Gorgoroth
Antichrist


4.0
excellent

Review

by Andrew W. Gold CONTRIBUTOR (110 Reviews)
November 13th, 2015 | 29 replies


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The devil burns cold.

On the surface, Gorgoroth can seem like a gimmick band. They're a Norwegian black metal band named after the most evil land in The Lord of the Rings with stage names like Infernus and Pest, use overtly satanic lyrics, perform in black and white face paint, and the like. But the truth is, Gorgoroth authenticate the entire scene. The band fully commits to their alter egos to the point that you wonder if they’re alter egos in the first place. The music sounds like it came straight from the bowels of Mordor during a blizzard – ice cold and fervently dark. Gorgoroth embrace their stereotypes and pull them off with enough conviction to embody what the Norwegian black metal scene is all about.

Not much has changed since their debut Pentagram. The production is slightly crisper, the vocals are more dynamic (Hat and Pest split vocal duties this time), and the vaguely thrashy overtones are all but gone. Antichrist is pure unadulterated black metal. It flows seamlessly from beginning to end as a single 25-minute piece of music. Tracks like ‘Gorgoroth’ and ‘Heavens Fall’ highlight melodic progressions over blast beat laden tapestry, while ‘Possessed (by Satan)’ utilizes offbeat drum patterns to accentuate its unnerving atmosphere. Clean vocals rear their head in a couple tracks, namely the closer ‘Sorg’, which sounds like unsettlingly accurate droning ambiance from an occult monastery.

What separates Gorgoroth from the crowd is that they aren’t just putting on a show. They believe in what they do wholeheartedly. They’re playing “evil” in its aural form; it's their passion. And because they believe it, we believe it, and can willfully relish in the darkness alongside them.



Recent reviews by this author
Metallica Hardwired... to Self-DestructAvenged Sevenfold The Stage
Periphery Periphery III: Select DifficultyArchitects All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us
Bleeding Skies You Can (Not) DieLudwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92
user ratings (262)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2015


24105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not my best but this desperately needed a review

Hawks
November 13th 2015


46544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn didn't even realize this didn't have a review tbh, nice work bro. Album slays so hard.

Digging: In The Woods... - Pure

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2015


24105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i can't win with you jac

and ya hawks satan mustve been pissed. 'gorgoroth' is so fucking good

Hawks
November 13th 2015


46544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I always say this, but this band is underrate. I mean they have some duds in their discog for sure, but when they also have some straight up classics.

Hawks
November 13th 2015


46544 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First 3 are bm classics for me, Ad Majorem is amazing, and Twilight slays too. The others are meh.

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2015


9810 Comments


This one didn't have a review? Crazy indeed.

Good job Andrew.

Digging: Darkwoods My Betrothed - Witch-Hunts

BandNewbac
November 13th 2015


2236 Comments


This is a good album yeah yeah wooooo.

Archelirion
November 13th 2015


4327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've got half a review for this sat on my computer that I just forgot about. Still, glad it got a review. Album slays.

FrozenVain
November 13th 2015


2906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shitty discog but their first three rule.

Really nice concise review.

Digging: Hikrahe - Lily (The Wilt)

zaruyache
November 13th 2015


14899 Comments


I thought you were going to mention how they helped make all those gimicky aspects of the band part of the 'gimicky black metal' idea itself, rather than simply capitalizing on what was already established. They kinda did, didn't they? ;_____;

Digging: City of the Sun - To the Sun and All the Cities in Between

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2015


24105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

do they even have families? i can't picture infernus at a thanksgiving dinner

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2015


24105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

appreciate it man

Gameofmetal
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2015


9557 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

spado being lovable as always



surprised this didnt have a review

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Coven

romulanrancor
November 13th 2015


6578 Comments


thanks for reviewing this man :P

Digging: Swain - The Long Dark Blue

Valkyrion
November 13th 2015


1161 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

album is zzz

stick to pentagram

romulanrancor
November 13th 2015


6578 Comments


sorg owns m/

NeroCorleone80
November 13th 2015


33999 Comments


stick to darkthrone

Digging: Dog Faced Hermans - Those Deep Buds

romulanrancor
November 13th 2015


6578 Comments


Darkthrone are the best, but this album still owns

KriegdemKriege
November 14th 2015


1539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shit shit shit shit shit shit



I have a half finished review of this from 2014 that I was planning on finishing someday.



Sorry to be a critic, but this is a really poor review. It is a good soundoff though. There are only five sentences about the songs here; the rest is just largely irrelevant talk about image. As Spado said, it's tired. I don't care what you think about the Norwegian black metal scene in 2015, I want to read why you think Antichrist deserves a 4. You have not explained that to my satisfaction.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2015


24105 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i wish you had finished it, i just wanted to get a thread going. you should anyway

Darkthrone are the best, but this album still owns [2]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy