Closure in Moscow
Pink Lemonade


3.8
excellent

Review

by Jacob R. STAFF
May 17th, 2014 | 134 replies


Release Date: 05/09/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This here is your techcommunion

Back in high school, my friend Jeffery absolutely worshipped The Fall Of Troy. From the armada of the band’s tees he’d wear to the sheer amount of times Doppelganger came up in our discussions, it was plainly obvious that pretty much the only thing the dude was truly passionate about was Thomas Erak’s sick guitar hooks and what came with them. And you know what? If Jeffery had been a musician, he would’ve written an album just like Closure To Moscow’s debut First Temple. Considering that album wore its TFOT influence on its sleeve like nothing else, all the pieces fit perfectly. I never felt I could enjoy a record like First Temple, though, one that seemed so clearly comprised of its few influences- just like I’m not sure I honestly would’ve wanted to hear music Jeffery had written at that time. Both of us knew it would have sounded even more like Thomas Erak than Erak himself, and if that were the case then what’s the use?

Even though I’m not confident Jeff even remembers who I am, it’s easy for me to picture him going back to his roots musically. It wouldn’t surprise me one bit if he’s been dusting off his dad’s Led Zeppelin vinyls over the last couple years, finally grasping what made rock music matter before his favorite band ever did. And the funny thing is that similarly, Closure in Moscow’s second release Pink Lemonade has the same kind of vibe to it- it sounds like the record that inspired First Temple, in terms of scope as well as influence. To the unsuspecting listener, Closure In Moscow’s second studio album is loud and proud in all the wrong ways. Its structure is erratic at best and unreliable at worst, and the album is so shamelessly exuberant that it can be nauseating with too big a gulp at once. Songs like “The Church of the Technochrist” are enriched with so many funk and classic rock influences that it’s damned near impossible to not cringe a little on that first listen- not because there’s anything wrong with the song, but because it’s such a flagrant deviation from what we expected from the band. It’s indicative of a grander theme of this record- it’s all one big joke.

Pink Lemonade is so unerringly tongue-in-cheek that those expecting a straight-faced progressive rock album here are bound to be left twisting in the wind. From the soaked-in-satire of “That Brahmatron Song” to the chiptune song that closes the record, it becomes abundantly clear through the album’s 61-minute runtime that this is one weird journey, one that takes turns only when it means to. But you know what’s so exciting about this album’s unpredictability? I haven’t heard a record in so long that embraces the bombast of headstrong musicianship as well as Pink Lemonade. Its lengthier tracks’ jarring tempo shifts work surprisingly well, in that the listen always offers something new; furthermore, each song explores wildly different sounds for the band. “Neoprene Byzantine” is a hark back to the Bedlam-era Mars Volta with its spastic musicianship, while “Mauerbauertraurigkeit” (I know) is clearly inspired by Casey Crescenzo’s vocal harmonies and off-kilter time signatures. For all the variety on Pink Lemonade, there’s a song for everyone- yet all the tracks mesh together into a fairly palatable offering.

And this is the brilliance of it- while First Temple was a success on paper, it had none of the machismo of Pink Lemonade. It represented a time when Closure in Moscow hadn’t yet hit their stride, when they wanted nothing more than to be a part of the post-hardcore scene The Fall of Troy had helped cultivate in recent years. Pink Lemonade is more versatile with its influences, and is more dynamic across the board as a result. Yet somehow, by channeling all these divergent influences into a single album it seems Closure in Moscow have found their true sound- one that’s a little cheesy, a little derivative, but more amusing than ever. And I imagine Jeffery would have even more to say about it than myself.




Recent reviews by this author
The Contortionist LanguageMaybeshewill Fair Youth
Fallujah The Flesh PrevailsEvery Time I Die From Parts Unknown
Baths Ocean DeathSOHN Tremors
user ratings (196)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
kevin234 (5)
Not too sweet and not too sour. Not too satirical and not too serious....

Mikey Graves (5)
Not too sweet, not too sour, five years later, Pink Lemonade is a downright psychotropic epic....

Tony Li (3)
Not as appetizing as the album name suggests....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2014


10288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Hope you guys enjoy. My writing has been rusty lately, but I finally got this review polished enough for my liking.

I wanted to leave "Mauerbauertraurigkeit" as the SoundCloud link here because of how incredible a song it is, but
since it's not that representative of the album I'll link the song in this comment. Even if you aren't a fan of the
album as a whole, you may still enjoy this tune.

https://soundcloud.com/sabretusk/07-mauerbauertraurigkeit?in=sabretusk/sets/pink-lemonade

OwMySnauze
May 17th 2014


1068 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I just can't get into it. Just can't. It's like they're pretentiously just trying to be extremely different and weird.

Calc
May 17th 2014


12252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is starting to click like a son of a bitch I might bump soon

SpritzSpritz
May 17th 2014


528 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

something about this album has yet to click with me. huge fan of first temple but the wankery and silliness gets amped up on this album, and it makes it difficult to digest and really care about. the shorter tracks work better than the longer ones ("pink lemonade" is full of impressive musicianship but never locks into a groove for long enough to stick while "brahmatron song" has an ending too long and silly to rally any feelings along with it).

i'll give it more listens, but it was a long and unengaging first few listens for me. great review, however.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2014


10288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Thanks for the comments, guys. Snauze, this seems like your kinda album- sure not one that you'd give a 1! Have you heard the song I listed in my first comment?

Calc, this album sure is a grower. i thought this album would suck upon hearing Technochrist, but I really think it comes together as a whole. I had it at a 4.2 or so originally, but I think I've played it a little too much over the last week.

Spritz, thanks a lot man. I get where you're coming from, and was expecting to feel the same way as you to be honest! While I agree that a lot of this record is silly, I don't mind that fact much- I'm more lenient with unnecessary jams and such if the record embraces the eccentricities. And this album's decidedly tongue-in-cheek, so that fact helps me to appreciate it more.

OwMySnauze
May 17th 2014


1068 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Well I enjoyed their other two albums. Well everyone else has it at a 3 so maybe I'm missing something or not getting it. I'll give it another try I suppose.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2014


10288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Even if you don't enjoy the more prolonged and eccentric tracks here, I definitely think you would appreciate some of the other ones. I'd start with "Mauerbauer...", then maybe check out "Seeds of Gold" and "Beckon Fire." The latter actually reminds me a lot of Morning View-era Incubus.

Azn.
May 17th 2014


5612 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

i'm having a huge problem with this record too, and the more I listen to it the more it grows off me actually :/

before it was like 5 songs that I liked now only happy days and neoprene are actually enjoyable to me

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

elephantREVOLUTION
May 17th 2014


2766 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this grew on me a lot in a week

treeqt.
May 17th 2014


9786 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

this is parody right

Digging: Emmanuelle Bertrand - Dutilleux / Ligeti / Bacri / Crumb / Henze

KILL
May 17th 2014


71965 Comments


lol

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

Azn.
May 17th 2014


5612 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I also thought they butchered technochrist a bit

Rexhasta
May 17th 2014


71 Comments


I actually like this better.


Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2014


10288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Technochrist is killer, esp in context of the album

mindleviticus
May 17th 2014


8293 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Not too sweet, not too sour, five years later, Pink Lemonade is a downright psychotropic epic. =D LMAO
Great review, Jacob. We haven't been up to speed in a while!

ShitsofRain
May 17th 2014


5911 Comments


look at my horse

my horse is amazing

Digging: Round One to Round Five - 1993-99 Main Street Records

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2014


10288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Hi Jakey, hope all is well with ya :3

mindleviticus
May 17th 2014


8293 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yep all is well with me, albeit a little bit boring :P. I start work next week so all should be good.
:] How about you?

chambered99
May 17th 2014


815 Comments


Jacob royal sucks

paradox1216
May 17th 2014


503 Comments


I still need to give this a full listen, but it wasnt very impressive when I tried the stream. Seemed all bombast and no structure

Digging: Yellowcard - Lift a Sail



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy