A Slow Descent
On Ganymede


3.5
great

Review

by Aaron Arneson CONTRIBUTOR (108 Reviews)
March 8th, 2014 | 41 replies | 4,393 views


Release Date: 02/14/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Welcome to Ganymede, you may never find your way back home.

I’ll never forget the emotions that raced through my body as I was glued to my seat watching Gravity for the first time. During the first half of the film I could feel my legs tense up as my back grew tighter, and beads of sweat trickled down my forehead. Eventually, the movie gave me a chance to take a breather, but it remained enthralling from start to finish. Well, listening to the suffocating ambience creating by A Slow Descent is a rather similar experience. This isn’t one of those albums you throw in before bedtime to help you fall asleep --it often challenges the listener to go to unexplored depths of their subconscious using undeniably eerie soundscapes. Yes, in the end it is ultimately rewarding, but to call the album accessible would be misleading. It’s an intense, roller-coaster ride through outer-space that finds the listener crash landing on the largest moon in the solar system, Ganymede.

More than twice the size of the Earth’s moon, Ganymede is Jupiter’s largest satellite and its surface is comprised almost entirely of rocks and ice as well as dark, desolate craters. On A Slow Descent’s debut LP, the listener is placed directly into this unknown atmosphere packed with frantic, uneasy sounds that mimic space quite well. The opening track sounds like something right out of a Sci-Fi movie with its fuzzy radio signals and I swear ‘A Crash Landing’ would be right at home in a retro space video game, perhaps on the Sega Genesis. While the only vocals on the album seem to be distress calls, the spastic instrumentation and frenzied beats help create haunting soundscapes as the listener embarks across the massive, cold surface of the moon, searching for any signs of life.

The only real downside to On Ganymede is the rough production as well as how exhausting the album can be to listen to. However, given the album’s theme, the weaker production doesn’t really hinder the listening experience all that much. In fact, it seems to add that extra bit of intensity to the journey. Still, those who are a stickler for clean production might have trouble making it through this uneasy, but alluring album. Those who do, however, will be rewarded for their patience. The album ends with the unexpectedly beautiful ‘Float Back Home.’ It’s the only track that can actually be labeled as relaxing, and it’s a welcome surprise considering the seven restless tracks that precede it. Rather than utilizing intimidating sound effects, the track contains gentle bells and even acoustic guitars to accompany the listener’s escape from the isolated moon.

If you gaze carefully at the album cover, you’ll notice the frigid, mysterious moon has ominous, nearly invisible arms wrapping their way around a spaceship. I didn’t even notice it at first, but this imagery represents the music at hand perfectly. The listener is unexpectedly sucked into Ganymede’s atmosphere, and it’s often as demanding as it is mysterious. One thing’s for sure, it’s one hell of a ride.



Recent reviews by this author
Trvth ApproachingAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
The Byrds Mr. Tambourine ManSomos Temple of Plenty
Fireworks Oh, Common LifeThe Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is There
user ratings (29)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Mark A. (4)
Spacey, ethereal keys and abrupt static help to give this release a paranoid and delightfully off-ki...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2014



19451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty cool album made by user Judio!

check it out:

http://aslowdescent.bandcamp.com/album/on-ganymede

Digging: The Who - Tommy

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2014



9098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review man! It kinda reads higher cause of the praise you give it but still a great read.

I tried this once and couldn't get into it :/

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2014



19451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Mongli. I'd give it a 3.7, but I don't have that ability lol :/

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2014



4796 Comments


Atari thank you so much for writing this, I can't put into words how delighted I am! Amazing review, man, and I'm glad you liked this! Definitely going to have to watch Gravity now haha.

Digging: Integrity - Those Who Fear Tomorrow

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2014



9098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Judio gravity is a masterpiece definitely do it. And I can tell you certainly had a vision when you made this and of course you have talent just not really my thing

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
March 8th 2014



4796 Comments


I appreciate the compliment, man, that really means a lot. And his kind of thing isn't for everyone so don't worry about it, thanks for giving it a shot though :]

And I will check out Gravity tonight. With everything I've heard about the movie, it sounds right up my alley.

laughingman22
March 8th 2014



1354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like how every vote for this is either a 3.5 or a 4 super solid album

Digging: Funkadelic - One Nation Under a Groove

RogueNine
March 8th 2014



1146 Comments


I thought you were messing with us about the arms on the cover but I tilted my laptop screen and there they were.

laughingman22
March 8th 2014



1354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

https://scontent-a-dfw.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn2/t1/1507005_581956231896406_16421700_n.jpg

yeah when I did the cover I wanted the arms to be invisible at first glance

Ryus
March 8th 2014



2121 Comments


awww sweet album sweet review

CaptainDooRight
March 9th 2014



28332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice to see a review for this, I really enjoyed it

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

manosg
March 9th 2014



5717 Comments


Great to see that Judio has released an LP and props to you Aaron for reviewing it.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2014



19451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers guys. Glad people are liking this album it's pretty neat

thelastsignal
March 9th 2014



990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really great review, man. I like the movie inclusion that kind of solidifies what kind of atmosphere is on this.

Digging: Mastodon - Once More 'Round the Sun

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 9th 2014



19451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man I appreciate it!

treefingered2
March 10th 2014



150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow nice this has a review now. Very good job, liked the first paragraph a lot, and I like how you mentioned the cool artwork too. This is a good album, need to hear mor albums made by people on this site now

Digging: Bad Brains - Bad Brains

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2014



19451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you sir. It technically has 2 reviews now though :3 you should check out the other review too, thelastsignal did a great job on it!

treefingered2
March 10th 2014



150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh very nice I will look that over soon

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2014



4796 Comments


Yeah man I think you would be surprised by how many talented musicians are on this site, I know I was at first.

Rsetness9
March 19th 2014



673 Comments


Where can I listen to this??




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy