Somos
Temple of Plenty


4.0
excellent

Review

by Aaron CONTRIBUTOR (109 Reviews)
April 19th, 2014 | 24 replies


Release Date: 03/25/2014 | Tracklist


What you had is never coming back. Looking back to a simpler time, familiar faces you could recognize.

It’s with these bitingly sad yet true lyrics that Somos kick off their debut album properly with an emotional tug at the heart. I mean, will we ever really be able to regain that freeing feeling of youth? These sort of topics make me incredibly distraught, but also allow me to reflect on and appreciate the times I had in those simpler days. When I was younger, I’d take a road trip to my aunts every summer with my brother and my cousins. Once we arrived, it wasn’t long before our faces were stuffed with greasy pizza and our eyes were wide from a sugar and caffeine overload. To accompany our binge of junk-food was an enormous stack of movies we rented from the video store down the street. No, we weren’t completely lazy; during the day we could be found skateboarding all over town or diving into the local swimming pool. Those were some of the most memorable days of my life, and even though I can’t ever relive those moments, Temple of Plenty acts as a time machine to those carefree summers.

However, Temple of Plenty is also about adapting to life’s harsher circumstances. In ‘Lifeline’ the band asks Could you watch your friends turn into your enemies, could you watch your home become a cold street? Other tracks such as ‘The Strangest Example’ examine our society and how people don’t really talk to each other anymore as the vocalist asks the question How many people do you look at? How many people do you really see? We could talk about anything, but we talk about the weather. It may be a harsh change of scenery from the nostalgic feel of the opening track, but the band does an excellent job of telling an emotional story through each individual song.

For such a young band, Somos sound more like seasoned veterans of the emo/punk genre as they deliver nine easily digestible tracks. Despite being rather accessible, the songs have more than enough substance to warrant return visits. Michael Fiorentino’s vocal performance is crisp and effective; sounding like a cross between Balance and Composure and The Hotelier, but with enough originality to stand out on its own. He’s accompanied by the dual guitar-work courtesy of Phil Haggerty and Justin Hahn who provide that extra kick to the band’s sound. The drumming is also downright fantastic, far exceeding most bands in the genre and adding depth to nearly every track. ‘Domestic’ is a prime example of Somos’ undeniable talent; starting off with Fiorention’s strong vocal performance and light guitar flourishes before Evan Deges kicks the drumming into full force, completely destroying it behind the kit. I could go on and on with various examples, but it really needs to be heard to be fully appreciated. There’s often so much going on instrumentally, although subtle, that you’ll still be discovering little touches you didn’t notice before even after a dozen listens.

When all is said and done, Temple of Plenty has everything I could ask for from a record in this particular genre. It has emotionally stimulating lyrics, the instrumentation is top-notch for its style, and there’s virtually no filler to be found. Not only is it one of the best debuts you’ll hear all year, it’s likely to be one of the most enjoyable releases altogether. Whether the band is reminding you of the days of your youth, or giving you a crutch to lean on during rough times, they don’t seem to miss a beat on their first effort. I’m not sure if they’ve learned a thing or two from their label-mates The Hotelier, or if the they’ve just been slaving away at this album night and day. Either way, they’re sure as hell doing something right on their effortlessly enjoyable debut, and it shouldn’t be missed.



Recent reviews by this author
The Residents EskimoTrvth Approaching
Agalloch The Serpent and the SphereThe Byrds Mr. Tambourine Man
Fireworks Oh, Common LifeA Slow Descent On Ganymede
user ratings (26)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 19th 2014


19798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://propertyofzack.com/post/79989795958/somos-stream-new-album-temple-of-plenty

Stream is still up for those who are interested. Very enjoyable album.

Also, hope this review doesn't come across as too sentimental but feedback welcome as always. Gonna do a metal review or something next time to change things up a bit

Digging: Yellowcard - Lift a Sail

andrianoc
April 19th 2014


104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad this finally got a review! Album rules, reminds me a lot of 'Listen & Forgive'

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
April 19th 2014


7026 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

awesome review, love the personal touch in the intro paragraph. album is pretty great, gonna give it a few listens before I re-rate (bandcamp told me it was three tracks lol). dead wrong is really catchy

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 19th 2014


19798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man glad u liked it. Yeah dead wrong is sweet but I don't dislike any of the tracks honestly it's a pretty consistent album

Calc
April 19th 2014


12215 Comments


the band's whose song i sent you was compared to this band..

hence why I sent it.

Digging: Milo - A Toothpaste Suburb

TheGreatQ
April 19th 2014


1421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad this got a review, it rules!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 19th 2014


19798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Indeed. Hopefully more people will check it out

manosg
April 20th 2014


6140 Comments


Great write up once again man. First paragraph in particular is a very good introduction to the review.

Digging: John Coltrane - Ballads

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 20th 2014


19798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks man! I appreciate u always taking the time to read my reviews it means a lot to me

CaptainDooRight
April 22nd 2014


29453 Comments


Great review bro and I appreciated that you tied that opener into your personal life. I actually could totally relate to it.

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

thelastsignal
April 22nd 2014


1370 Comments


Hey man, very nice review. Like others, I loved the intro paragraph just because it is so relatable. The whole thing is great, but it seems to me that it reads a bit higher than a 4; you don't really list any detractors about the album, but that's just me. As it stands, one of your best reviews. Nice job!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 22nd 2014


19798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the feedback guys, glad u could relate!

@mark, yeah I guess it does read higher than a 4 haha. Might edit it but I don't really have anything negative to say.

Thanntos
April 22nd 2014


320 Comments


Yo, this album is seriously good. Just got my vinyl and been spinning it all day...

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 24th 2014


19798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed thanntos. it's a shame so many people have overlooked it...

Thanntos
April 24th 2014


320 Comments


The guitar tones, the vocals, great lyrics. It all adds to one of the best emo/punk albums I've heard the last few years. (along with Have Mercy, TWIABP and Snowing)

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2014


19798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it's pretty great. bumped in hopes that SOMEONE else will check it out

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2014


16026 Comments


extremely pleasing shade of dark pinky red

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 25th 2014


19798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hi mena! don't think you'd dig this to be honest : /

xGoliath
May 9th 2014


7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of the best pop-punk albums I've heard this year. Felt like this album should have made the buzz that The Hotelier's album made. They have a lot more potential.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 9th 2014


19798 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah they're great. I like The Hotelier's new album more overall, but it's weird this band didn't get more attention considering they're on the same label and play a similar style of music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy