God Is An Astronaut
The End of the Beginning


4.0
excellent

Review

by Nick Mongiardo CONTRIBUTOR (74 Reviews)
May 8th, 2014 | 34 replies | 1,467 views


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An epic debut that expertly combines space rock and post rock.

Before they developed into the band we all know today, god was a very different astronaut. Instead of a sound that embodies the traditional post rock leanings with swelling crescendos, God is an Astronaut’s debut possessed a post rock sound that was skillfully combined with space rock. The End of the Beginning happens to be bathed in numerous amounts of synthesizers and features a notably different drumming sound. Even though the characteristics of post rock are all here, the synthesizers and various other effects create vast walls of sound in every song which changes the album’s sound into more of a space rock one. This makes for a more interesting affair compared to some of their later works and those who only know of Origins and their self-titled album are in for quite a ride.

The title track of The End of the Beginning immediately signifies a different type of mood with its hip hop rhythms, euphoric guitar riffs and extra layer of synthesizers providing a soaring wall of sound often found in shoegaze. It creates the sensation of flying through space if the listeners close their eyes and this epitomizes the general vibe of the album pretty well. The title track starts off the album with more of a song like structure and then “From Dust to the Beyond” introduces us to the epic builds and beautiful crescendos that God is an Astronaut is known for. The added layers of synthesizers and overall space rock feel gives the song an epic sound that separates it from their later works respectively. “Ascend to Oblivion” also demonstrates the same type of epic mood, but album highlight “Coda” is where the album really shines. It features one of the best choruses the band has ever created with its compelling drumming and soaring spacey mood. All of these fantastic qualities mentioned here carry throughout most of the album and it remains surprisingly consistent. Even though this album happens to be one of their most creative efforts, the album does run out of steam as we get to the final tracks.

“Coma” proves to be extremely mesmerizing with its swelling synthesizers and beautiful chimes, but it’s a disappointingly short interlude that could have been expanded upon. However, the evidence of running out of ideas to work with really shows in “Route 666.” The song does provide some more engrossing percussion as usual, but in terms of other instrumentation the song really doesn’t go anywhere nor does it provide any notable crescendo. The same can be said for “Lost Symphony” because much like “Route 666,” it exhibits ideas we’ve all heard about thirty minutes ago. The band heavily addressed this problem with their sophomore masterpiece, but it exists as a running problem on their much later works unfortunately.

Despite the album running out of ideas in its final three tracks The End of the Beginning is a very engrossing and varied debut for God is an Astronaut. It showcases some really memorable moments like the touching guitar work in “Point Pleasant” and pretty much the album’s entire first half. This album serves as a fantastic starting point for the band because it will really show the listener how the band will evolve to create the essential post rock album known as All is Violent, All is Bright. Even though the band has clearly run out of ideas in their later works, it’s just nice to know that everyone can always come back to when all of the band’s creativity was at their disposal.



Recent reviews by this author
Anberlin LowbornGreg Edmonson Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception
Deftones White PonyDeftones Around the Fur
Deftones AdrenalineLinkin Park The Hunting Party
user ratings (231)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
menawati
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014



15696 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Instead of a sound the embodies"
that

this looks intersting, post rock with space rock huh, i get disappointed with a lot of post-rock i hear but this sounds worth a spin from the way you describe it

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014



8975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh missed that thanks. And yea it's so interesting man, their first two are definitely their best works. I was really surprised that is didn't have a review considering how many ratings it has.

Toondude10
May 8th 2014



3336 Comments


I'd capitalize the "god" in the first sentence, since you're using it as a proper noun.

The added layers of synthesizers and overall space rock feel gives the song an epic sound
that separates it from their later works respectively


It's probably just me but this read weird and it's a little general. What exactly do you mean by
"space rock feel" and how does that make it epic? Not saying make an extremely detailed paragraph
on space rock but just elaborate a little more on that.

Great review though. And I will hopefully get to All is Bright by this weekend. I'm just so busy
right now and I'm hooked on power metal right now.

Digging: Hey Rosetta! - Seeds

Ecnalzen
May 8th 2014



6398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Before they developed into the band we all know today god was a very different astronaut."

Love this, ha ha. I would put a comma after today in that sentence, tho.

Digging: O.C. and Apollo Brown - Trophies

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014



15696 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it s a good way to start a review but i prefer lowercase god in general even tho toon is correct since you are referring to a proper noun as in the actual band

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014



8975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks and I take it you don't know that much about space rock then toondude? Space rock generally uses lots of synthesizers, electronic stuff, has some ambiance thrown in there, typically if there's lyrics there's lots of stuff about space.

Ecnalzen
May 8th 2014



6398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, technically, by that logic wouldn't he have to capitalize all of those specific words since they are all related to the band name?

I actually think it's fine for it to be lower cased since he isn't referring to a specific god in general. He is just doing a play on words with the band name.

I could totally be wrong, tho.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014



8975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't take full credit for thinking of that actually haha. I got the idea to do that from the other
review for their s/t.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014



15696 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

!Well, technically, by that logic wouldn't he have to capitalize all of those specific words since they are all related to the band name?"

Yes

"I actually think it's fine for it to be lower cased since he isn't referring to a specific god in general. He is just doing a play on words with the band name."

Yes

"I could totally be wrong, tho."

No

Hurricanslash
May 8th 2014



360 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is one of my absolute favourite post-rock albums of all time. Everything about this album just
touches my heart in the right way. But anyways, I got too sappy again. Meh.

Toondude10
May 8th 2014



3336 Comments


Well, in contextual sense, "god" would be lowercase if you were saying "a god" but usually when "god" is by itself it's uppercase, specifically in the way you used it. True you weren't specifically naming a certain god but you still used as a proper noun. If you want to keep it that way then that's fine with me since you are using it as a play on words. Sorry to be a bit of a grammar nazi, that's just me.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014



8975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sappier than me but that's ok haha

Toondude, you nazi!

Emyay
May 8th 2014



5741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet review for a sweet album

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014



8975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man. What you think of Violent/bright?

Emyay
May 8th 2014



5741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think its just as good as this. some days i like it better, some days i like this better. this was my first album of there's that i've heard. i honestly haven't liked what i've heard after their first two

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014



8975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Their st is really pretty sweet but origins is really boring. Violent/bright is just perfect to me honestly. I mean suicide by star and when everything dies.

Emyay
May 8th 2014



5741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'll check their s/t. can't believe this didn't have a review, nice work

Ecnalzen
May 8th 2014



6398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this as much as All Is Violent, too. They are both great for different reasons. This one is super chill, and the other has those crazy build ups/climaxes. Good stuff all around.

I hear they pretty much just keep doing the same old same old for the rest of their albums, tho.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
May 8th 2014



8975 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea pretty much, it's really well done "same ol same ol" on their s/t but still kinda the same.

brucewayne1411
May 9th 2014



11 Comments


Oh missed that thanks. And yea it's so interesting man, their first two are definitely their best works. I was really surprised that is didn't have a review considering how many ratings it has.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy