Moonlit Sailor
We Come from Exploding Stars


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dan H. CONTRIBUTOR (47 Reviews)
March 20th, 2014 | 24 replies | 5,643 views


Release Date: 02/25/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: There's great beauty in explosions

Regardless of the motive behind Deep Elm’s recent name your own price bonanza, it provided a welcome nudge to finally delve into the plethora of undiscovered but deserving acts that populate their dense catalogue. Looking beyond already venerated acts like The Appleseed Cast and Lights & Motion, the temptation to devour the discographies of alternative and post rock unknowns at little cost is simply too great an opportunity to ignore. Burrowing no deeper than the front page however, instant gratification can be found in the form of Deep Elm’s most recent release -- We Come From Exploding Stars by Swedish four piece Moonlit Sailor. Now four albums into their career and having long since dropped the pretence of being an indie band, they've released their most consistently uplifting and satisfying album to date.

Evidently feeling more comfortable than ever in their purely post rock skin, We Come From Exploding Stars sees Moonlit Sailor confidently deliver a thick slab of twinkling build ups and lush climaxes, with particular emphasis on striking a delicate balance between the two. The climaxes on offer never outstay their welcome, nor do they take too long to arrive, and once they have enjoyed their stay they softly and seamlessly recede to rejoin the gorgeous equilibrium which is struck throughout, highlighting many brilliant and accessible choruses along the way.

The pensive, graceful build up on opener “Minutes From Somewhere Else” gives way to rapid, intricate arpeggios and hi hat work, before eventually allowing the warm guitars to explode and take centre stage. This formula is repeated twice throughout the song; and the strong, recognisable chorus instantly forges familiarity with the listener, hinting that rather than deserting their indie sensibilities entirely, they've instead channelled them within a purely instrumental setting. Elsewhere, the buoyant reverb which dominates on “Skydiver” typifies Moonlit Sailor’s ability to build the convivial atmospheres which made their early work such a joy – and it’s a soundscape which reigns throughout. This joviality is evident in the bassline on “Paris;” which grabs onto the coattails of the lead guitar as it reaches for the sky, and in the playful, bright guitar work on both “From Gemini To Lynx” and “Sworn To Secrecy.” Most notably of all this beauty is evident on highlight “Dollar Underwater.” It builds rapidly with a surprising sense of urgency, plateauing and retreating only when the soaring lead guitar has taken the foreground and extended its reach as far as it can go.

Moonlit Sailor focus their sound more on the gorgeous and the lush than the powerful or stirring, and they achieve it through warm reverberation, their tendency to toy with major arpeggios, and their ability to plant huge choruses in amongst the swirling positivity. So dive right in to what Deep Elm has to offer – merely scratching the surface has never been more rewarding.



Recent reviews by this author
Rise Against The Black MarketBrontide Artery
Caspian Hymn For The Greatest GenerationJohn Frusciante Enclosure
Cloud Nothings Here and Nowhere ElseReal Estate Atlas
user ratings (28)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014



844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Up there with my favourite releases of 2014.

Think Scale The Summit if they weren't metal.

Calc
March 20th 2014



11938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this reminded me of solterra hard

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2014



844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will have to check them out, been recd them before.

minty901
March 20th 2014



1962 Comments


i liked this but some of the production didnt sound as crystal clear as their previous albums

zakalwe
March 21st 2014



6419 Comments


Woah that cover is like dark souls set on Canvey Island.

Acanthus
March 21st 2014



9535 Comments


This is pretty good, will have to listen to it a bit more after work.

Digging: Die Sektor - Applied Structure In A Void

skoopy48
March 21st 2014



1433 Comments


Their 2nd and 3rd albums were great, I'll give this a listen.

JS19
March 21st 2014



4154 Comments


Aw man i did not need this 'name your price on my favorite genre' craziness right now I have so much work!

Not quite getting the hype over this yet

Digging: Sadistik - Ultraviolet

Gyromania
March 21st 2014



15164 Comments


review is really wordy

i was going to check this out regardless just because that album cover is so cool. currently listening via youtube and loving it so far. the first song is very pretty

Emyay
March 21st 2014



5741 Comments


you had me at scale the summit. i've never heard of these guys, will check

Gyromania
March 21st 2014



15164 Comments


this is pretty enjoyable so far, but i feel like it runs into a lot of the same problems as most post-rock - those being, primarily, that it starts to all sound a little homogeneous after a while, and it becomes difficult to distinguish one track from another. the builds are regularly great though and there are some truly beautiful, dreamy passages throughout

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
March 21st 2014



15696 Comments


thats what i thought when i gave it a listen, got about halfway through, seemed pretty good but didnt feel like i'd listen again.

nice review dan got me listening anyway

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

Gyromania
March 21st 2014



15164 Comments


just about finished now. i think i'm feeling the same way regarding another listen. the first track remains my favourite, and i'll probably take that and 1 or 2 others away from the experience, but as a whole i'll probably never revisit it.

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
March 21st 2014



844 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers Mena.

I can see what you're saying Gyro, but only really for the first half of the album. The second half really avoids the stereotypical problems, for me at least.

Underflow
March 21st 2014



2522 Comments


Sounds like a neat album, nice review! I'll give this a spin later.

Gyromania
March 21st 2014



15164 Comments


i found it was the complete opposite for me lol. maybe it's because by the time i reached the latter half i was just too tired from listening to the same ideas over and over, but songs in the former half stuck out a lot more to me

paradox1216
March 21st 2014



429 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listened to this, didn't stick out all that much but it was a thoroughly enjoyable listen, especially given the asking price of free

Digging: Braid - No Coast

RoyalImperialGuard
March 21st 2014



1090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

y.My favorite post rock band today. excellent review.

Digging: Johnny Cash - Blood, Sweat and Tears

BloodandRainbows
March 22nd 2014



221 Comments


Enjoyed this, didn't love it. Needs some darkness for contrast.

Good review!

LordePots
March 23rd 2014



6518 Comments


this kind of sounds like the worst thing ever

Digging: B-Ju - Merianplatz



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy