Triptykon
Melana Chasmata


4.5
superb

Review

by marbledking USER (17 Reviews)
April 14th, 2014 | 44 replies


Release Date: 04/14/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Black chasms with heavy riffs

Triptykon is the latest music "vehicle" of Tom Gabriel Fischer "Warrior". He doesn't need a big introduction, the swiss musician,pioneer of death metal who has given huge proof of his talent by producing legendary releases with his former bands, Hellhammer and Celtic Frost.

Triptykon is a quartet which follows the familiar paths of doom/death, that Fischer himself helped to pave and consists of: Thomas Gabriel Fischer Vocals, Guitars
V. Santura Guitars, Vocals
Vanja *lajh Bass
Norman Lonhard Drums, Percussion


"Melana chasmata" is their second release, following 2010's succesful debut, "Eparistera Daimones" and it comes as a natural sequence. As far as sound is concerned, we get the same haunting atmosphere and senses' excitement as the debut introduced. Musically, it remains on the doom/death genre, again with many prolonged doom songs ("Black snow", "Altar of deceit") , some faster moments ("Breathing") and the occasional mix with diversity and female vocals ("Boleskine house"). The doom elements are based on Sabbath and Trouble, while the more speedy aspects are reminiscent of Bolt Thrower and Sepultura. We also appraise some influences by Paradise Lost, Septic Flesh, but for sure, Thomas doesn't need much "homework" to deliver sth he is already so expertized with. The famous "ughs" are still here and his trademark growling vocals. Lyrically, his beloved thematology about religion, occultism, emotions, is present once again.

What differs a release from other thousands of similar attempts is the level of inspiration and musicianship and (if possible) the element of originality. Well, Thomas does pretty well for one more time, especially in the first 2 categories. His songs are majestically powerful, crashing riffs are setting the tone throughout the album. It grabs the listener from the neck and "obliges" him, first to listen, then to participate in this completed ceremony of doom and destruction. All instruments are well played and the production is more than satisfying for this kind of release. Another great artwork adds to an already accomplished album. As far as originality is concerned, we can't expect much in 2014, but still, Triptykon are not copying Celtic Frost for sure. It's no secret actually, that Fischer has always been a man of changes and progression.

What separates this from a full 5/5, is the unneeded (imo) extra length in some of the songs. If some compositions were a bit shorter, it would add to an even more solid result. Still, this is one of the greatest releases for 2014 so far. The experience that it provides to listeners who are not acquainted with Fischer's works is again musically challenging. Must have for doom/death fans and heavy metal collectors in general.



Recent reviews by this author
Sabaton HeroesBathory Blood on Ice
Bolt Thrower MercenaryKamelot The Black Halo
Manowar Sign of the HammerDomine Dragonlord
user ratings (229)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
kvltwalter (4.5)
Another pummeling reminder that "Only Death is Real"...

Greg Fisher STAFF (4.1)
A crushing doom metal record that relies as much on earth-shattering guitar tunings as on a shrewd i...

related reviews

Eparistera Daimones

Comments:Add a Comment 
menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


16124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"we get the same haunting atmosphere and senses' excitement as the debut introduced"

did you mean sense of excitement ?

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


1922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just wondering, is English your first language? Because grammatically the review reads awkwardly and that introduction seems a little "scattered" (perhaps one paragraph for an intoduction is enough). Aside from that, decent review, and I really need to listen to this album.

Digging: Execration (NOR) - Morbid Dimensions

EvoHavok
April 14th 2014


1497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Don't use 'sth' and 'imo' in a review. Review is ok, but feels rushed.

Digging: DIR EN GREY - Arche

Tyrael
April 14th 2014


20972 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

rules

emester
April 14th 2014


4372 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Reviews a bit weak grammatically. Decent review for a fantastic album

Digging: Skelator - King of Fear

ShadowRemains
April 14th 2014


21573 Comments


still need this

tgw ftw

Diamondize
April 14th 2014


1367 Comments


Album is too good.

FearTomorrow
April 14th 2014


1828 Comments


need this [2]

stoked beyond life

Inveigh
April 14th 2014


25184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

rules hard. it riffs right away, but the atmosphere grew on me. still don't like it quite as much as Eparistera Daimones, but it's really good.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2014


7463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

This absolutely slays!

guitarded_chuck
April 15th 2014


3306 Comments


eed to hear tihjs

Emyay
April 15th 2014


6010 Comments


i liked the first one a decent amount. gonna check this fa sho

Wizard
April 16th 2014


19641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Gabriel falling into his comfort zone tbqh. Go check out some of his earlier albums peeps.

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2014


6337 Comments


I've been jamming the debut Triptykon album recently, and I could say the same out it too Wizard.

Digging: Madred - Supersonic Brainfuck Overdrive

Emyay
April 16th 2014


6010 Comments


damn thats a shame to hear. i really like monotheism (or whatever its called) don't know much celtic frost though

emester
April 16th 2014


4372 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

*Monotheist

Just to clarify ;)

Emyay
April 16th 2014


6010 Comments


yeah damn i should have known that.

i just really love this dude's guitar tone

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
April 17th 2014


1922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It is an excellent album, though I prefer the band's debut album by a margin. There are some added touches to this album, like the female vocals which although existed on the band's debut, are more prevalent and prominent on this album. The band's general sound hasn't changed much but it's still brilliantly depressing and miserable, as all good music which includes Thomas Gabriel Fischer usually is. "Breathing" is the definite highlight for me.

Hovse
April 17th 2014


957 Comments


debut is def better yea

GuanoBumbershoot
April 18th 2014


1463 Comments


pretty sure Greg Simkins does their album art



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy