An Autumn For Crippled Children
The Long Goodbye


4.5
superb

Review

by Sabrutin USER (36 Reviews)
March 4th, 2015 | 54 replies


Release Date: 02/23/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Blending all of their knowledge, AAFCC create a breathtaking journey through the bleak and the melancholic, reaching the highest point of maturation as a band to this date

Coming from the Netherlands, the three-piece black metal band which members are still unknown kept evolving their sound slowly but inexorably. The hopeless feeling that permeated the debut Lost grew into a more melancholic sound release after release culminating in 2013's Try Not To Destroy Everything You Love that showcased the band at its most shoegaze. What brought that release down was the fact that it felt too grand for its own good, a thing apparently known by the band. That is said because The Long Goodbye totally feels like a release that went through a period of intense thinking. In fact, here we are presented the band's most focused, polished and satisfying release.

What immediately strikes the listener is the stellar production that sustains the album. Everything is perfectly audible, and every layer crashes with the others to create a perfectly controlled chaotic cacophony. The distorted guitar riffs create an intense atmosphere and the tremolo parts never fail to freeze the listener on the spot. The drums are crystal clear and imperious, and the bass lines, while not as incisive as they were in Only The Ocean Knows, provide great depth to the tracks with their energy contrasting with the sound of the occasional layer of touching keyboards. Notable are also the vocals, still distorted and fiercer than ever. Being hard to imagine them coming from a human being, combined with the wide breath of the cover artwork they are perfectly married to the music.

If each previous release had its distinctive sound, in The Long Goodbye the band masterfully blends them all together. Atmospheric black metal meets shoegaze, progressive and post rock elements resulting in the biggest sound the band ever pulled off. It contains Lost's angst, the dreamy sensation of Try Not To Destroy Everything You Love, the driving, hopeful and yet unsure atmosphere of Only The Ocean Knows, and it contains the feeling of being alone in an immense open space just like in Everything. The only thing lacking is the happiness that the band wanted to show for once in the Hearts Of Light | Blossoms EP.

However, The Long Goodbye doesn't limit itself to inheritance. This is in fact home for some of the band's most moving sequences. The more direct first half sees the band performing at their most energetic and straightforward ("The Long Goodbye," "A New Form of Stillness"), while the more mellow second half houses some of the most melancholic melodies the band has ever recorded ("She's Drawing Mountains"). All of the above while reaching new levels of experimentation towards post rock. Finally, the variety contained makes the album highly replayable and ideal for a complete listen, which is also where it really shines.

It is surprising how fresh this album sounds, especially after the saturated Try Not To Destroy Everything You Love, and the capacity of staying true to themselves without sounding repetitive is at least commendable. What An Autumn For Crippled Children have crafted is not only their fifth LP, it is their biggest milestone yet . One for which they should be proud, but that will also challenge them as a band. The musical sum of a career worked this time, but will the next album be varied enough to avoid being stale?



Recent reviews by this author
Toto Turn BackMaxophone La Fabbrica delle Nuvole
Asia XXXMaze of Sothoth Soul Demise
Klimt 1918 Sentimentale JugendToto Hydra
user ratings (104)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sabrutin
March 4th 2015


4323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Stream it here: https://anautumnforcrippledchildren.bandcamp.com/album/the-long-goodbye

YakNips
March 4th 2015


18926 Comments


u can fix those italics by changing the second "[ i ]" around the words to "[ /i ]'

Digging: ostraca - last

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2015


10370 Comments


Great write up Sab, pos.

Just a small thing, you forgot a couple of "/" in the album names in the 3rd and 4th paragraphs.

Digging: London Grammar - Truth is a Beautiful Thing

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2015


15688 Comments


I didn't even know they had a new album, will check soon

Digging: CHON - Homey

TheBarber
March 4th 2015


3504 Comments


bump, opener is awesome gonna jam the rest, nice enough review too

Digging: Demen - Nektyr

Sabrutin
March 4th 2015


4323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for pointing out the italics, those errors escaped my sight.



@TheBarber: the opener is definitely my favorite track alongside "She's Drawing Mountains."

Grizzlypyro
March 4th 2015


272 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah beat me to reviewing this completely agree with everything you've said probably my favourite by them.

DarkNoctus
March 4th 2015


9904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

idk, i'm not really feeling this. i liked the last two albums because of how well they contrasted between positive and negative feelings (only the ocean knows especially) and this seems more one dimensional to me.

NocteDominum
March 4th 2015


7314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This works for me, I'm kind of let down by the stale production.

Sabrutin
March 4th 2015


4323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Grizzlypyro: I don't think it's a problem if we get two positive reviews, I'd say go for it if you have already started. What a surprise, this album. My favorite too, followed by Only The Ocean Knows.



@DarkNoctus: Been listening to this guys for almost three years, I believe I gave enough time to the previous lps to be digested, and this really got me by surprise instantly with the t/t so I don't know how to try to change your mind, haha. I see you like Only The Ocean Knows though, so it's all cool. Past Tense rules so hard. m/



@NocteDominum: Eh I thought the production in Try Not To Destroy Everything You Love was way less appealing.

Hyperion1001
Emeritus
March 4th 2015


19975 Comments


didnt really dig anything this band did after lost, but that album is one of the best examples of whatever that shoegaze/post/DSBM subgenre is even called now.

RivalSkoomaDealer
March 4th 2015


1599 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Havent had time to really digest this yet but I dont think I like it quite as much as I did their last one.

Digging: Swans - The Glowing Man

zaruyache
March 4th 2015


17041 Comments


I liked their first album but everything else I've heard from them just felt too much the same or not gripping enough to really enjoy. I'll try checking this out, though.

Jasdevi087
March 4th 2015


4239 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've never listened to these guys before but that artwork just gives me a... feeling, y'know?

climactic
March 4th 2015


22253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

niceeeeeee had no idea this existed

climactic
March 4th 2015


22253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

god damn this is really good. not very different from their previous one, but sounds much more realized and "full" or something idk

Sabrutin
March 5th 2015


4323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's it, I guess.

anobsoletevernacular
March 5th 2015


256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dug this, dig the review nice work man.

Digging: The Drums - Abysmal Thoughts

Sabrutin
March 5th 2015


4323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank you, sir.

Grizzlypyro
March 5th 2015


272 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dunno man, this review is way more in depth and aware than anything I would have written. Seriously though well done.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy