Your Old Droog
Your Old Droog


4.1
excellent

Review

by Aziz STAFF
July 25th, 2014 | 126 replies | 4,956 views


Release Date: 06/03/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The nastiest Nas project since Illmatic.

Nas once said “name a rapper that I ain’t influenced,” an almost irrefutable line that left even the most finicky cavilers nonplussed. But now, 13 years later, we might’ve finally found an answer to the aphorism; Your Old Droog is either the exception to the rule or its paragon. The rapper who sounds exactly like a slightly pitched down Nas is either the legend’s biggest Stan – meticulous craft, poignant punches and all – or the man himself. But let’s try to ignore, for the time being, that Droog is probably Nas. For his very first project, Droog, said to be a former pro wiffleball player, comes out the gates hurling his plastic bat about with both the acuity of a wizened veteran and the hunger of an impetuous rookie, invoking a 90s rap ethos in his unyielding lyrical haymakers and desperation to prove his mettle. The production is also reminiscent of the mid-90s and laid out perfectly for Droog, with smooth guitar lines and jazzy atmospheres underpinning his immaculate wordplay. Take that literally, by the way; Droog has more personality and wordplay on his debut alone than Nas ever did – witty quips like “accidentally said what’s crackin’ to a blood/ Freudian crip” and “make it work for the kids like we goin’ through divorces” dousing the album in gumption and subtle levity. “Bad to the Bone” and “You Know What Time It Is” are perhaps the strongest bookends hip-hop has seen in a few years, sporting mammoth hooks and lyrical acrobatics atop brisk beats, while songs like “Nutty Bars” and “Loosey in the Store with Pennies” showcase bar after bar, unadulterated by the reprieve of a hook but still kept taut and engaging with showstoppers like “You’re just a parasite, like the Eiffel” and “guaranteed to showboat like the opening scenes of Titanic.” In fact, if you’re struggling to finish the tape, it’s only because you keep doubling back to catch lines like the hitters interspersed throughout this paragraph. Your Old Droog is no joke, it’s a crucible of lyrical power moves, heavyweight witticisms, and bloodthirsty battle bars. Every other rapper: shut the fuck up – this debut sick like Illmatic.




Recent reviews by this author
The Roots ...And Then You Shoot Your CousinScHoolboy Q Oxymoron
Have a Nice Life The Unnatural WorldWarpaint Warpaint
Busta Rhymes & Q-Tip The Abstract & The DragonChildish Gambino Because The Internet
user ratings (30)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 25th 2014


6108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Really sad that I had to add this to the database nearly two months after its release =/

YES PEOPLE THIS IS ALMOST CERTAINLY NAS. If you like Illmatic (read: if you exist) you should listen
to this.

stream/download here: https://soundcloud.com/your-old-droog/sets/your-old-droog-ep

Pitched-up version that sounds pretty much exactly like Nas: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j1XeJCCMbEU

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 25th 2014


6108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Also note that the every other rapper stfu thing does not apply to Black Thought or Push. Maybe
Kendrick.

IronGiant
July 25th 2014


809 Comments


where can i buy this gold

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 25th 2014


6108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

hehehe think he released it as a free dl

edited first post with the stream link, there's a DL link there too but i'm not entirely certain if it works

clander270
July 25th 2014


153 Comments


This is not Nas, but it still sounds nasty as fuck

jefflebowski
July 25th 2014


8242 Comments


p sure this isn't nas but yeah still great

Digging: Brian Eno and Karl Hyde - High Life

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 25th 2014


6108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

I also don't think this is Nas (don't want it to be Nas might be a better way of putting it), since I don't think 2014 Nas would be capable of this, but I also wouldn't be surprised at all if it turned out to actually be Nas.

IronGiant
July 25th 2014


809 Comments


regardless of who the perpetrator is, the album is quality

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 25th 2014


6108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Unquestionably. Probably my favorite hip hop project of the year so far.

IronGiant
July 25th 2014


809 Comments


easily mine too

Inveigh
July 25th 2014


24958 Comments


listening to this now, and yeah this dude sounds just like Nas, but i'd kinda be surprised if it was him. i'm listening to the pitch corrected version, not sure how much that changes it.

and yeah this is awesome

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

Gyromania
July 25th 2014


15680 Comments


friggin sweet. ace review

Gyromania
July 25th 2014


15680 Comments


the song you posted is so good. really good flow

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 25th 2014


6108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Veigh: yeah the pitch corrected version makes it sound exactly like Nas (I wanted to link it in the review but I'm waiting on approval for it) and while that's kind of convincing, pitch correction isn't the most reliable thing - Nicki Minaj pitched down sounds exactly like Jay-Z for example.

Matt: yeah that song is killer. I honestly could have posted almost any song off of this but I referenced my other 4 favorite songs in the review so I figured I'd link GC instead.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 25th 2014


6108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Also really surprised that so far everyone in here doesn't think this is Nas.

Everyone I've talked to and most people I've seen talk about Droog on the internet seems to be in agreement that this actually is Nas. Would be down to hear people's thoughts on why they don't think it's Nas if anyone cares to elaborate.

jefflebowski
July 25th 2014


8242 Comments


there's far too much humor in these songs which is completely out of character for nas. also the beat
choices are completely different to what he usually spits over

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
July 25th 2014


6108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

the humor was a big giveaway for me too. Nas just isn't this funny/personality-heavy. I mean it's
possible he could have that on deck and has just never shown it really but it really seems to be a
reasonably sized part of Droog's style and that seems like something Nas would have a hard time faking
in.

Inveigh
July 25th 2014


24958 Comments


yeah at first i was like "oh this could be nas" but after listening to the entire record you realize it's not his "voice" in the literary/writing sense

Asdfp277
July 25th 2014


1088 Comments


isn't nas dead?

BigSneakySnatch
July 25th 2014


339 Comments


damn nice song gonna dl now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy