Antemasque
Antemasque


3.0
good

Review

by Elijah Andrew STAFF
November 13th, 2014 | 19 replies


Release Date: 07/01/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With their self-titled debut, ANTEMASQUE have produced a perfectly acceptable rock record sans any character from their illustrious front men.

I hate thinking about ANTEMASQUE. I hate that it was borne of the disillusion of The Mars Volta. I hate that it isn’t exactly everything I wanted and more. And I especially hate that I can’t stop listening to it.

Antemasque was always going to be a divisive train wreck. Cedric’s very public antics after TMV broke up saw to that. Yet somehow the reunion of Cedric and Omar (as rushed as it was) sounds surprisingly unsurprising. Nothing within these 10 songs is out of place or feels expressly forced. Drawing inspiration from the last decade and a half of their musical relationship, Antemasque is a clean amalgam of The Mars Volta and At the Drive-In with a dash of De Facto.

The band’s self titled record is a blisteringly paced work of rock and roll. Sure there is some funk to be found, with “The Lurch” featuring some groovy break downs, but most of the record is a straight shot from beginning to end. What this really amounts to is Cedric taking the center staged. As was the case with The Mars Volta’s final album,Noctourniquet, Omar has taken more of a subdued role. No indulgent wankery to be found. No psyche freak outs or jazz explosions either. It’s nice to hear the duo at their most basic, really. Hell, even the lyrics seem less cryptic and encoded. By the time the radio friendly “50,000 Kilowats” kicks in most people will bemoan the lacking character, but really it’s pretty damn fun.

Antemasque sounds like Omar and Cedric letting loose, taking it easy, and having a good time. The record is enjoyable, bland and silly, but still a good time. You won’t hear the duo lean too heavily towards either side of their established sounds. Instead you’ll be treated to a very straight laced rocking collaboration between friends and frankly that’s just fine.



Recent reviews by this author
Sigh GravewardMarriages Salome
Marsen Jules The Empire of SilenceLeviathan Scar Sighted
Imperial Triumphant Abyssal GodsMastery (USA-CA) Valis
user ratings (177)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
potsos (3.5)
If this is just the beginning for Antemasque, it's an auspicious start with a little room to grow....

Alex Carlson (4)
Antemasque's debut album is the perfect way to go against the grain of something already so far agai...


Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyOnTheSpot
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2014


3024 Comments


nice review, couple grammar things here and there but w/e you'll probably catch those

Digging: Holly Herndon - Platform

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2014


6849 Comments


Emerituses: So badass they're exempt from the one review per day rule.

Digging: Godspeed You! Black Emperor - 'Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress'

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2014


51209 Comments


I've posted two in a row #thuglife

Digging: Hop Along - Painted Shut

Gameofmetal
November 13th 2014


5581 Comments


What's the deal with the emeritus thing? I heard somewhere that it was reviewers that don't review anymore or something yet this one has reviewed so that must not be quite true.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Contributing Reviewer
November 13th 2014


3024 Comments


it's ex-staff

Gameofmetal
November 13th 2014


5581 Comments


How does that work out exactly?

Asdfp277
November 13th 2014


1736 Comments


you were staff but you don't write as often so you ask to get emeritus'd or simply get the tag by not reviewing in a year or two. but you can get staff'd again if u ask

edit: "staff'd"

Digging: Ases Falsos - Conduccion

Xenophanes
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


10721 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I got fired for trying to stage a coup against the mods tbh

Digging: Mew - -

Gameofmetal
November 13th 2014


5581 Comments


Ok that's pretty cool I guess. The title is nice.

Asdfp277
November 13th 2014


1736 Comments


"I got fired for trying to stage a coup against the mods tbh"

who hasn't tbh

Gameofmetal
November 13th 2014


5581 Comments


lololololol do it again

StKiyo
November 13th 2014


270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

C'MOOOOOON, I'm finishing my Antemasque review right now. So, I guess I'll post it in a couple of days m

StKiyo
November 13th 2014


270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

C'MOOOOOON, I'm finishing my Antemasque review right now. So, I guess I'll post it in a couple of days

Mister Twister
November 13th 2014


1925 Comments


this doesn't answer the real questions I have

how long is the album? how has it performed commercially?

Asdfp277
November 13th 2014


1736 Comments


does the second song begin where the first ends?

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2014


4469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

just here to say: hi Eli, hope all is well!



also, yeah album was fun.

ScuroFantasma
November 14th 2014


3072 Comments


great short review man

Digging: Vader - Tibi et Igni

DrGonzo1937
November 14th 2014


8584 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review.



This was a disappointment for me.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2014


18245 Comments


I got fired for trying to stage a coup against the mods tbh


Hahaha oh Xeno how I've missed you



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy