The Hotelier
Home, Like NoPlace Is There


4.6
superb

Review

by Adam Thomas EMERITUS
April 12th, 2014 | 1380 replies


Release Date: 02/25/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Grief

In a lot of ways, The Hotelier's Home, Like NoPlace Is There hits the same resonant experiences in my life that made me gravitate to Superchunk's I Hate Music last year. For me personally, many of those notes still ring loudly; a friend committing suicide, another two being murdered, and one finally succumbing to a decade long fight with cancer. These are the kind of events that shake you in your mid-20's. For 26 years I thought I was invincible, but that was an illusion. It's a rather shattering realization. The only other experience I had with death was burying my grandfather a few years prior and it's not the same kind of loss. It stung in a different way. He lived a full life and died with his loved ones at his side. That's a lot different than having your body eat you alive in your 30's or to be found decomposing in an irrigation ditch at 19.

It's that kind of grieving that is at the heart of Home, Like NoPlace Is There. The record is a haunting recollection of a suicide and the rebuilding process that is birthed out of working through that loss. It's months and sometimes years of second guessing your entire relationship with a person, looking for clues, and being paralyzed by the weight of all that circumstance. That being said, what has drawn me to the album – and so much so that it has been on near constant repeat for the last few months – is that it's not the kind of record that wallows in that sadness. It is all about being strong. It reaches out and tries to help make sense of it all. It's a comforting empathy. The stories are intensely personal but are so easily transferable beyond their original inspiration. It's Death of the Author theory on a musical scale. Home, Like NoPlace Is There begs to be adapted to its listener's own fears and struggles, regardless of if it's grief, isolation, identity or even something a bit more abstract. It's a helping hand when you need it most – and that's the strongest compliment I could ever possibly give a record.



Recent reviews by this author
Sleater-Kinney No Cities to LoveAt the Gates At War with Reality
Weezer Everything Will Be Alright in the EndYOB Clearing The Path To Ascend
United Nations The Next Four YearsMatter Teraphim
user ratings (1027)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Faraudo
April 11th 2014


1277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review; straight to the point, personal, and brief. That's how I like my reviews, well done man.

Digging: Young the Giant - Home Of The Strange

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2014


35548 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck yeah nice job

Digging: Frank Ocean - Blonde

KILL
April 11th 2014


77852 Comments


gay

Gyromania
April 11th 2014


20801 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

first paragraph is really heavy stuff. review is excellent and deeply revealing

TooLateToGoBack
April 11th 2014


1942 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

one of my favorite reviews on the site.



that was beautiful, dude.

Athom
Emeritus
April 11th 2014


17241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

i've been sitting on posting this for a week. didn't know if it was too heavy, but figured that's why everyone likes the record so why not.

Jade
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2014


10665 Comments


Nice work man

Kris.
April 11th 2014


13055 Comments


wrong rating, neg

Rhyme
April 11th 2014


1404 Comments


nice review dude

i've been sleeping on this album for too long

ProjectFreak
April 11th 2014


1770 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well said.

joshieboy12345
April 11th 2014


5389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool review

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2014


53421 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

nice

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 12th 2014


21836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I dig this review and I agree that the album can helpful during hard times. great job

Digging: Imperium Dekadenz - Dis Manibvs

Athom
Emeritus
April 12th 2014


17241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6 | Sound Off

TREB GET YR ASS TO THE VU!

ABjordanMM
April 12th 2014


1576 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

sweet review. sweet album.

dimsim3478
April 12th 2014


7185 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

!

Digging: Hospital - Knifeland

SnakeDelilah
April 12th 2014


16100 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

about fucking time

Digging: Direct Hit! - Wasted Mind

Lucid
April 12th 2014


7317 Comments


hope never dies

Lucid
April 12th 2014


7317 Comments


it's definitely the kind of record that can save someone

menawati
April 12th 2014


16408 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

great review, one of those records i just can't see why is so loved but, hey, seems to mean a lot to many people so thats cool



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy