Ne Obliviscaris
Citadel


4.5
superb

Review

by Drew Tyler USER (72 Reviews)
October 28th, 2014 | 1238 replies


Release Date: 11/07/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ne Obliviscaris are proving once more to be a hard band to label. 2014's Citadel finds the band perfecting the unique sound established on their debut album Portal of I, while seemingly attaining more accessibility.

In spite of drawing several comparisons to contemporary metal act Opeth, Ne Obliviscaris dig much deeper. They truly relish in the opportunity to blast the listener with heavy guitars, death growls and blast beats, but unlike many other modern death metal bands, Ne Obliviscaris throws classical violin and clean vocals into the mix. Before you cry foul, know that the violin and clean vocals don't dominate the album, they add to it. Seamless transitions of brutally heavy material and jazz-like classical instrumentation captivate and demand attention. And while these additional styles set them apart from other bands, Ne Obliviscaris never loses sight of what's important; the metal.

Many of the issues found on Portal of I have been righted. While that album lacked direction and proved too much for some new listeners to swallow, Citadel follows a distinct path from start to finish, and seems much more refined and polished. The clean vocals have been toned down a bit, no longer dominating entire songs or contrasting awkwardly with the harsher vocals. Portal of I was a very atmospheric album that could easily put one into a trance, and this remains the case with Citadel. Dreamlike violin play accompanied by acoustic guitar provide truly memorable and moving moments that are nearly impossible to find in other metal albums. Citadel is also a much shorter offering than Portal of I and as a result, the album flows along at a good pace without filler. While there are several purely instrumental parts on Citadel, the band is careful to avoid repetition and will hold your attention from start to finish. The album sounds fresh with each subsequent listen and can be revisited many times without growing tiresome.

Ne Obliviscaris is a modern metal band that embraces new ideas. They provide a best of both worlds approach with regards to songwriting by offering up brutally heavy and deeply moving material simultaneously. They stand out from the rest of the pack thanks to their brilliant fusion of musical styles and are on the cutting edge of prog metal. This is a band that would seem to have a long and successful career ahead of them and deserve all the attention they get. Give this album a listen before making your 2014 best of list, because this is a game changer.



Recent reviews by this author
Devastation IdolatryMeg Myers Sorry
Enslaved In TimesSavatage Fight for the Rock
Witherscape The InheritanceBlindead Absence
user ratings (763)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Telekinetic (5)
a large change that does not compromise integrity...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ThrashTillDeath94
October 28th 2014


775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Stream can be found here: http://www.decibelmagazine.com/featured/streaming-ne-obliviscaris-citadel-brendan-brown-ne-obliviscaris-intervieweded/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+DecibelMagazine+%28Decibel+Magazine%29

facupm
October 28th 2014


11273 Comments


so this is released...

ConcubinaryCode
October 28th 2014


4015 Comments


But did it have any lasting power?

ThrashTillDeath94
October 28th 2014


775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No just streaming fully in the link above.

ti0n
October 28th 2014


1765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"But did it have any lasting power?"



I guess nobody can answer this yet since the stream was made available only a couple of days ago.



i dig it much tho. its a bit early to say but i agree hard on the fact that this album is a bit more consistent throughout than Portal of I is. also some uber songs like "Forget Not" are contrasting that album too much where Citadel is just one hell of a brilliant ride without much filler. Its just far more easy to listen to it in one spin than portal of I.

Digging: Kirin J. Callinan - Bravado

facupm
October 28th 2014


11273 Comments


nice going to jam

pos btw

LifeFeedsOnLife
October 28th 2014


452 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well... I liked the opening track, i guess..

ForestGagnon
October 28th 2014


14 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I realize there hasn't been a lot of time to digest the album, but I think a masterpiece like this deserves a more in-depth review. Also not really sure what you mean by the vocals no longer weirdly contrasting... I think they contrast even more on Citadel, but in a good way!

pedro70512
October 28th 2014


4166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice concise writeup. Damn, I was going to review this but they never sent me the promo >.> Hope

it's as good as the early average says.

facupm
October 28th 2014


11273 Comments


avg will probably go down though

Totengott
October 28th 2014


4110 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Have a pos. This album bores me at certain parts, but also blows my mind on certain parts.

Digging: Ephel Duath - The Painter's Palette

pedro70512
October 28th 2014


4166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"avg will probably go down though"



yeah it all regresses to the mean. will probably be a 3.8-3.9 based on typical sputpatterns.

ThrashTillDeath94
October 28th 2014


775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I tend to shy away from singling out tracks, or doing a track by track format. An overall summary kind of style has always suited me.

Vader
October 28th 2014


81 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pretty stoked for this one. Hope I like it as much as Portal

ThrashTillDeath94
October 28th 2014


775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"will probably be a 3.8-3.9 based on typical sputpatterns."



Portal averaged out to a 4.0, and i think this might be a bit higher than that. Only time will tell though.

ForestGagnon
October 28th 2014


14 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Anyone here who rates this below a 4.0 should get their hearing checked, imo. This may be the greatest album I've ever heard.

LifeFeedsOnLife
October 28th 2014


452 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pos'd the review.. So far, i'm pretty bored with this.

pedro70512
October 28th 2014


4166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

contronversyyyyyy

LifeFeedsOnLife
October 28th 2014


452 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's not a bad album per se, but i've certainly heard better in the genre. The instrumental portion of the album is strong, but pretty low in the mix for some reason. Also, they get pretty blast-beat happy in a few songs.

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2014


4921 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Need to get round to listening to this. If Portal of I is anything to go by, my dick will not be ready for this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy