Gorgoroth
Antichrist


4.0
excellent

Review

by Andrew W. Gold CONTRIBUTOR (108 Reviews)
November 13th, 2015 | 29 replies


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The devil burns cold.

On the surface, Gorgoroth can seem like a gimmick band. They're a Norwegian black metal band named after the most evil land in The Lord of the Rings with stage names like Infernus and Pest, use overtly satanic lyrics, perform in black and white face paint, and the like. But the truth is, Gorgoroth authenticate the entire scene. The band fully commits to their alter egos to the point that you wonder if they’re alter egos in the first place. The music sounds like it came straight from the bowels of Mordor during a blizzard – ice cold and fervently dark. Gorgoroth embrace their stereotypes and pull them off with enough conviction to embody what the Norwegian black metal scene is all about.

Not much has changed since their debut Pentagram. The production is slightly crisper, the vocals are more dynamic (Hat and Pest split vocal duties this time), and the vaguely thrashy overtones are all but gone. Antichrist is pure unadulterated black metal. It flows seamlessly from beginning to end as a single 25-minute piece of music. Tracks like ‘Gorgoroth’ and ‘Heavens Fall’ highlight melodic progressions over blast beat laden tapestry, while ‘Possessed (by Satan)’ utilizes offbeat drum patterns to accentuate its unnerving atmosphere. Clean vocals rear their head in a couple tracks, namely the closer ‘Sorg’, which sounds like unsettlingly accurate droning ambiance from an occult monastery.

What separates Gorgoroth from the crowd is that they aren’t just putting on a show. They believe in what they do wholeheartedly. They’re playing “evil” in its aural form; it's their passion. And because they believe it, we believe it, and can willfully relish in the darkness alongside them.



Recent reviews by this author
Periphery Periphery III: Select DifficultyArchitects All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us
Bleeding Skies You Can (Not) DieLudwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92
Protest the Hero Pacific MythHans Zimmer and Junkie XL Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice
user ratings (256)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2015


24008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not my best but this desperately needed a review

Digging: Converge - You Fail Me (Redux)

Hawks
November 13th 2015


45133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn didn't even realize this didn't have a review tbh, nice work bro. Album slays so hard.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2015


24008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i can't win with you jac

and ya hawks satan mustve been pissed. 'gorgoroth' is so fucking good

Hawks
November 13th 2015


45133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I always say this, but this band is underrate. I mean they have some duds in their discog for sure, but when they also have some straight up classics.

Hawks
November 13th 2015


45133 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First 3 are bm classics for me, Ad Majorem is amazing, and Twilight slays too. The others are meh.

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2015


9564 Comments


This one didn't have a review? Crazy indeed.

Good job Andrew.

Digging: Witchwood - Litanies from the Woods

BandNewbac
November 13th 2015


2097 Comments


This is a good album yeah yeah wooooo.

Digging: Blood Incantation - Starspawn

Archelirion
November 13th 2015


3865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've got half a review for this sat on my computer that I just forgot about. Still, glad it got a review. Album slays.

FrozenVain
November 13th 2015


2883 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shitty discog but their first three rule.

Really nice concise review.

zaruyache
November 13th 2015


13443 Comments


I thought you were going to mention how they helped make all those gimicky aspects of the band part of the 'gimicky black metal' idea itself, rather than simply capitalizing on what was already established. They kinda did, didn't they? ;_____;

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2015


24008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

do they even have families? i can't picture infernus at a thanksgiving dinner

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2015


24008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

appreciate it man

Gameofmetal
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2015


9352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

spado being lovable as always



surprised this didnt have a review

Digging: Hexvessel - No Holier Temple

romulanrancor
November 13th 2015


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks for reviewing this man :P

Digging: Kvelertak - Kvelertak

Valkyrion
November 13th 2015


1160 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

album is zzz

stick to pentagram

romulanrancor
November 13th 2015


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sorg owns m/

NeroCorleone80
November 13th 2015


33751 Comments


stick to darkthrone

Digging: The Ex - Tumult

romulanrancor
November 13th 2015


5934 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Darkthrone are the best, but this album still owns

KriegdemKriege
November 14th 2015


1518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shit shit shit shit shit shit



I have a half finished review of this from 2014 that I was planning on finishing someday.



Sorry to be a critic, but this is a really poor review. It is a good soundoff though. There are only five sentences about the songs here; the rest is just largely irrelevant talk about image. As Spado said, it's tired. I don't care what you think about the Norwegian black metal scene in 2015, I want to read why you think Antichrist deserves a 4. You have not explained that to my satisfaction.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2015


24008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i wish you had finished it, i just wanted to get a thread going. you should anyway

Darkthrone are the best, but this album still owns [2]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy