Creepoid
Creepoid


4.0
excellent

Review

by Andrew Gold CONTRIBUTOR (66 Reviews)
March 9th, 2014 | 18 replies | 3,596 views


Release Date: 03/04/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Spanning from lulling alternative ballads to noisy folk rock with shoegaze overtones, Creepoid's sophomore release does not disappoint.

An apt way to describe the sound on Philadelphia-based quartet’s self-titled sophomore release, Creepoid, is a noisy, hybrid basement jam session of Deerhunter, Nirvana, and Interpol, with a drunken Thom Yorke at the mic. As bizarre as that may sound, these extraneous influences are not at the forefront. Creepoid take a more gentle approach, soothing you with lush atmospheres and crooning atop wistful acoustic guitar chords and shoegaze overtones. It’s this omnipresent mood that makes Creepoid so appealing. None of the songs are outright catchy, nor are they purely noise. Rather, they drift within the ambiguous scope of lulling alternative ballads and noisy folk rock. The Interpol-esque “Gout” is the closest thing here to a straight-up rocker, mainly due to Patrick Troxell’s energetic drumming, but even then the serene background ambience eases your mind into a calming, tranquil state. “Tired Eyes” is the only time the album fully enters noise territory, with a wonderful acoustic build-up fit with trumpet and vocal harmonies, transforming itself halfway through into a loud, abrasive, yet wholly somber song before the noise fades out until the song’s final seconds.

Curiously, the subtleties of Creepoid are what stand out the most: the tender female vocals of “Vulgar,” the soft reverb of the guitars, the perfectly placed acoustic slow-burner “Stay Inside” as the album’s centerpiece. The music can be illustrated as an enigmatic breeze that flows through your soul, numbing everything in its path with an entrancing aura of radiant fuzz, while the contrast between the male and female harmonies soaring above lulls you into a dreamy state of euphoria. Pretentious metaphors aside, Creepoid is melodic but never cheesy; quiet but never boring. The only faults would be that the longer tracks tend to drag, and an overall lack of experimentation; but at the risk of sacrificing their authenticity, Creepoid chose the more conservative approach likely to their benefit. It’s appropriate that the band formed during a snowstorm. Call it coincidence, call it fate, but Creepoid are a pristine example of four cohesive, unified minds creating art.

Recommended Tracks:
Nadua
Sunday
Stay Inside
Tired Eyes
Vulgar



Recent reviews by this author
Within the Ruins PhenomenaSonic Syndicate Sonic Syndicate
Origin OmnipresentMuse Dead Star/In Your World
Justin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2Black Tongue Born Hanged
user ratings (13)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2014



20620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

streaming at their bandcamp: http://creepoid.bandcamp.com/releases

wonder how many adjectives i used in this review

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

Tyrael
March 9th 2014



20724 Comments


You had me at 'shoegaze'

will check

Asdfp277
March 9th 2014



929 Comments


sweet review you fucktard.

altought i personally don't mind, using so many musicians to describe this band might scare off some people tho .-. will check if i find the time, thanks for review

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2014



20620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fucktard huh. do i know you? and thanks i guess..

youd probably dig this ty

CK
March 10th 2014



4873 Comments


I hear some fairly strong Radiohead influence too

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2014



20620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yup. i wouldnt be surprised if they got their name from creep and paranoid android

clander270
March 10th 2014



128 Comments


Loved their first album, will definitely check this out.

ashcrash9
March 10th 2014



382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solid stuff.

ShitsofRain
March 10th 2014



5516 Comments


nice summary

Digging: Ben Sims - Fabric 73

Apollo
March 10th 2014



10263 Comments


Checking now. Definitely hearing the Radiohead as well but I'm liking what I'm hearing.

OedipalMass
March 10th 2014



7 Comments


Solid review; brief, clear and well written. Album is enjoyable, if a little derivative.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2014



20620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^basically how i feel about it. the lack of originality doesnt even phase me, as long as it sounds good

FadedSun
March 11th 2014



1243 Comments


Also had me at "shoegaze". Checking NOW.

Some pretty strong Smashing Pumpkins vibes from the first track.

MyLittlePenis
March 11th 2014



706 Comments


this isnt really anything special or interesting at all, feels pretty standard... thought id like it from your review

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2014



20620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it doesnt push any boundaries true but i love the vibe and mix of influences, and how it comes across so natural

different strokes i guess

ellexim
March 11th 2014



22 Comments


I was intrigued with the review summary, and hooked by mid-first paragraph. Descriptive and not too long-winded, great review!

NevermindAlex
March 11th 2014



8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review! I found the whole Deerhunter-Nirvana-Interpol/Thom Yorke reference thirty seconds into the album. Not too bad though for their first release~

Digging: Anubis Gate - Horizons

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2014



20620 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

appreciate it guys. glad youre enjoying it

alex, they released another album before this actually. havent heard the whole thing yet but i dont think it's much different from this stylistically



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy