Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate)
You Will Eventually Be Forgotten


2.5
average

Review

by Eli EMERITUS
August 14th, 2014 | 143 replies


Release Date: 08/19/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: As the years pass it's becoming more and more confusing as to why this band is spearheading the whole emo revival movement.

Listening to empire! empire! (I was a lonely estate) is a lot like living in a loveless marriage-it’s sad and isolating, but somehow comfortable and familiar. Keith Latinen has always crafted music that recalls the emo greats, such as Penfold and Mineral, while carving out his own niche. Sure that niche is filled with painfully obvious emotional hooks and eye roll worthy confessional lyrics, but it’s a goofy and sweet delivery nonetheless. But as time passes it’s harder to forgive the band for their niceties, as they continue to craft the most banal emo around. With their sophomore record, empire! empire! are the same as ever, but now the schtick is tired.

With You Will Eventually Be Forgotten it’s easier now than ever to write off the band completely. Practically carbon copies of every piece of music that empire! empire! has ever created, their sophomore record is filled with tracks that berate the listener with sickly sweet words hooks. All this, of course, to illicit a very specific emotional response which feels partly nostalgic but nowhere near as genuine as, say, American Football. And there’s the rub. It’s hard to take Latinen seriously when he’s singing of lost loves and ineffable sadness. In the promotional photo we see him sitting happily next to his wife holding a puppy for Christ’s sake.

But this is by no means a deal breaker. You Will Eventually Be Forgotten feels phony, but that isn’t anything new for the band. What is new, however, is the slicker production, something direly needed. No longer does Latinen sound like he’s singing into a tin can. The album is warmer and fuller, with the vocals sounding less shrill and the guitars feeling less metallic. This certainly helps the near 40-minute album slide by effortlessly, with its only hindrance being the haphazard songwriting.

You see, You Will Eventually Be Forgotten offers nothing new nor does it pay respectable homage to its influences. It’s an awkward mish mash of emo revival and things older, better bands have done in the past. The songs lack refinement and maturity, existing in a weird space where teenage boys playing in their garages somehow manage to be emotionally enlightening. Nothing here is powerful enough to feel cathartic, while conversely none of it is subtle enough to feel genuine.

empire! empire! (I was a lonely estate) have made another album where they sound like empire! empire! (I was a lonely estate) and a bunch of other bands. It's like the entire record is a parody of emo as whole, which is embarrassing considering how seriously it takes itself. If being hit over the head with emotional builds and confessional lyrics is appealing to you, then perhaps You Will Eventually Be Forgotten will be of some value.



Recent reviews by this author
Saintseneca Dark ArcHave a Nice Life The Unnatural World
Thee Silver Mount Zion Fuck Off Get Free We Pour Light on EverythingFell Voices Regnum Saturni
Hammock Oblivion HymnsMount Eerie Pre-Human Ideas
user ratings (105)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (3.5)
An album that will make you very sad (but not in the good way)...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Xenophanes
Emeritus
August 14th 2014


10614 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I did not proof read this my apologies

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

StallionMang
August 14th 2014


5841 Comments


there will be hell to pay

Digging: LCD Soundsystem - This Is Happening

Gyromania
August 14th 2014


15941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

eli! agreed wholeheartedly

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

SnakeDelilah
August 14th 2014


7987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

http://youtu.be/y6UCETDsRbE?t=1m58s

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

SeaAnemone
August 14th 2014


20559 Comments


Eli : (


I'm not gonna read this review before I listen to this because I respect you but my opinion has already been tainted

Digging: Dirty Beaches - Stateless

SeaAnemone
August 14th 2014


20559 Comments


okay I read it anyway and I have one question: what's your thoughts on the EPs? I like Home After 3 more than the LP I think

melonade
August 14th 2014


813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you reviewed before trebor holy shit

Xenophanes
Emeritus
August 14th 2014


10614 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This review pretty much covers my thoughts on the band as a whole. I gave the EPs a shot and feel the same way. I've never liked this band and decided to give them another try with this record. Added to this they are abysmal live.

I will say, Eric, that you will probably really dig this. And I hope that you do.

Gyromania
August 14th 2014


15941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

good to see for once a staffer (erm, emeritus) agrees with me.

i listened to this twice last night and didn't make it all the way through the second playthrough

Gyromania
August 14th 2014


15941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol i don't doubt that they suck ass live - especially those whinier bits

Xenophanes
Emeritus
August 14th 2014


10614 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

After awhile Kieth just gets irritating. It's like the entire record is a parody of an emo album but it's actually totally serious


SeaAnemone
August 14th 2014


20559 Comments


I will say, Eric, that you will probably really dig this. And I hope that you do.


cool, thanks!
though I haven't really dug any new "midwestern emo indie etc." for a loooooong time now so we'll see

SeaAnemone
August 14th 2014


20559 Comments


and that's true -- I forgot that you've never really dug them(?!).

Xenophanes
Emeritus
August 14th 2014


10614 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm saying that because you like the band there shouldn't be any reason that you won't like this ; )

SnakeDelilah
August 14th 2014


7987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

tbh i think keith's vocals are way too polished on this album

Gyromania
August 14th 2014


15941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it does sort of seem like a parody of the genre. i still think their debut is pretty solid, despite some gratingly awful vocal performances here and there but this is, and i hate to use the word, derivative

minty901
August 14th 2014


2073 Comments


too soon brah

Gyromania
August 14th 2014


15941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

oh god don't start

JohnnyOnTheSpot
August 14th 2014


1224 Comments


That Trebor guy is gonna be pissed lol watch out

Digging: Astral and Shit - Spiritus Vitae

SnakeDelilah
August 14th 2014


7987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the guitars on if it's bad news are twinkly as fuck tho



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy