A Slow Descent
Secrets of a Melting Moon


3.5
great

Review

by Nick Mongiardo CONTRIBUTOR (87 Reviews)
August 27th, 2014 | 55 replies


Release Date: 08/26/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Take a brief journey through the depths of a desolate, dying moon.

At this point in A Slow Descent’s career, he has managed to develop a bit of a niche for himself and it’s working for him. Nash’s ability to evoke a story through spacey ambient music has reached a climax and it’s safe to say that this time around the atmosphere happens to be a lot less jarring than it was on his debut LP. Despite staying in his comfort zone, in just a short period of about twenty minutes, A Slow Descent manages to tell a story well while at the same time making it quite an enjoyable listening experience. Secrets of a Melting Moon proves to be at its core a work of art rather than an accessible piece of easy listening music. Though Nash’s work certainly lacks constant replay value, everything accomplished here in this short amount of time is definitely worth a listen or two simply for anyone who appreciates art and it’s admirable how he strives to craft pieces of music for himself even knowing that many common folk will not listen to it.

Secrets of a Melting Moon essentially takes the listener on a cold and desolate journey through the dark depths of the frozen moon of Jupiter, Europa. Right off the bat, “Radio Transmissions Soaring through the Icy Air” gives off an intriguing spacey atmosphere that has swelling ambiance that rises more and more of the course of the track. Crash landed on this icy moon, this astronaut who ventures deep into the moon without a crew and freezes as a result of being eager to find out what secrets the dying moon has to offer. The growing ambiance gives off the vibe that the moon does in fact have dark secrets in store for the astronaut with its mysterious atmosphere. In “Europa: Dead, Desolate, Destroyed, Dark,” the ambiance plummets to a bit of a darker state with her being frozen and thawed out hundreds of years later. The music clearly shows the state of despair she appears to be in with the darkness filling the listener’s ears.

From the somewhat happy vibe of “As the Ice Melts Around You” as she swims higher to the surface like a phoenix from the ashes to the suddenly sorrowful ambiance of “Ruins of What Was Once a Space Station,” Nash’s ability as a story teller through the art of music is admirable and Secrets Of a Melting Moon serves as a testament to how enjoyable musical storytelling can be. When the bleak nothingness that is "Someone is Out There/First Contact” comes to a close, the listener will be left satisfied, but at the same time craving A Slow Descent to come out of his comfort zone and really show us what he is made of. Anyone who loves spacey ambient music will surely enjoy this, but for any newcomers who appreciate audio storytelling should give this a try. It’s the equivalent to listening to a well-made short film and a exceptional piece of art at that.



Recent reviews by this author
Beecher Breaking the Fourth WallUlver Perdition City
Vestascension Breaching the SoundMartin O'Donnell Halo Original Soundtrack
Deftones Koi No YokanDeftones Diamond Eyes
user ratings (16)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
ExplosiveOranges (4)
The beginning of the end....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2014


10841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A little surprise for Judio right here :D

Nice work with this one dude.

insanedrexl1
August 27th 2014


642 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review for a great album.

fallenbird
August 27th 2014


3956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mental Pos'd

awesome review, nice so see this getting recognition so fast

deathschool
August 27th 2014


9028 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn, son.

Digging: Look What I Did - Zanzibar III: Analog Prison

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2014


10841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's just so short that it's able to sink in really fast haha it's a really cool album

Thanks guys!

ChoccyPhilly
August 27th 2014


7213 Comments


He's gonna go nuts when he sees this but it's nice it got a good review!

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

Funeralopolis
August 27th 2014


11565 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice, good review

Digging: Black Milk - If There's a Hell Below

laughingman22
August 27th 2014


1805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that was fast

cool review though

Digging: Peter Christopherson - Time Machines II

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2014


6269 Comments


Awesome review man, thank you so much for taking the time to write this! Glad you liked it too, I was a bit nervous that people weren't going to enjoy this one so it's nice to know that it's getting positive reception so far. I'm actually really surprised to see that you used my actual name on here haha, was not expecting that.

Here's a link to stream/download this for anyone interested:
https://aslowdescent.bandcamp.com/album/secrets-of-a-melting-moon

Digging: Porcupine Tree - In Absentia

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2014


10841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No problem dude! Really cool album. I especially like As the Ice Melts Around You a lot.

fallenbird
August 27th 2014


3956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Same here, vaguely reminds me a bit of untitled 3 in a good way

emester
August 27th 2014


3932 Comments


Judio your putting out music at a nearly buckethead pace

Digging: Falls of Rauros - Believe in No Coming Shore

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2014


6269 Comments


I am Buckethead tbh let's not sugarcoat it

fallenbird
August 27th 2014


3956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol

deathschool
August 27th 2014


9028 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very nice review. Mental pos.

Satisfyed should be satisfied in the last paragraph.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2014


10841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh yea of course haha corrected and thanks dude.

ExplosiveOranges
August 27th 2014


3158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Mongi, you SONOFABITCH! Ya beat me to it! In all seriousness, though, great review. This is definitely worthy of more attention, and I hope that Judio's list getting featured helps that out a little bit.

Digging: Winterfylleth - The Divination Of Antiquity

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2014


10841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ha thanks dude. Don't let me stop you though, review away!

ExplosiveOranges
August 27th 2014


3158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Funniest part is, I've almost finished it, but I can't put it up until tomorrow, because my Prawn review is still on the front page.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2014


10841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I mean, you could but people would throw a hissy fit so yea I'd wait :D



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy