Iron Maiden
Virtual XI


3.0
good

Review

by Lukai USER (5 Reviews)
April 20th, 2006 | 27 replies | 4,106 views


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist


1 of 9 thought this review was well written

Welcome to Maiden's worst album , an album that is a hit and miss affair , but as you read the following review please keep this information in mind.
When maiden released this album they were in there weakest line up , two of the three main songwrites (Bruce Dickinson and Adrian Smith) had left the band leaving perhaps Maidens strongest songwriter ,Steve Harris to write the majority of material.One of Maiden's trademarks was its soaring operatic vocals produced by the mighty Bruce Dickinson, but when Dickinson left he was replaced by the terrible Blaze Bayley, just listen for yourself and acknowledge his awful style.


So without further babbling here is the songs and there reviews

Futureal 4/5:The album opens mighty strong , within the first 5 seconds you are rocking along to the incredibly catchy riff , but then Blaze's vocals enter and the whole thing seems sorta ruined.With Bruce I would of gave this 5 , but not even the great solo can rescue it from Blaze's perfromance.


The angel and the gambler 2/5:Geez!! at almost ten minutes long , this is one of Maiden's longest songs , and also one of its worst.The problem here is not mainly Blaze(surprise!) although his singing isn't great there are other aspects which get mighty annoying.For one Steve Harris basically repeats the song twice resulting in its long play time, which is ridiculous.Secondly , this is a metal band !!! , whats with the synths? cmon boys this is rock 'n' roll.But finally the chorus is so boring and annoying "Don't you think im a saviour , don't u think i can save you , don't u think i can save your life?" I mean it is sung way too many times , atleast 10 a chorus and at 10 minutes the phrase is ruining an already average song.

Lightning strikes twice 3.5/5: Hmm an interesting song , the guitars on the verse's are well done , and the solos are awesome as well.It's not a masterpiece and its not awful , but as you look back at Maiden's back catalogue , even the worst song off any golden era albums would kick this songs ass.

The Clansman 4/5: Another epic! , but fear not , this is much better than the awful angel.In true Harris style the lyircs are derived from folklore historic stories , and the song slowly builds up to the verse.Blaze gives an ok perfromance in this one to be fair.But as you listen through the songs you begin to realize that Steve's once inventive bass lines have gone , now he just mainly follows the guitar , but nevertheless a song worthy of better albums.

When two worlds collide 3.5/5 : The song begins unusual and sounds quite epic , the lyrics are quite interesting aswell , and give new light on a pretty stupid topic.Again the guitars solos are brillant , and the harmony parts are interesting aswell.But near the end of the song Blaze begins to sing his heart out, it really is funny , Dickinson could kick this guys ass in a single verse.

The educated fool 3.5/5: This song seems familiar? when i listen to this it reminds me of the way alot of maiden starts , slow with the guitar mimicing the vocal lines.A lyric in this song is cringeworthy " reading the book of life , or is it death!!?".The chorus is weak , and the lyirc unispiring , an average tune.

Don't look to the eyes of a stranger 2.5/5: Weak man!! now the song seem generic and they all seem to follow a pattern , with a few synths in there for measure.Blaze sounds ok... and the riff is annoying me for some reason.The solos are decent and the bass lays down a pretty solid fountation, for the rest of play.

Como Estais Amigos (I don't know what it means) 3/5: Is it me or does this seem like a farewell song? I think Blaze realised he sucked and needed to go.The guitar work is as ever pretty interesting , and the syths( oh how i hate them) are ok in here.A decent end to a below average album.

Conclusion

Maiden have produced much much better albums than this.This is probably there worst effort , due to Blaze and the missing songwriters (who returned for Brave new world , which is brilliant!!!!). If youre a maiden fan , why not buy it ? It isn't great and it isn't really bad...

Thannks for reading please leave a comment :)

Como Estais Amigos ( im guessing it means goodbye because i suck and Bruce is much better and should come back)

Lukai


user ratings (915)
Chart.
2.5
average
other reviews of this album
DrJohn (1.5)
"IT"...

Scott M. Baldwin (3.5)
Virtual XI is by no means a perfect album, but it sounds like Maiden and has some stellar material t...

Kevin Williams (3)
Virtual XI is like a once muscular man that ate too much and got fat. There's still muscle underneat...

Mike Stagno EMERITUS (3.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ReturnToRock
April 20th 2006



3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well, this review is sucky. it's not badly written, but the grammar is horrible (when are people gonna learn not to use cellphone grammar on formal reviews?!)

other than that, i'll agree to disagree. i like this album better than many others before and after it. i love «futureal», «lightning strikes twice» and «como estais amigos» ('how are you my friends?' in spanish). sure, it's not a masterpiece, but it's not bad. if you wanna talk about a bad album...«the x-factor». now THAt sucks.

i don't get what everybody has against blaze bayley either.

all in all, a shaky start, but you'll get better. cheers!

JamJar
April 20th 2006



16 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think you were a bit harsh on Blaze's vocals but overall good review. I really dislike this album compared to Maidens other releases and another weak point on this album is the drumming. There is a complete lack of fills or any sort of variety in the drum patterns. Not a very good album.
This Message Edited On 04.20.06

crag
April 20th 2006



4 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A very good review but i'm afraid i disagree quite strongly with some of the things you said, namely that Mr Bayley is a bad vocalist, personally i think he is great. But it's your opinion and i can respect that.

temporary
April 20th 2006



207 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hm, your review made it seem like you wanted to give this album a two, not a
three, and your grammar needed a lot of work. Besides that, you did do a pretty
good job, though.

I'm not going to knock you on your opinion, but I think Blaze has a fine voice. If
he wasn't replacing one of the greatest singers in metal, then people would be
giving him a lot more praise...This Message Edited On 04.20.06

Mikesn
Emeritus
April 20th 2006



3709 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

I disagree, Blaze was a great vocalist.

Not Maiden's best album, but certainly better than No Prayer For the Dying and Fear of the Dark. I find it enjoyable.

south_of_heaven 11
April 20th 2006



5433 Comments


yea im gonna join in with most the people here and say it was a good review, but puncuation needs some help. and you might not want to start off saying "maiden's worst album"
But I could not stand Blaze what so ever.

pattern_recognition
April 20th 2006



950 Comments


Not much of a review. Blaze wasn't THAT bad, he just wasn't Bruce. And as for the synths, Maiden have had keyboards in the mix since Somewhere In Time.
Anyway, the whole review seemed somewhat biased by your hatred of Blaze. Instead of explaining to people why he sucked, you just laughed him off. The guy has his moments, Maiden DID pick him to be their frontman, after all.
Still, all the Bruce stuff shits all over this, but it's because of the weak songwriting here, not Blaze.

Saxon Priest
April 22nd 2006



110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I found this review very irritating. You bashed Blaze way too much and there was no need for your little interpretation of the translation of Comos Estais Amigos. However I would agree that this is Maidens weakest album.




met65
May 13th 2006



105 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

I think this is probably iron maidens worst album too, mainly because of blaze.

Fade.To.Black
May 28th 2006



85 Comments


Blaze is a great singer, but he will forever be compared to Bruce, who is not only a far superior singer/songwriter, but a better showman as well. This is a decent album by modern music standards but fairly terrible for Maiden.

Zizzer
July 3rd 2007



915 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Como estais amigos = How are y'all (sorry, English doesn't really have a very good prounoun for the plural you) friends?

I plan on getting all of the IM albums, but this one will probably be towards the last. I have 7 right now. I think I'll get Killers next.

Nagrarok
November 21st 2008



8171 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Blaze gives an ok perfromance in this one to be fair


FAIL. Blaze's performance is fantastic, as it is on Futureal.

What does everyone have against Blaze? He may be the least of Maiden's vocalists, but he does a pretty good job most of the time.

I think I'm eventually going to own all Maiden albums too. Got 5 so far.

This Message Edited On 11.21.08This Message Edited On 11.21.08

jingledeath
November 21st 2008



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the album maybe one of Maidens weaker efforts but Futureal is just awesome.

Bobek9
January 14th 2010



24 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

'Como Estais Amigos (I don't know what it means)' . . .

lol - oh !!

'Como Estais Amigos ( im guessing it means goodbye because i suck and Bruce is much better and should come back)'

lol - hahah - you're really funny (-:
____________________________________________________________
'Como Estais Amigos?' - It's one of the easiest thing to understand, amigo!
If you don't know that, than i assume you don't know the single word of Spanish!
'How Are-You (My) Friends' - that's what it means.

(I didn't thought i'll ever find a man who don't know that (-:, especially if he's a Maiden fan (who could have check it first, if don't understands it title, before going to write a review)) :-)

Tokyochuchu
May 31st 2010



62 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Wow... I didn't like this review at all. It's harsh to put all the fault upon the shoulders of Blaze Bayley. I thought his vocals were pretty great on this record. The only downer on this LP is the teeth clenchingly repetitive 'The Andel And The Gambler'.

Zizzer
May 31st 2010



915 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Agreed. Sucky review.

dannyboy89
February 23rd 2012



11953 Comments


^Agreed as well.

Ikarus14
February 24th 2012



535 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Review is far too subjective.
The album probably is the weakest alongside No Prayer for the Dying but it does have it's gems.

facupm
March 10th 2012



7384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I prefer Blaze's voice than last Bruce's perfomances, and this album is much better than Brave New World, Dance of Death or The Final Frontier, and its one if Maiden bests. You are blinded by a certain love towards Bruce, and that's a big mistake

Itishappeningagain
March 11th 2012



317 Comments


^
Because having an opinion that happens to not be the same as yours automatically makes you a blinded fanboy making a hugeeee mistake.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy