Mastodon
Once More 'Round the Sun


3.5
great

Review

by Ben Kuettel STAFF
June 16th, 2014 | 127 replies


Release Date: 06/24/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mastodon’s friendliest album yet sees them freer and more inspired than expected.

Mastodon have continually seen an abundance of praise and acceptance in the metal community, due to their unconventional blending of sludge metal and progressive rock. Their signature style could best be described as both mystical and relentless. 2011’s The Hunter divided Mastodon’s fanbase, with some declaring they had abandoned their progressive insanity in favor of a more streamlined and conventional sound. The shorter song lengths and absence of distorted or growled vocals certainly didn’t help their case. It ended up being their most consistent and listenable release yet. The most interesting aspect of One More ‘Round The Sun is Mastodon’s reluctant embrace of mainstream songwriting tropes. Much like The Hunter, it sees Mastodon performing some light experimentation and unconventional songwriting in relatively conventional songs. Track lengths usually stay around the four-six minute length and rarely descend into technical guitar wankery. Consistency seems to be Mastodon’s recent focus, and this album is even tighter than The Hunter in that regard.

One immediate difference found here is a heavy reliance on powerful choruses. Once More ‘Round The Sun starts out strong with "Tread Lightly" and contains echoes of Leviathan opener "Blood and Thunder." "The Motherload" follows suit and tops the opener by having one of their most melodic choruses they have ever recorded, topped only by "Ember City" later on. At some point during the writing process Mastodon figured out that the best song they ever wrote was "Oblivion." Half of the songs here try to replicate it, particularly the aforementioned "Ember City." While they obviously don’t reach the emotional weight of their best song, the attempt ends up with most of the album highlights. The change works for the most part, but unfortunately results in some truly weak moments, particularly lead single “High Road” and the outro chanting of “Aunt Lisa.” The missteps are few and far between though, with …Sun representing an improvement from some inconsistencies of past albums.

"Asleep In The Deep" and "Halloween" are mid-tempo rockers that thunder along in technical guitar riffing and catchier qualities than on the earlier releases. Mastodon’s album closers were always an interesting discovery, being anything from the mystical prog jam "The Last Baron" of Crack the Skye to the meditative "Pendulous Skin" from Blood Mountain. "Diamond In The Witch House," clocking in at almost eight minutes long, is a corrosive doomy epic, and the most atmospheric of the album. Guest vocalist Scott Kelly’s tortured shouts fit the dissonant descending guitar riffs and tribal drumming, closing out another triumphant and surprisingly fun listen. A few riffs here and there begin to sound a little too familiar as the album plays out, but this quickly dissipates as this record reveals itself to be their most consistent and streamlined yet. One of the best aspects of …Sun is how strong the songwriting is in a more mainstream sounding release. The choruses don’t sound like nothing, as they occasionally did in The Hunter, and usually include large scale outros punctuated with classic heavy metal sounding guitar solos that shred their way to the end of almost half the tracks. Are they overused to cover up the absence of true uniqueness and mystical atmospheric textures the band were always known for? Maybe. But perhaps Mastodon felt the excessive sludgy intensity that had built their musical backdrop for so long had exhausted itself in favor of a more stripped back rockin’ approach, and the end result couldn’t be more satisfying.



Recent reviews by this author
Periphery Periphery III: Select DifficultyKayo Dot Plastic House on Base of Sky
Katatonia The Fall of HeartsFalseta Thought Process
Hammock Everything and NothingDeftones Gore
user ratings (1363)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2014


15027 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Album Stream:



http://www.theprp.com/2014/06/16/news/mastodon-streaming-entire-new-album-once-more-round-the-sun/



Constructive criticism appreciated as always

Digging: The Pineapple Thief - Your Wilderness

Scoot
June 16th 2014


18413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great stuff as always

Digging: Bones - PaidProgramming2

Mort.
June 16th 2014


10829 Comments


good review posd

Digging: Moose Blood - I'll Keep You In Mind, From Time To Time

Emyay
June 16th 2014


6261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good review dude. i still need to listen to this more before i'll know exactly how i feel about this. i think i like the hunter more so far.

evilford
June 16th 2014


32842 Comments


FINALLY A REVIEW FOR THIS YEAH IT'S BEEN OUT FOR LIKE ALMOST A YEAR

Sabrutin
June 16th 2014


3034 Comments


So, is this a good entry point for Mastodon?

Digging: Il Castello di Atlante - Arx Atlantis

BMDrummer
June 16th 2014


13701 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, I'll actually try this now.

BlackTaxi2d
June 16th 2014


176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"the children’s choir at the end of “Aunt Lisa.”"



i literally WTF'd when i got to this part



anyway, maybe it's because i'm getting older, but i am glad they went for an even more mainstream approach here. album is a definite banger

Digging: Periphery - Periphery III: Select Difficulty

Calc
June 16th 2014


14829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Ever since Crack The Skye back in 2009, Mastodon have seen an abundance of praise and acceptance in the metal community due to their unconventional approach of throwing numerous genre tropes into a melting pot of mystical musical monstrosity with bizarre imagery and lyrical content to create a truly unique sound of their own."



two things, this sentence is ridiculous, and the words "ever since" mean "starting with" which I don't think is what you meant to say here. Try changing it to something like "from their inception up to crack the skye" or something like that.

Digging: Towkio - Community Service 2

Sabrutin
June 16th 2014


3034 Comments


@fromtheinside: Sweet, thank you!

evilford
June 16th 2014


32842 Comments


prob gonna get deleted cuz the album hasn't even been released yet

wacknizzle
June 16th 2014


14384 Comments


can't wait to hear this, the one song i heard was soooo good

Calc
June 16th 2014


14829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"prob gonna get deleted cuz the album hasn't even been released yet"





there's an official stream, have long have you been here and ya don't know that lol

Mythodea
June 16th 2014


3128 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good Review, have a pos. I intend to write a review myself for this long anticipated album. The only bad thing with your review was that Aunt Lisa's ending is not sung by a children choir, but by the all-girl band The Coathangers. Mastodon have a good relation with them and they also made a hilarious video-clip for them recently. Check it out.

evilford
June 16th 2014


32842 Comments


oh nevermind then I sit corrected

climactic
June 16th 2014


21766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

when will users learn that having the first review means nothing? especially once staff/contrib reviews start coming out. wouldnt you rather make a more thoughtful review after digesting the album a bit? it leaked like 2 or 3 days ago.



that being said this rev isnt bad per se, but it does feel rushed



also i like the album a lot. 3.5, possible 4 territory

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
June 16th 2014


14641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

asleep is the best song here

Digging: Dinosaur Jr. - Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not

Uranium
June 16th 2014


7489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just finally getting to this

cmaitland421
June 16th 2014


381 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review man. Just finished listening to the record for the first time myself and it's pretty damn great. Love that the guitarwork is more prominent than it was on The Hunter.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2014


7115 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Good review, pos.



Album is fantastic.





One tiny correction:



At some point during the the writing process



Erase one "the"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy