Entropia (PL)
Ufonaut


4.5
superb

Review

by Michael Scarn USER (31 Reviews)
January 24th, 2016 | 106 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A near-perfect balancing act between inspiration and innovation.

With their second full-length album, Entropia have delivered on every promise laid down by their debut, and I don't make that statement lightly. 2013's Vesper was one of my favorites of that year: a criminally under-appreciated masterclass in seamlessly marrying the scope and feeling of recent trends in atmospheric black metal to the drop-tuned fury of sludge metal whose only major weakness was an occasional over-reliance on formulas established by similar acts. It was a gauntlet thrown down; a declaration of talent and as close to a perfect execution of that particular style as I'd ever heard. However, that latter point has been the bane of many a talented band. All too often, a debut that perfects an established style leads to subsequent complacency. If Entropia had chosen to simply iron out the kinks of Vesper without significantly altering its formula on their sophomore effort, the result would surely have been just as enjoyable as it was uninspired.

Thankfully, with Ufonaut, Entropia have steered clear of the complacency trap that has plagued so many metal bands in recent years, foregoing the career path of Amon Amarth in favor of something closer to the artistic leap Altar of Plagues made with their final album, Teethed Glory and Injury. Ufonaut is a deafening artistic statement; a spiraling maelstrom of discordant black metal and earth-rending sludge that cements Entropia's place as one of the few modern black metal bands that successfully balances inspiration with innovation. Gone is the airy, shoegaze-influenced serenity that permeated much of their debut. In its place is a simultaneously new and familiar sound reminiscent of a beefier, infinitely more organic Blut Aus Nord. Crushing phrygian riffs replace lush post-rock climaxes, ever-present and always-tasteful keyboards whispering in the background and frantically undulating, Ulcerate-esque progressions frequently alternating with punishing sludge grooves.

Ufonaut is an intense and unforgiving record that incessantly draws the listener in just as it furiously lashes out at them, doling out punishment and reward in equal quantities with an efficiency matched by few other recent metal efforts. If the universe has the slightest sense of fairness, this will be the push that leads to Entropia receiving the recognition that they deserve. Ufonaut is absolutely everything that a sophomore album should be: seamless, inspired, innovative, and undeniably memorable in a way that few bands can ever hope to match. Vesper was as strong of a beginning as anyone could have hoped for, and Ufonaut is a breathtakingly precise follow-up that will undoubtedly fall high on many a year-end list.



Recent reviews by this author
Regarde Les Hommes Tomber ExileGolgatha Somnium Attacca
Strike to Survive Yesterday's NewsRosetta The Anaesthete
Palms PalmsEntropia (PL) Vesper
user ratings (90)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ignimbrite
January 24th 2016


6190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Written from a promo sent to me by the band. You can stream two songs on their bandcamp:

https://entropia.bandcamp.com/album/ufonaut



Also, this is my first review in, like, a year, so I welcome criticism. I'm graduating in a few months and writing this made me remember how much I used to enjoy writing reviews, so I hope to start contributing a lot more frequently again in the near future.



Digging: Jambinai - A Hermitage

dragoth
January 24th 2016


265 Comments


Loved the first album, and really enjoyed the tracks so far, so excited for this! Great review as well!

slikphuk
January 24th 2016


390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is best ive heard so far this year, absolutely killer album!

also great review!

Digging: Vacivus - Temple Of The Abyss

hal1ax
January 24th 2016


8368 Comments


oh shit didn't even know this was out. pumped

Hawks
January 24th 2016


50214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't wait to hear this.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cryptoriana ? The Seductiveness of Decay

zaruyache
January 24th 2016


17551 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

this isn't streaming yet tho, so won't this review get nuked since you're not staff? Or is that not a rule anymore idk how this place works anymore

Digging: Gabor Szabo - Dreams

SpiritCrusher2
January 24th 2016


5591 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

maybe there's an exception if the band itself sends you a promo?

Ignimbrite
January 24th 2016


6190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that's a really good question and I'm really glad I got into the habit of saving these things on my computer

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2016


10130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the single didn't sound anything like anything from vesper to the point that i questioned if i was listening to the same band and that's probably why i haven't hyped this too much. ill definitely give it a listen soon tho considering your words on it

Digging: Wolves in the Throne Room - Thrice Woven

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2016


10717 Comments


"maybe there's an exception if the band itself sends you a promo?"

There really should be

Excellent review mate, I'm excited to hear this.

Digging: Storm - Nordavind

DamnVanne
January 25th 2016


2299 Comments


But I liked the shoegazey Entropia...

Ignimbrite
January 25th 2016


6190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the shoegazey Entropia were dope af but this is just as dope but a different kind of dopeness namsayin

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2016


7552 Comments


Is this streaming somewhere?

teamster
January 25th 2016


1793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love Vesper. Been waiting to here this one (128kps is all that is "available" now, waiting for better quality.) I hope the changes are good. I am not a fan of ambient drone stuff.

Digging: Mountaineer - Sirens & Slumber

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2016


10130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Apparently not voivod, he gotan early promo

Ignimbrite
January 25th 2016


6190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Is this streaming somewhere?




No, but the band contacted me and asked me to review it since I'd also reviewed their last one here. They sent me a legit promo. If need be I can take this down and put it back up when it actually drops. I didn't really think: my bad. It's been a while.

Mewcopa0
January 25th 2016


1878 Comments


I thought the debut was pretty weak. Probably one of the worst production jobs I've ever heard on a black metal album. This however, is pretty interesting.

xenocide.
January 25th 2016


1263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Regarde les Hommes Tober Exile - one m missing, so the link doesn't work (great album too)

Ignimbrite
January 25th 2016


6190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fixed. Thanks!

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2016


21823 Comments


Sweet review man. You make a convincing case for this album. Gonna go listen to their debut now.

Digging: Nocturnal Triumph - Into Light's Graven Wound



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy