Morrissey
World Peace Is None of Your Business


3.0
good

Review

by Joseph Viney STAFF
July 23rd, 2014 | 31 replies


Release Date: 07/15/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Bigmouth strikes again...and again

The news of an upcoming Morrissey album tends to be greeted with the same reaction and foreboding as a tsunami warning, or the early release of a particularly notorious prisoner. That is, the press go into some weird overdrive, while the populace run about the streets, wailing and gnashing their teeth.

As we are all more than well aware, Morrissey is not exactly the shy and retiring type. Every interview usually runs with the headline “MORRISSEY SAYS ALL MEAT EATERS SHOULD BE BUMMED TO DEATH” or something equally asinine yet money spinning for the publication in question.

So while he lets his untamed opinions run free, can his music do the talking for him this time?

World Peace Is None Of Your Business doesn’t particularly mess with the Morrissey Formula; if he’s got something to say then good Lord he’s going to say it. The classic Miserable Mozza we all know and love (???) is here in the song titles alone: “I’m Not A Man”, “Earth Is The Loneliest Planet” and “Kick The Bride Down The Aisle”…and that’s just for starters.

But what propels this album along is the contradictory versatility. Take, for example, the guitar crunch of “Neal Cassady Drops Dead” nestled alongside its pseudo-intellectual lyrics (“Neal Cassady drops dead/Allan Ginsberg’s lips tighten and thin”). There’s also the vaguely tumultuous seven-minute would-be epic “I’m Not A Man.” Finally, there’s the biting social commentary of “Staircase At The University”; detailing the suicide of an academic ‘failure’ (“If you don’ get 3 A’s, you’re no child of mine and as far as I’m concerned, you’re dead”) with an uplifting tune behind it.

Of course, that’s Morrissey to a tee; grey skies with a glimmer of faded sunshine. Ultimately it’s the well-worn formula that ends up dragging the album down. Tracks like “Kiss Me A Lot” and “Smiler With A Knife” are notable for their anonymity and tired old retreads. “Mountjoy” passes with little to no fanfare. Given the great work apparent on the album’s first half, it’s a pity to see the album slide to a close so disappointingly.



Recent reviews by this author
Archie Bronson Outfit Wild CrushManic Street Preachers Futurology
Sweet Apple The Golden Age of GlitterParquet Courts Sunbathing Animal
SKATERS ManhattanTweens Tweens
user ratings (45)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
jordan. CONTRIBUTOR (3)
...and neither is consistency....

firebird1 (4)
Morrissey warned you: his world's pace is none of your business....


Comments:Add a Comment 
PuddlesPuddles
July 23rd 2014


4784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Everyone has babies
Babies full of rabies

klap
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2014


10499 Comments


Can You Please Turn That Down Because I'm Trying To Sleep Until I'm Dead #MorrisseyAlbumTitles

Digging: Caribou - Our Love

JViney
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2014


322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Mrs Bartlett I Appreciate The Gift But You Know I'm A Vegan, What Am I Going To Do With All This Lamb?

Soaringmuse
July 23rd 2014


121 Comments


Dat moz dough ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2014


16452 Comments


Nice I was curious about this, but this review confirms my expectations of meh

Digging: Zella Day - Zella Day

DirEnRefused
July 23rd 2014


2190 Comments


You literally describe the music for two words in this review: "guitar crunch". The rest is just publication fluff and a few generic phrases. It's like you had to turn this in for a deadline unprepared so you hurriedly read the back of the album and the lyrics sheet.



lz41
July 24th 2014


52 Comments


I know people say Morrissey has the greatest song titles and just meh songs but they should start sticking 'terrible choice of album covers' in there as well

sonictheplumber
July 24th 2014


4629 Comments


direnrefused its sputnik dude who cares

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2014


2908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You literally describe the music for two words in this review: "guitar crunch". The rest is just publication fluff and a few generic phrases. It's like you had to turn this in for a deadline unprepared so you hurriedly read the back of the album and the lyrics sheet.

Lol.

Digging: Botch - We Are the Romans

TheBarber
July 24th 2014


1977 Comments


bad review

Digging: Iceage - Plowing Into the Field of Love

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2014


2908 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wouldn't be surprised if MORRISSEY SAYS ALL MEAT EATERS SHOULD BE BUMMED TO DEATH makes it onto the next cover of NME.

and this review is fucking brilliant

Odal
July 24th 2014


350 Comments


Yeah, there's, like, three or four sentences that actually describe the music. Should've been a soundoff or something.

But that's none of my business.

Futures
July 24th 2014


11685 Comments


lol

Digging: Mock Orange - Nines & Sixes

Feather
July 24th 2014


1368 Comments


"pseudo-intellectual" is the worst phrase ever constructed and I dislike you for using it in your review.

Digging: Zella Day - Zella Day

klap
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2014


10499 Comments


feather is strictly intellectual

bach
July 24th 2014


12910 Comments


moz rules still have to check

Digging: Caribou - Our Love

Thunderkat
July 24th 2014


576 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

This review doesn't really describe the music at all, just rumblings about moz's opinions.

But that's none of my business [2]

deathschool
July 24th 2014


9044 Comments



"Can You Please Turn That Down Because I'm Trying To Sleep Until I'm Dead #MorrisseyAlbumTitles"

Fucking LOL

Digging: Look What I Did - Zanzibar III: Analog Prison

fromtheinside
July 25th 2014


18717 Comments


klap - marry me

Digging: Devin Townsend Project - Z2

deathschool
July 25th 2014


9044 Comments


His heart belongs to the pug.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy