Torche
Restarter


4.0
excellent

Review

by Andrew W. Gold CONTRIBUTOR (111 Reviews)
February 22nd, 2015 | 25 replies


Release Date: 02/24/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Sit back, smoke up, and enjoy the riffs.

Few bands can attest to the phrase “less is more” better than Torche has on Restarter. The Floridian foursome and their brand of metal are often associated with sludge or stoner rock. While neither label is wrong per se, they don’t paint Torche’s sound in a particularly intriguing light nor do they aptly convey the band’s penchant for creating mesmeric, mindlessly fun music. The whole of Restarter is packed with simplistic riffs, tasteful feedback, pounding drums, and hypnotic (often harmonized) vocals. Every track is expertly crafted without ever coming across as complex or pretentious. All members are in sync, in constant motion, and play with an electric synergy that is impossible not to pick up on. It’s this disciplined yet lackadaisical tone that sets the band apart and makes Restarter such an enchanting listen.

This is not to say Torche is unassuming in any way. On the contrary, the riffs are massive and are repeated to the point that they pleasantly drift into the backdrop, allowing for the dense atmosphere to illuminate the aural canvas and encapsulate the listener. That’s about as abstract as the album gets; I could dissect the musicality of each individual track but that would defeat the entire purpose. The album is forty odd minutes of hard-hitting doomy riffs that provides a relief from the overly polished sensory overload that dominates industry these days. Restarter is honest and fun right down to its core. Torche don’t want to be the next Metallica – they simply ask you to sit back, smoke up, and enjoy the riffs.

Recommended Tracks:
Minions
Loose Men
Blasted
Barrier Hammer
Restarter



Recent reviews by this author
Incubus 8Metallica Hardwired... to Self-Destruct
Avenged Sevenfold The StagePeriphery Periphery III: Select Difficulty
Architects All Our Gods Have Abandoned UsBleeding Skies You Can (Not) Die
user ratings (146)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
AsimovsGhost (4.5)
The torch burns brighter than ever...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2015


24255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

felt like this needed a write up



stream: http://www.punknews.org/article/57130/media-torche-restarter

NocteDominum
February 22nd 2015


7314 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This album is the definition of average, can't justify the hype.

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2015


12864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Damn INS, pumping the reviews out. Short and sweet.



I thought this was very disappointing. My first disappointment of the year...



Digging: Swans - Deliquescence

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2015


4280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is cool. I agree with you, it's one of those simple, fun albums you listen to once in a while. Nothing complicated, good for headbanging.

Digging: Sasquatch - Maneuvers

cryptside
February 22nd 2015


2397 Comments


Really nice review, Ins. Still don't know how I feel about the album yet, need to give it another listen. Oh, and I especially love this part:
"That’s about as abstract as the album gets; I could dissect the musicality of each individual track but that would defeat the entire purpose. The album is forty odd minutes of hard-hitting doomy riffs that provides a relief from the overly polished sensory overload that dominates industry these days. "

You're one of the better writers on here dude, seriously good work.

Wolfhorde
February 22nd 2015


15083 Comments


Yeah, Idk. This album really lacks energy.

SharkTooth
February 22nd 2015


13747 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album's cool, nothing really special tho

SpaceZeppelin
February 22nd 2015


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review, perfectly describes the album.

Digging: Nick Hakim - Green Twins

ConsumerOfNut
February 22nd 2015


325 Comments


Great review. Really normal album, but I feel like for how simplistic is, it's really fucking well written and that guitar tone is good as hell.

LordePots
February 22nd 2015


37189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is the definition of fun, can justify the hype.

Digging: Lambsbreath - MANFEELINGS

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2015


24255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

pots knows



thanks a lot guys

DamnVanne
February 23rd 2015


2296 Comments


https://plug.dj/hybrid-theory

you have nothing better to do

JohnFire
February 23rd 2015


459 Comments


I don't get it. I never liked them. Then Keep Up/Leather Feather came along. I still love those songs, especially Keep Up. Now they're back to me being bored by their stuff.

Digging: Blood Command - Cult Drugs

DrGonzo1937
Contributing Reviewer
February 24th 2015


12864 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Goddamn, Undone is one sludgy, dirty heavy beast.

deathschool
February 25th 2015


21656 Comments


Pos.

Might have to check this. You make it sound promising.

Digging: indigoNowhere - World I

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2015


24255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it riffs hard. do it

climactic
February 28th 2015


22253 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

first half was pretty boring but the second half does indeed riff

misaelN04H
March 3rd 2015


18 Comments


album was just ok... too much hype

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2015


24255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i didnt know this got any hype aside from this review which hardly qualifies as hype tbh

Slut
March 17th 2015


4058 Comments


Funnnnnn



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy