Tycho
Awake


3.5
great

Review

by Jacob Royal STAFF
March 7th, 2014 | 74 replies | 9,385 views


Release Date: 03/18/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Scott Hansen's most memorable album

Much of Tycho's music has always felt like downtempo for an incomplete world. Case in point: his 2010 release Dive functions similarly to the spectacular Disasterpeace soundtrack for Fez. Through miles and miles of gleaming reverb, it creates a context for another universe, glazed and radiant. But the issue with Dive, and the quality that distinguishes it from such a landmark soundtrack, is that it exists alone- constructed to stand on its own two feet, but sound as if it simply isn't meant to deliver on its own terms. And Hansen's newest outing Awake is similar to its predecessors in that there, unfortunately, still seems to be a disconnect between artist and canvas. It’s the most memorable Tycho album, sure, but what exactly does that mean at this point?

Despite how familiar its ideas are, though, Awake’s distinctly a Tycho release because it specializes in subtlety. Hasn’t Tycho’s work always been about tweaking the knobs just that tiny bit, anyways? Add a shade of reverb to that one melody; find a softer tint of orange to boot. The idea behind Hansen’s music has always been predicated on precision- the process in which he goes about this has just been refined with time. And that's why Awake feels eerily familiar upon first spin, because it's a more exhaustive look into the aesthetic with which Hansen's been working throughout the years. Let's be clear, though: while Tycho's third full-length is nothing but a bag of old tricks, they're ones that took time to properly cultivate. These songs are founded from simple enough motifs- which, for Hansen, have always consisted of just a couple constituent parts in particular: the delicate lead guitar line, supported by characteristically clouded synth work- but here, he goes and takes it a step further. It's those ghost notes on the snare in “Dye” that go above and beyond the call of duty; it, too, is the washed-out refrain hidden in the husk of “See.” It’s even possible the seismic shifts of “Apogee” go hardest, nodding to the dancefloor in a way no Tycho release has done before.

Yes, Awake is a focused record, but it lets loose a little too; it conjures memories without getting too caught up in the baggage that typically comes tethered to such things. And, indeed, Hansen’s AMA session revealed that he pushes no specific agendas with his music. He creates it to be adaptable, and while it undeniably came from a particular time and place, it’s penned to work ubiquitously: songs made for sunrise just as much as sunset. Yet while Awake is every bit as emotionally faint as its forerunners, it’s also the telling of a new tale for the musician. More than ever before, these songs spin on their own axes: and that fact alone makes this record as positive a step forward for Tycho as anything.




Recent reviews by this author
SZA ZCHON Woohoo!
Cynic Kindly Bent to Free UsOlafur Arnalds Another Happy Day
Icarus the Owl Icarus the OwlBurial Untrue
user ratings (74)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2014



9492 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Stream: http://www.npr.org/2014/03/02/282129737/first-listen-tycho-awake

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2014



3024 Comments


NEW TYCHO BEEYOTCH

would I like this given that I really didn't think the Fez soundtrack was all that good or should I check out Dive first

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2014



9492 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

honestly man just listen to the song linked in the review and see what you think. it took a few listens to grow on me, but it's def one of my favorites on this record now.

Keyblade
March 7th 2014



13277 Comments


Def check Dive

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins

osmark86
March 7th 2014



2986 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

oh yeah, gotta check this out.

Digging: Forss - Ecclesia

CaptainDooRight
March 7th 2014



26459 Comments


title track is pretty good on this

and brostep that is one amazing avi

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

ShitsofRain
March 7th 2014



4711 Comments


wake up

Digging: Ground Zero - Revolutionary Pekinese Opera, Ver. 1.28

Ahmad498
March 7th 2014



242 Comments


DIVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Gyromania
March 7th 2014



14653 Comments


lol at the rating with the summary

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2014



3024 Comments


muchas gracias cap'n

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2014



3024 Comments


and that song you linked is kick-ass

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2014



9492 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

NEW TYCHO BEEYOTCH

I surmise this'll be the first line of the new Kendrick Lamar album

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2014



17348 Comments


nice review but i disagree, this is absolutely his most derivative album and its pretty bad. those god awful guitars are way to prevalent and most of the melodies sound like theyre ripped directly off dive just with more reverb

im expecting a p4k 7.5 tho ;)

Digging: Monolake - Interstate

climactic
March 7th 2014



17270 Comments


knew this was a jacob royal review before clicking on it

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2014



18622 Comments


excellent review jacob

Digging: Somos - Temple of Plenty

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2014



2685 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I'm definitely with Hyp on this one, this is some of the most offensively lifeless and uninspiring music to come out this year.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2014



3024 Comments


Jonny/Hyp - was Dive better or more of the same? Stagno liked it, but I never knew him that well so I'm not sure how our tastes overlap

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2014



17348 Comments


dive is better than this but its still pretty boring. it has a better sounds but thats about all it has going for it. imagine this record but with more synths and thats basically dive.

Wadlez
March 7th 2014



3359 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea, this is a little too similar to Dive (which I dig) for my liking. Still a pleasant listen, and its not too long.

Digging: Anacrusis - Screams and Whispers

ShitsofRain
March 7th 2014



4711 Comments


blocked brosteps avatar



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy