Massacre
Back from Beyond


2.3
average

Review

by hyperi0n STAFF
March 28th, 2014 | 49 replies | 5,070 views


Release Date: 03/24/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Should have stayed in the grave.

If we're really being honest here it’s not that hard to admit that Massacre were never actually that good. From Beyond has gained a lot of infamy over time, but, compared to what else was coming out in 1991, it just doesn’t really compare, especially in a more than 20 year retrospect. The songs consisted of nothing more than generic power chord thrash riffs Exodus played better in 1985, the drumming rarely went beyond some double bass patterns, skank beats, and a few tom fills, and Kam Lee’s supposedly legendary vocals kind of sounded like everyone else did at the time. It was by no means a bad album; it just wasn’t the classic record it’s hyped up to be. As far as no frills, brain-dead death metal went bands like Cancer and Obituary had far more to offer than Massacre ever did. We won’t even mention 1996’s Promise because the mid-90’s were a dark time for basically everybody, and they probably already feel bad enough about that one.

Now in 2014, on the tail end of this new wave of old school death metal craze that’s been raging since sometime around 2009, Massacre apparently have decided the time is ripe for a comeback album. So what exactly does a Massacre album sound like in 2014? Well, it kind of sounds just like a Massacre album did in 1991 just newer, and more boring. The only thing that’s strikingly different this time around is that Kam Lee isn’t doing vocals, but it also doesn’t really make that much of a difference since you can’t really tell. The aptly titled Back From Beyond treads on the exact same ground From Beyond did more than 20 years ago, and while it’s not really bad, it suffers from the fact that it wouldn’t have really been that good in 1990 and it’s now 2014.

Back From Beyond could have very well been the same riff for 45 minutes and nobody would have noticed. By the time you get to track five everything sounds so homogeneous it almost becomes background noise. The production is kind of flat and modern, and of course it’s brickwalled to all hell. The vocals sound like a mix of every single death metal vocalist whose names you never knew in all those death metal bands you only listened to one time and then forgot about. Even the riffs just sort of arbitrarily switch between mid tempo chugging and some tremolo riffing with no real energy or purpose. There’s nothing inherently bad about any part of Back From Beyond, but there’s also nothing really good about it either. The nail in the coffin is the fact that the album is a terrifyingly massive 14 tracks long, which is far too many for even a good death metal album to try and pull off.

If you’re a huge Massacre fan, and can get over the fact that Kam Lee is off doing vox for bands that aren’t good either, Back From Beyond might be worth your time if you’re really bored one night and ran out of sleeping pills or weed. Otherwise, it ends up being nothing more than a tedious exercise in extreme patience. Lacking just about any and all elements that make you want to come back to a death metal album and listen to it again, Massacre’s Back From Beyond offers nothing that you haven’t already heard before. And I promise you, you’ve most certainly already heard it before.



Recent reviews by this author
M. Geddes Gengras IshiLone Reality Testing
Plaid Reachy PrintsDead Congregation Promulgation of the Fall
Squarepusher Music For RobotsMorbus Chron Sweven
user ratings (24)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2014



17999 Comments


here's a track from the album if you really want to hear it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUyF3AuLQOM

enjoy

Digging: Autechre - Draft 7.30

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2014



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

second word

we're*

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2014



8317 Comments


We're is missing the apostrophe in the first sentence, but otherwise I really like how bluntly it starts things off!

EDIT: damn you Crysis!

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2014



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

We won’t even mention 1996’s Promise because the mid-90’s were a dark time for basically everybody, and they probably already feel bad enough about that one.


http://i.imgur.com/1gOMM.jpg

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2014



17999 Comments


damn, that first sentence was the last thing i changed, thanks guys

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2014



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is a really cool review though, nice job. One more thing:

new wave of old school death metal


I'm pretty sure there should be some hyphens in here

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2014



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

oh and coding error in last paragraph

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2014



17999 Comments


wikipedia says NWOBHM has no hyphens so im just gonna go by that haha

plus the way its situated in the sentence basically makes "new wave" acts as a part of the sentence as a whole and not just as a part of that genre descriptor thing so i think its fine the way it is

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2014



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

wikipedia says NWOBHM has no hyphens so im just gonna go by that haha


good enough for me

R6Rider
March 27th 2014



4456 Comments


2.3? Ouch.

Was expecting this to be at least a 3.5

Digging: Rort - Warpath

climactic
March 27th 2014



18288 Comments


i dig from beyond pretty hard but this probably isnt very good

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2014



17999 Comments


i mean from beyond is kind of good its just nothing really that special. honestly the production makes that album 5000 times more listenable than it should be

this is just beyond boring

climactic
March 27th 2014



18288 Comments


the production is really good. the vox always sounded super evil although i realize the proudction played a huge part in that (double tracking and such)..was never one of my top osdm albums, but still a v solid album. ill probably check this out eventually

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2014



16242 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Production is quite good but 14 tracks of this? Fuck that.

Relinquished
March 27th 2014



24375 Comments


14 tracks

http://i.imgur.com/RAnsUQT.jpg

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 27th 2014



17999 Comments


still funny

wonder how many time you can post it and ill still laugh

lets keep it going and see

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2014



5895 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

Album isn't half bad, while it feels adequate to get the band on tour. I'm jamming it back-to-back with Grave's Endless Procession of Souls, some Asphyx albums and Benediction's Transcend The Rubicon, it's a cool crossover.

That being said, I agree about the over-abundance of tracks and the formulaic structure of the songs, but overall this is easily a 3+.

Digging: Electric Citizen - Sateen

Wizard
March 28th 2014



19206 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I like The Beyond and that's about it. Totally agree with the review.

What I like about your review vs. all the others that will probably come out is that they will most likely commend it for being old school and slap a 4/5 on it.

Digging: Merzbow - Dust of Dreams

emester
March 28th 2014



1967 Comments


its good but theres just so much more better OSDM out there...

Digging: Overkill - White Devil Armory

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2014



17999 Comments


i was gonna just give this a straight up 2.5 because it's just painfully average, but the fact that its 2014 i thought it deserved a little less

yeah this isnt bad, its just not good, and so boring.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy