Chuck Ragan
Till Midnight


4.0
excellent

Review

by Josh Fountain CONTRIBUTOR (64 Reviews)
April 2nd, 2014 | 18 replies


Release Date: 03/25/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: While his previous albums were more of a drinking alone sort, Till Midnight is a grand old time with friends at your favorite dive bar.

Chuck Ragan’s solo work has always been cathartic. His compositions have always been pretty bare-bones, letting his vocals and lyrics soar above all. This has worked for quite a while, but it seems, like his contemporary Frank Turner, that Chuck has decided he wants a fuller sound. Frank finally embraced the idea of evolving his sound to that of an actual band with England Keep My Bones, and Chuck has done the same on Till Midnight. Ragan has transformed his own sound from that of a folk artist with country flourishes to that of a bar band, albeit a fantastic one. This change has revitalized Ragan, who sounds like he is really having fun on Till Midnight. Previous albums have been marked by pain and regret, but here there is more of an air of camaraderie (incidentally the name of his backing band), almost as if he has decided to enjoy the now. Listening to Till Midnight feels like walking into your favorite dive with your friends and sharing some whiskey and laughs.

Till Midnight is a warm and inviting summer album, Chuck telling stories and the guys behind him playing jaunty tunes. He has always had an authentic and genuine aura, except for the first time in a decade it is put forth in an exciting way, as opposed to the introspection that he put forth in the years of Hot Water Music’s inactivity. This is also the first solo album released since Hot Water Music’s Exister, which had a positive reception and was accompanied by an extremely successful tour, so that might be the reason for this new Chuck Ragan. It isn’t too often that joy and contentment is translated so successfully into one’s sound, so in that regard Till Midnight might be the biggest success of Chuck’s decade long solo career. Grab a couple friends, a bottle of whiskey, and let the cares wash away to Till Midnight’s celebration of life.



Recent reviews by this author
Beach Slang Cheap Thrills On A Dead End StreetLinkin Park The Hunting Party
Powerman 5000 Builders of the FutureLord Mantis Death Mask
Perfect Pussy Say Yes to LoveTwin Forks Twin Forks
user ratings (25)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
April 2nd 2014


8021 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is so much fun

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 2nd 2014


20158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Been meaning to check this out. Good review

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2014


17231 Comments


I think I'm over the whole Chuck Ragan thing. I found this so boring. Listening to it was like a chore.

wabbit
April 2nd 2014


7035 Comments


god Adam just fucking hates everything now

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2014


17231 Comments


your point being?

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
April 2nd 2014


8021 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Adam's been like this for almost three years now

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2014


17231 Comments


miles itt
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5FEW5mh7iAI

wabbit
April 2nd 2014


7035 Comments


HEY THAT WAS AN INSULT

Wolfhorde
April 3rd 2014


13688 Comments


Woah, Josh listens to country. Did not expect that.

Digging: Vi Som Alskade Varandra Sa Mycket - Den sorgligaste musiken i varlden

Gyromania
April 3rd 2014


16089 Comments


going to have to agree with mr. thomas. i thought this was quite boring

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 3rd 2014


20158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

opening track is so catchy

Italianjesusfootball
April 3rd 2014


277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

love it

aok
April 4th 2014


4461 Comments


wow, curse. is a contrib now? god that guy's the worst

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
April 4th 2014


8021 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed

Pulyx
April 4th 2014


19 Comments


This is better than his past stuff.
Arrow pointing up. Great news for us.
Such an awesome voice shouldn't go unused.

RoyalImperialGuard
April 4th 2014


1412 Comments


Not my typical cup of tea but im riffing this pretty good.

ShadowRemains
September 15th 2014


21641 Comments


on a serious hot water music binge right now so i should probably listen to this

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 3rd 2014


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I think I'm over the whole Chuck Ragan thing. I found this so boring. Listening to it was like a chore. "

damn same. I hate when AThom shares my exact opinion it makes me feel like a grumpy old shit.

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy