Conan
Blood Eagle


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Davis CONTRIBUTOR (152 Reviews)
March 15th, 2014 | 26 replies


Release Date: 03/03/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Heavy caveman metal.

They are referred to by the media as “currently one of the heaviest bands in the world”, and this may or may not be because of the way in which Jon Davis, guitarist and vocalist for Liverpudlian doom metal act Conan, proudly proclaims the band to play “Heavy caveman metal”. That said, one listen to either of the band's two albums, more importantly the latest release entitled Blood Eagle, and you'll safely be confirming the band's well renowned penchant for heavy riffs and fuzzy atmosphere.

Blood Eagle, the band's second album, isn't too different from its predecessor, but it definitely marks Conan as one of the more relevant British doom metal acts formed in the last decade or so. Heaviness encompasses every one of the album's six songs, and though the sometimes mundane repetition of tracks such as opener “Crown of Talons” brings the overall quality down a bit, the instrumental performance is both powerful and overbearing to the listener. There isn't much in the way of lyrical content here but when there is, you can feel the band's passion for fantasy-related imagery and Norse mythology breaking through the music itself. The vocals are, for the most part, well-layered and mesmerizing, though thankfully don't last for any longer than a minute or so, leaving room for excessively haunting instrumental performances on songs such as the visceral “Foehammer” and its brooding successor “Gravity chasm”.

What really stands out is how the vocals intertwine with the general flow of the instrumentation, although there isn't as much diversity as some would have expected going into this album. Each song has at least a minute's worth of instrumentation before the vocals join in, and by the time the vocals arrive you should be taken in by the overall hypnotic atmosphere pushed to the forefront of the recording. Although on its own the vocal style isn't anything particularly noteworthy, it is with the crushing rhythm section where Conan work their magic. This is also where reading along to the lyrics comes in handy, as one can swiftly grasp a sense of the sort of imagery Conan have been trying to portray. Two of the three members in Conan take it upon themselves to harmonize with each other on songs such as “Total conquest” and “Horns for Teeth”, and when you can hear the soaring albeit monstrous chants of “An age of never. A time of loss. A thriving nothing. Dead at all costs.”, it's almost as if the listener is made to sing (or shout, depending on the mood) along. The rhythm section itself is also nothing particularly diverse or complex, but you can feel the power of the drum rhythms in "Foehammer" and "Gravity Chasm" breaking through, making that instrument one of the highlights of Conan's overall sound.

There isn't anything else to say about Conan's brand of so-called “Heavy caveman metal”, but it certainly will satisfy those who want nothing but the most crushing and pulverising of doom metal. Sure, other bands are a lot more diverse and original, but if you can ignore the excessive repetition and take in the heaviness fully, you can safely enjoy what Blood Eagle has to offer.



Recent reviews by this author
Enuff Z'Nuff Enuff Z'Nuff1349 Massive Cauldron Of Chaos
White Empress Rise of the EmpressElectric Light Orchestra On the Third Day
Nunslaughter Angelic DreadBlues Pills Blues Pills
user ratings (47)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
March 15th 2014


1896 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album stream for those who missed the news article:

http://www.terrorizer.com/news/streams/stream-conans-blood-eagle-full-exclusively-terrorizer/

Sorry for the shorter review than usual, but this is genuinely all I had to say about the album in as few words as possible.

CaptainDooRight
March 15th 2014


29891 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

These guys manage to write good music but I really wish they'd take their music to the next level. I feel like they keep writing the same album over and over besides the slight differences.

Digging: Impetuous Ritual - Unholy Congregation of Hypocritical Ambivalence

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
March 15th 2014


1896 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They've only released two albums, though I thought their musical ouput would have been more consistent that that given Conan have been together for eight years. This album for me is very decent for what it is.

CaptainDooRight
March 15th 2014


29891 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I consider their ep's albums too. But that's the point. They've change little over such a large time frame. Now I'm with you, I enjoy this too. I like what they do but it's reasons like this why my attention is lost, sometimes.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
March 15th 2014


1896 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah can't blame you man, hopefully their next album will be something special-and released sooner rather than later.

MotokoKusanagi
March 15th 2014


505 Comments


damn this riffs nicely. just finished a hot shower, this is hitting the spot

Digging: Mogwai - Young Team

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2014


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, Robert. The album's quite enjoyable.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

rockandmetaljunkie
March 16th 2014


3428 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fucking amazing band and

an amazing fucking record

zaruyache
March 17th 2014


6865 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is heavy and crunchy as butts. I dig it.

Digging: Ardour Loom - Demo

Acanthus
March 22nd 2014


9543 Comments


Not as brutal as Korgoth of Barbaria: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ep65rr-9qjQ&list=RDyoxMiZxN-F0

Really nice review, seems like the groups bravado fits their name quite well.

Digging: The Knife - Deep Cuts

Greyvy
March 22nd 2014


4719 Comments


summary has me interested

Kris.
March 22nd 2014


12345 Comments


Not as brutal as Korgoth of Barbaria


ugh fuck adult swim for not picking that up

this sounds interesting tho, will check out

Greyvy
March 22nd 2014


4719 Comments


Conan is a doom metal band from Liverpool, England. They stylize their sound as 'CAVEMAN BATTLE DOOM '.

SharkTooth
March 23rd 2014


5093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is some good shit

Digging: Fuzz - Fuzz

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2014


8896 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i like this a lot

Rev
March 23rd 2014


9436 Comments


Horseback Battle Hammer was my jam a while back, will be sure to check this out

Underflow
March 23rd 2014


2579 Comments


Was sold by the summary.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

WatchItExplode
March 24th 2014


3272 Comments


Not a Greg review.....hmmmm

Digging: Giant Squid - Minoans

Itwasthatwas
March 24th 2014


770 Comments


Is this for sober cavemen or drunk cavemen. This is particularly pressing concern for me.

Greyvy
March 24th 2014


4719 Comments


this was ok... nothing memorable about it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy