Rustie
Triadzz/Slasherr


4.5
superb

Review

by musicallychallenged USER (7 Reviews)
August 7th, 2014 | 8 replies


Release Date: 03/18/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A brief exploration into maximalism.

To get the idea of what Triadzz/Slasher is like, take a look at the album art. It's dark, dirty, shiny and sharp. This describes the single perfectly.

Triadzz is initially a bit of a let-down for the average Rustie fan - it starts off with a huge synth buildup, and then drops to a dark trap beat. This isn't expected but it works very well, and it makes the next drop, the expected synth one, that much sharper. When they're finally combined near the end they're both that much better around the next listen.

Slasherr, on the other hand, is not a let-down in the slightest. In fact, it exceeds expectations significantly. It combines the melodic style of Surph (off Glass Swords) with the incredible synth drop style of Secrets + Lies (off Mirror Maru, Cashmere Cat) with that shiny Rustie touch that multiplies everything by about 10.

By the time you're done with this single, you'll probably be itching for more. That's the only strong flaw with this release - it really could have been an EP - and if the main complaint about something is that there should be more of it, then it has to be good.



Recent reviews by this author
Lido I Love YouPorter Robinson Worlds
Passion Pit GossamerClean Bandit New Eyes
Lemaitre Relativity 1The Avalanches Since I Left You
user ratings (33)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 7th 2014


3471 Comments


single rules so much and I Love You in the rec section rules too. in terms of the review it's decent I guess given that this is a single, but for future reference Sput isn't a super great place for single reviews unless you can get like more than 300 or so words (i.e. http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/56151/V.I.V.E.K-Asteroids-Over-My-Head/). there are definitely sites which would welcome shorter pieces but Sput isn't the perfect place for four-line paragraphs. decent job in describing the music though

also be on the lookout for me reviewing Green Language soon!

ShitsofRain
August 8th 2014


5914 Comments


good review

Digging: Round One to Round Five - 1993-99 Main Street Records

Wolfhorde
August 8th 2014


13672 Comments


+1 for incorporating the word "maximalism" in a summary

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2014


31398 Comments


but for future reference Sput isn't a super great place for single reviews unless you can get like more than 300 or so words


What makes you say that that?

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2014


3471 Comments


What makes you so that?


assuming you're missing a "sure of" in there it's because singles generally get deleted from the DB and also because any paragraph between two and five or so lines on Sput's formatting system looks mad ugly

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2014


31398 Comments


No, my comment wasn't missing anything lol. (edit: should've read "what makes you say that?") I've never really seen any kind of formatting issues, or are you just inferring an aesthetic issue, as in a lack of substantial content?

Also, I don't refer to this type of material as a single. Granted it ticks all the same boxes, but as we both know the electronic world operates independently of other styles of music; I'll only ever delete "singles" if they also exist on an album. Independent material like this is fair game

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2014


3471 Comments


yeah, true. I'm more talking about the latter - i.e. I've only ever seen a single review succeed in bringing interesting content to the table (RA's constant barrage of single reviews included) if the author can put the single in some sort of relevant broader context which is just as well accomplished IMO on a full album's review or else it can easily turn into something resembling my Seven Lions piece. there's simply not enough material for the most part on a release like this to pump out something which is interesting beyond actually describing the elements which go into the songs, and I can just listen to the music to find that out. that's not to say there's no such thing as a good single review (I remember really liking AIDS' Asteroids piece), it's just that most of the ones I've read either get too bogged down in details or don't really say anything at all (and God knows I've done quite a few of the latter).

also it may just be me but I think that paragraphs that are as short as the ones above look kind of gross on a primitive black-on-white level regardless of how good the content is - maybe I'm just used to paragraphs that are longer than they are wide or something like that

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2014


3471 Comments


e.g. I love JViney's writing for the most part but I have trouble reading his reviews because they're "newspaper style" which means that each one is like three sentences max. probably just a personal thing though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy