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I'm not really faulting the lack of riffs as much as I'm pointing out that the synths are so bad at creating an atmosphere that it really makes you notice the lack of riffs even more.



Thanks for the kind words though bro.

TheSonomaDude
February 22nd 2016


5454 Comments


Happy upbeat dance black metal? This sounds interesting

Hawks
February 22nd 2016


50931 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It's really not bro hahaha.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy