Godflesh
A World Lit Only by Fire


4.0
excellent

Review

by I am TheMoreira for we are many. USER (14 Reviews)
October 1st, 2014 | 122 replies


Release Date: 10/07/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Godflesh are back and prove that ageing is sometimes a good thing.

Considering Godflesh's rather esoteric back catalogue, it does make me wonder if the creation of A World Lit Only By Fire was something of a nostalgic conundrum for both band and fan alike; just where do they go? If Decline and Fall was any indication, everywhere yet nowhere at the same time; using old ideas with a far more careful hand to find new forms of expression.

Indeed that idea is carried through and some on this album. All different strands of the band's DNA can be traced throughout A World Only Lit By Fire yet they display a far more controlled and nuanced use of those past conventions. From the careful and varied applications of Pure-esque guitar feedback throughout to the occasional use of dub elements and the return of Streetcleaner-esque distorted vocals, it's a trip down memory lane that almost never feels rehashed or pointless, just fresh and inventive. The production is also bang on, containing just the right amount of grit and finesse as well as Ben Green's bass work with it's subtle little shifts and mutes that add so much to the music while being seemingly innocuous.

The most impressive part of this album, and the best evidence of how much care was put into it, is how complete the songwriting is at it's best. There are no grooves for grooves sake instead interlocking into alien melodies. These melodies sound at times appropriately militaristic but at others warped and mocking, like pop songs filtered through a lense of self-reflexive bitterness. Compile that with every other little detail and you have some of the purist outpourings of rage that the band has ever put out because of the added emotional depth. Godflesh's anger is still there but time has given it more definition and more angles.

A World Only Lit By Fire then showcases a very particular stage in Broaderick and Green's lives through the careful balance of the past with hindsight. Time and hardships have helped create a very aged, misanthropic view that is spewed both on the world at large and their own past works, dissecting them, mocking them and moving on. As much as it's immediately brutal, it's also a slow burner that seethes with this bitterness. Does it make for a consistent album? Not always as some songs feel underdeveloped. Does it make for a good album though? Yes, one that gives a sense of real, lasting power through it's appeal to both brutality and subtlety and because of that it stands as one of their best.

Choice Cuts:

New Dark Ages
Carrion
Towers of Emptiness
Forgive Our Fathers



Recent reviews by this author
Fall of Because Life Is EasyHusker Du Everything Falls Apart
Gridlock FormlessCompromise Compromise
Black Dog Productions BytesGodflesh Decline & Fall
user ratings (88)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ResidentNihilist
October 1st 2014


1119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stream it here:

http://www.npr.org/2014/09/28/350631204/first-listen-godflesh-a-world-lit-only-by-fire


Kind of like how this one came out but I'll leave it up to you guys. Album slays, particularly the last two tracks. Con crit welcome.


Digging: Nostromo - Hysteron - Proteron

HenchmanOfSanta
October 1st 2014


1886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely the best of this year's comeback albums.

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2

DominionMM1
October 1st 2014


10136 Comments


sweet. will listen when i get home.

BMDrummer
October 1st 2014


8873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

gonna wait til the official release date, but this is gonna rule so hard as always

emester
October 1st 2014


4051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pm tied with pure as my 3rd fave flesh atm

Digging: Trenchrot - Necronomic Warfare

evilford
October 1st 2014


22842 Comments


nice rev, props, gotta listen

JohnnyOnTheSpot
October 1st 2014


1302 Comments


aging*

anyway, decent review though you obviously could've spent a lot more time on it. First paragraph doesn't make sense
"Godflesh's latest album is something of a nostalgic conundrum; for a band that has such a varied back catalogue at what point do they start from? If Decline and Fall was any indication, everywhere yet nowhere at the same time, instead drilling down into the core with minute precision."
I honestly have no clue what any of this is trying to say. Might be my own fault though(or I'm looking harder into than I need to, idk)

Conclusion is kinda iffy to:
"Does it make for a good album though? Yes, one that has an incredible amount of longevity and because of that it stands as one of their best."
Aside from being pretty generic, how can you honestly claim this album has longevity when it just started streaming a couple days ago?

Digging: Tanks - Asterisk

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2014


8907 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this album is sweeeeet

ResidentNihilist
October 1st 2014


1119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Intro needs some work but the long and the tall of it is basically saying that the band is going to hone down on what it knows. It could be construed as playing it safe but honestly that's not what it feels like to me heh.

Mainly base it's longevity on the fact that it's very well thought out, well structured and nuanced. Weird comparison but I think of The Mantle due to the fact it's got all these little details that kind of add up to make a really long lasting impression like said album and that's the feeling I got with this one. Just a personal impression but that's how I see it I guess.

And I'm pretty sure I spelt ageing right.

http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/ageing

Thanks for the help anyway.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
October 1st 2014


1302 Comments


Apparently ageing is a non-American spelling... My bad

Anyway, I guess I meant that claiming an album will have longevity is too bold a claim to make for an album that literally just
started streaming (and hasn't even actually been released). Wasn't trying to shit on your review, just offering thoughts for
consideration

ResidentNihilist
October 1st 2014


1119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's fine dude, I didn't take it as that anyway. I do stand by what I say in terms of how I feel about it's longevity due to the thought put into it but I can see where you're coming from with it.

CaptainDooRight
October 1st 2014


30063 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

rules, gd jb nig

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

TecumsehGargoyle
October 1st 2014


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can anyone explain why the songs "Imperator" (WLObF) and "Ringer" (D&F) sound similar? I assume Ringer's
title means it's literally a ringer for Imperator.

EDIT: The vocal line on "Imperator" is the same as the vocal line from "Ringer". The vocal line first
appeared on the Messiah EP (SOURCE: http://tinyurl.com/qc6r7gs ).

Flugmorph
October 2nd 2014


614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"One of the puriest outpourings of rage a band ever put out."

Ok. I can life with that. Good review.
Pos' d

ScuroFantasma
October 2nd 2014


2328 Comments


"aging"

it's so weird I've never seen it spelt like that, it feels awry looking at it and knowing it's a real word lol. Oh, great review man. pos'd.

Digging: Xothist - Simulacrum

Wizard
October 2nd 2014


19558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Definitely the best of this year's comeback albums.

Yep.

Good review buddy.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

CaptainDooRight
October 2nd 2014


30063 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

forgot to pos so pos

but yee bump wtf is wrong with sput, where's dee attention

i mean im no godflesh veteran but even i was magneted to this gd al

Flugmorph
October 2nd 2014


614 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I want to listen to it NAU!

CaptainDooRight
October 2nd 2014


30063 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

fly like an eagle and link that stream nig ov nigz

ResidentNihilist
October 2nd 2014


1119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys

Now fully edited.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy