The Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza
The Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza


3.0
good

Review

by Liberation Frequency USER (1 Reviews)
April 30th, 2006 | 22 replies


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


The Tony Danza Tap Dance Experience are a spazzy grind outfit. They make the DEP sound like easy listening and they are quite fast hard grind. One thing I noticed about them is that they arenít that fast for a grind band though they do have some exceptionally fast moments. Some moments there is fast drum fills and then there is your basic wall of sound. There is even a moment when the guitarist breaks into Sweet Child ĎO Mine for 4 seconds. They have a pretty silly name but do not let that distract you, especially if youíre into grind. There are constant breakdowns and some are quite humorous and funny.

The songs have some funny little bits in here and sometimes they take parts of other songs. Itís fun to guess the song they take parts from. Itís basic grind with the ďgrinding" riffs, crazy drumming and the loud screamed vocals to top it all off. The album is only 22 minutes so there is doubt if it is an album or an EP. The guitars jump from high note parts to chugga-chugga parts. The drumming is very fast and has lots of double bass. The bass has its moments and the vocals are quite loud and harsh in the way DEP incorporate it.

This interesting while it lasts but I do have a major complaint. It is hardly going to win an award for originality. It is your same old down to earth basic grind. Fans of the genre will love this start to finish but people getting into the genre will find this boring and uninspired. Since I am a fan of the genre, I like this a lot but for what it is, it could have been much more. It could have been a bit more different than other grind out there but it seems too familiar. Itís so clichť; weíve seen it all before. I also have another complaint. With grind, the songs are usually a minute long but a lot of these are average song length. It gets a bit stale when listening to the same song. There are seven songs on it and it makes up 22 minutes while if this was a traditional grind record, itíd be 20 tracks with 22 minutes. The songs start to get boring a lot and repetitive.

They could have cut down the songs or at least cut them into different parts to make them listen able. Sadly, itís hard to write a 1000 word review on a grind record like this so Iíll just leave it as this: This album isnít going to appeal to anyone other than the familiar grind fan. The songs have a long duration for a grind record and none of them do anything that much different. The whole record isnít going to revolutionise grindcore. It is fun for a while but gets old fast. I am simply going to give this a three since I am a grind fan but to those outside the genre then I simple give it a two. Lap this up, fans of the genre but donít expect anything new.


user ratings (33)
Chart.
2.6
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
NEDM
April 30th 2006


1113 Comments


Nice review, I have yet to hear any of this but now I know what to download.

Zebra
Moderator
April 30th 2006


2647 Comments


Great job for a first review, but I have one problem with it. You said that average grind songs are usually a minute long, and I don't think that's true.
This album sounds cool, but I'm not that big on grunge. The song titles are pretty funny, especially the albums closer.

Liberation Frequency
April 30th 2006


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great job for a first review, but I have one problem with it. You said that average grind songs are usually a minute long, and I don't think that's true.

A lot of it is, ask Dancin Man or someone.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2006


16089 Comments


Change the album name, S/T isn't the name on the cover, now is it?

Liberation Frequency
April 30th 2006


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that wasn't me

NEDM
April 30th 2006


1113 Comments


Great job for a first review, but I have one problem with it. You said that average grind songs are usually a minute long, and I don't think that's true.

In a way he's right. Most grind songs that I listen to tend to be to about one minute to two minutes long.

Zebra
Moderator
April 30th 2006


2647 Comments


I'm not very educated on grind music, but I have a few Napalm Death albums and while there are a lot of tracks that are well under a minute long there are also many tracks that last at least a minute and a half long. Oh well, I get what you're saying in the review, my mistake.

spoon_of_grimbo
April 30th 2006


2241 Comments


if you want some original sounding grind, try Narcosis.

DanD
April 30th 2006


86 Comments


I've heard a couple songs off of this album years ago and they didn't seem very "grindy." I don't know, I don't listen to a whole lot of grind, but either way I didn't really like it.

ImTheFloor
April 30th 2006


59 Comments


I don't listen to grind, but can you saw "Best band name ever"?
'Cause I can.

Liberation Frequency
April 30th 2006


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Patched my review up as in, I made the little paragraphs into a big paragraph.

santi3hg
April 30th 2006


440 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This band is good, though this is way short for any good listen. Good review.

Killtacular
April 30th 2006


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Dillinger could grind circles around these guys.

And I don't recall hearing that excerpt from Sweet Child O' Mine. Which track is it?

Liberation Frequency
April 30th 2006


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And I don't recall hearing that excerpt from Sweet Child O' Mine. Which track is it?

Second track, 14 seconds.

Killtacular
April 30th 2006


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Oh. Pfff, that's nothing. That sounds only slightly like SCO'M, and it's not long enough to say it is.

On a side note, I'mma see these guys on June 17th.

Liberation Frequency
April 30th 2006


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's exact same notes, exact same tone. It's like a sample pulled out the song. It is basically the same thing.

XxcheetoxX
April 30th 2006


78 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yo Scruples their myspace lies, they aren't playing Rocketown in June, its in May. I assume thats where your seeing them.

Ya, I'm seeing em too. Should be fun. They're pretty boring after repeated listens but its fun while it lasts.

Killtacular
April 30th 2006


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Wall Street, in Murfreesboro, actually. I went by their official site.

It says they're playing Rocketown sometime in May and on June 16th.

kno_kontrol
April 30th 2006


448 Comments


I hate grind music, but goddamn, that might be the funniest name ever

The Sludge
May 1st 2006


2169 Comments


One of my favorite band names ever!!!!!!!!! but it does sound like crap though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy