Monumentomb
Ritual Exhumation


4.0
excellent

Review

by Mackinlay McBride USER (7 Reviews)
July 18th, 2014 | 13 replies


Release Date: 02/07/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Released less than six months after their formation, Monumentomb have released a complete sounding EP that raises the question; Just how much more will they achieve?

It's hard not to think of Ritual Exhumation as the work of seasoned death metal veterans, however it would appear that this is not the case. Monumentomb were formed in September 2013 while, rather incredibly, Ritual Exhumation was released in February 2014. Monumentomb's sound could be seen as the culmination of the British and Swedish death metal scenes of the early 90's with a nice dose of black metal atmosphere. A good example of these influences can be found on Perennial Interment, where Monumentomb take the pounding aggression of Bolt Thrower and mix it with the rotten and twisted melodies of Dismember. However, even with all the mentions of their influences, Monumentomb are not by any means a tribute act. While formed out of their love for Old School Death Metal, they add a sense of modernity into their form of OSDM through their classy melodic tremolo lines and solos.

The band's overall performance is rather quite excellent with some fantastic guitar work from Byron Braidwood (who also handles vocals) and Alex Brown. While it is not always audible, Gaius Toulson's bass performance provides a great low-end and a thick sound. The drumming from Lee Charlton is also very solid and precise, although, along with the bass, is fairly typical of the genre. They form a solid rhythm section nonetheless. Finally, guitarist Braidwood's low growled vocals are a perfect fit for the sound of the EP, while some higher screams sprinkled throughout, such as in Perpetual Execution Torment, add some variation that prevents any monotony from setting in.

Ritual Exhumation doesn't have any real low points aside from the possible arguments of it not being the most original release. All of the songs are solid, catchy and have replayability. The highlight of Ritual Exhumation would have to be the larger-than-life but rather majestic blackened death metal of Citadel Of The Living Dead that is very reminiscent of God Dethroned. It is simply a sublime closer to the EP and leaves you craving for more. Monumentomb are a breath of freash air to the UK death metal scene with their form of melodic blackened death metal. The fact that this release sounds like the work of death metal veterans is a great achievment in itself. If they can produce such a complete EP in less than six months of being a band, then who knows what they'll be able to do for their debut album? It will be interesting to see where they can go from here, and hopefully the best is yet to come.



Recent reviews by this author
Krabathor Cool MortificationMorgue Eroded Thoughts
Winterfylleth The Threnody of TriumphNapalm Death Diatribes
My Dying Bride The Light at the End of the WorldLiferuiner Sons of Straight Edge
user ratings (3)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Surtur
July 18th 2014


520 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Veeeeerry short review I know, but it's only an EP so hopefully it will suffice. A great up and coming death metal band from the UK that deserves some attention. The EP can be streamed here:

monumentomb.bandcamp.com

Digging: Winterfylleth - The Divination Of Antiquity

zaruyache
July 18th 2014


6484 Comments


I'll have to check this out later.

Digging: Alpha Male Tea Party - Droids

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
July 18th 2014


6108 Comments


EP stream: http://monumentomb.bandcamp.com/

Will read the review asap

Digging: Disasterhate - Sacrifice To Eclipse

Surtur
July 18th 2014


520 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Let me know what you think Voivod, I've edited it a little bit to add some more info on the band as I realised I never mentioned anything about the vocals.

Amphoteric
July 18th 2014


1831 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just a quick thing about the summary: it doesn't "beg the question", it raises the question. Begging the question (also known as a circular argument) is a fallacy in which the conclusion occurs as one of the premises.

Album rules.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Surtur
July 18th 2014


520 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought there was something up with it but I wasn't too sure, so thanks man! Yeah, it's a great release, I can't wait to see what they do next.

Amphoteric
July 18th 2014


1831 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They've definitely got a lot of potential, I was blown away when I heard this for the first time.

Amphoteric
July 18th 2014


1831 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's not really all that surprising they're so good though, considering their guitarist/vocalist was in Spearhead.

Surtur
July 18th 2014


520 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've been meaning to check them out properly, but from what I've heard they're incredible. The UK has been producing some top-notch death metal bands over the last few years.

Amphoteric
July 18th 2014


1831 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Decrowning the Irenarch is so good, you should definitely check it out.

Surtur
July 18th 2014


520 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah hopefully I'll be able to listen to both of their albums in the next week. Had the chance to see
them in London with Mystifier, Bolzer and Cruciamentum but I had a lack of funds, which sucked haha.

ScuroFantasma
July 18th 2014


1838 Comments


Good review man, I'll check the stream when I get the chance.

Digging: Eluveitie - Origins

Surtur
July 20th 2014


520 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for more of the kind words Scuro, it's a great little EP.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy