Fall Out Boy
From Under the Cork Tree


4.0
excellent

Review

by Joe Shadduck USER (17 Reviews)
April 15th, 2006 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


I stare disdainfully at the blue disc in front of me. "Fall Out Boy!", I think, "one of the THE most overrated bands in history." With a sigh of resignation, I pop the CD into the disc-drive of my computer and give it a listen, fully expecting all the songs to equal the okay-but-not-that-good quality of the singles. So it was with an EXTREMELY critical ear that I listened to the first 5 songs. But right around "Nobody Puts Baby In the Corner" something happened. The awesome tune and ultra-catchiness broke through my prejudice and I... *gasp for air* I... LIKED it. Maybe Fall Out Boy isn't just a teeybopper's band listened to by girls who have never heard a Metallica song in their life. Maybe Fall Out Boy does have talent a few notches above the pop-punk standard. If you listen to one song off this album (other than the mediocre-compared-to-the-rest-of-the-CD singles "Dance, Dance" and "Sugar We're Going Down") do "Xo". I have fallen fully in love with that song with its strangely Genesis-like chorus and lovely lyrics. If you don't like it, stay away from this band. If you do like it, do yourself a favor and go purchase some of the finest pop-punk available today. It managed to make me fall in love with it even though I was determined to hate it. And the moral of the story: Never judge a band by their singles, nor pop-punk by the number of teenage girls that faint over their lead guitarists.



Recent reviews by this author
Deas Vail All The Houses Look The SameMy Chemical Romance The Black Parade
Explosions in the Sky Those Who Tell the Truth...Rocco Deluca I Trust You to Kill Me
Mae The EverglowThe Postal Service Give Up
user ratings (1946)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
April 15th 2006


13221 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

See! It's not fair to judge bands by their singles!

Jacaranda
April 16th 2006


684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album but the album isn't really that much different then the singles.... its pop-punk through-out the whole album no matter how you look at it and every song is pretty solid.

ImTheFloor
April 16th 2006


59 Comments


It took a lot of balls for you to admit that you like Fall-Out Boy. For this, I applaud you, even though I can't stand them.

altrockdude
April 17th 2006


150 Comments


I agree that it took a lot of balls to admit you liked this... but I am totally on your side. This album is great. Finally someone else who enjoys this. Thank GOD.

nag*with*a*gun
April 22nd 2006


420 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Do you think From Under the Cork Tree is better than Take This To Your Grave?

RockNRollGirlfriend
June 12th 2006


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ClassicThis Message Edited On 06.12.06This Message Edited On 06.12.06

RockNRollGirlfriend
June 12th 2006


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0



I would personally give From Under the Cork Tree a 5 because it just gives you a very spetic look on how they feel
about every thing in this world, even if it's just talking about your Homecoming, or some crazy scandalis night of Vampires, saving girls from some unknown Jocks that you've hated since elementary school. And I'd also like to put out that the acoustics on Patrick, Joe, and Pete's voices were AMAZING! And when I'm sitting there listening to the first song and I'm thinking... "WOW I never knew that these pamperd, straight headed guys off some adolesent crazed band would ever feel this way about Court, Secrets and there old highschool enemies who they faught with and then thought.."Why do I hate this person?" I Just think this album is amazing because you can get all that in in one song. And I personally thought Green Day were the only people who could do that but I really guess I was WRONG!



metallicaman8
July 18th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Did this used to be a blurb? 'Cause it's painfully short.

south_of_heaven 11
July 18th 2006


5438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yea, it's gotta be a blurb.
So lets do the cool thing and not click 'no'. Cause I hated when that happened to my blurb for 'Are You Dead Yet?'

Angmar
July 18th 2006


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

my friend plays this cd constantly track for track its just kind of annoying.

south_of_heaven 11
July 18th 2006


5438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

my friend plays this cd constantly track for track

kill your friend. it's the only way....give into the hateee

The Sludge
July 18th 2006


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well it is well written for a blurb. It pretty much fits the album as a whole. So I'm going to vote.

dylan12
July 18th 2006


9 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Can say I like fall out boy either. Singers voice is annoying and the musician ship is average at best.

metallicaman8
July 18th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

you might want to fix that typo at the beginning^. It really alters your statement

The Sludge
July 18th 2006


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

't



sell-out
July 18th 2006


47 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

these guys are fags! there old stuff was ok though

metallicaman8
July 18th 2006


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't like them either. But calling them fags is offsensive to actual homosexuals. I'm not sure if their actually are any on this site, but still smarten up.

NOTINTHEFACE
October 6th 2006


1653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Okay, this was definitely written as a blurb. I wonder what happened.....?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy