GridLink
Longhena


4.7
superb

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
March 3rd, 2014 | 94 replies | 8,441 views


Release Date: 02/19/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A new gold standard in grind.

The cover art to GridLink's Longhena is the kind of thing that only Jon Chang can get away with. It looks more like the poster for a live action Neon Genesis Evangelion reboot than it does anything that associates itself with heavy music, grindcore in particular, but once again, it is so indicative of just about every word Jon Chang has screeched or drawn inspiration from in both Discordance Axis and in GridLink. So much so that it actually makes sense. Just take a quick look at the track listing. Chances are this is the only convergence of both Japanese shoot-em up arcade games, Scottish science fiction novels, and botany to exist in the musical universe.

Although Jon Chang's work after Discordance Axis is not as well known as his seminal grind project, GridLink caries on as a natural extension of the unique personality and tonal composition that made The Inalienable Dreamless a classic. Longhena is no exception. It is a meticulously constructed clusterfuck that bombards the senses from every angle. The mile a minute drum work sets the scene for the dancing array of melodic – for grindcore-- yet completely unhinged guitar mayhem and larynx shredding screeches. Every song is laid out like a big city marathon, traversing all the sights and sounds of its most storied historical landmarks as thousands clog the street trying to muscle their way through as fast as possible. Again and again this endurance test plays out, yet on a microscopic scale; where any given song begins is no indication as to where it will end up in a minute's time, let alone in a few seconds. Longhenna is delightfully jarring as in the span of a minute clean interludes can be found juxtaposing blistering scale runs, and monstrous chords frantically clash against nails-across-a-chalk-board histrionics.

Yet for as much of a grinding, nightmarish cacophony that Longhena is, it still sounds incredibly human. It's as if somewhere, buried deep in a sea of distortion and obscure nerdy references, lies a living and breathing soul trying to escape and tell its own story. It is a tome forever lost beneath the violent waves, but in the troughs it surfaces just long enough to remind us that it is still struggling, like most of us, to find a way into the light.



Recent reviews by this author
United Nations The Next Four YearsMatter Teraphim
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereOwls Two
Taking Back Sunday Happiness IsComeback Kid Die Knowing
user ratings (102)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



17196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

this is the best "heavy" record I've heard from 2014 thus far.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



7971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album is fucking awesome agreed

emester
March 3rd 2014



1986 Comments


Saw this on my bandcamp music feed. Im pretty new to grind, so is this a good starting point?

Digging: Overkill - White Devil Armory

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



1489 Comments


Oh my, this seems awesome. Gotta check it out.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



17196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

as good a point as any. just like death metal you can find the stuff that sounds old and has a super murky/evil sounding production (although it borrows more from old hardcore than death metal), or you can find stuff that's super slick. this is the latter.

emester
March 3rd 2014



1986 Comments


sounds pretty good. I'll order it tonight

ThyCrossAwaits
March 3rd 2014



3043 Comments


Dude, this is three whole paragraphs.

What are you doing

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



17196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

4 out of my last 6 reviews have 3 paragraphs. I don't know who i am anymore.

MoosechriS
March 3rd 2014



4769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

been playing this like crazy since release day, may end up 5'ing this eventually. Best thing they've ever done. Mind blowing album

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



18005 Comments


this bands other albums are pretty bad but i might give this a shot

Digging: Autechre - Draft 7.30

sunbathory
March 3rd 2014



69 Comments


oh this is out neato

Wizard
March 3rd 2014



19208 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Love this album. And Hype, how don't you like this type of grind?

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



18005 Comments


i love discordance axis but this band just isnt that good. everything they do is overproduced to hell and just a random assortment of riffs that dont go anywhere or do anything.

i also hate how all anyone ever talks about with anything related to jon chang is that guy when as far as i can tell all he does is vocals, which sound cool yeah but thats about it. discordance axis would have been nothing without rob marton, and this band is living proof of that.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



17196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

I like the production and the riffs flow into each other rather enjoyably for me.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2014



4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I was expecting something far more gritty. It's too clean and polished for a sound that wants to be so chaotic, unpredictable, and primal.

sixdegrees
March 3rd 2014



16727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think the clean production fits the technical/melodic riffing style pretty well honestly.

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

Torii
March 4th 2014



805 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, 4.7/4.8 is about right. Really love this. The riffs are just way too good.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2014



5977 Comments


nice

was thinking about reviewing this bc i didn't know if anyone else on staff was going to, album is pretty dope

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2014



5977 Comments


also agreed so hard about that artwork

MoosechriS
March 4th 2014



4769 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@ hyp - chang used to take martons riff tapes and disect and splice them back together the way he wanted. He used to do the same with most of the song structures apparently. Although i agree that marton is criminally overlooked in favour of chang, i dont think DA would have been the same without changs almost ocdish way of doing things



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy