Kamchatka
The Search Goes On


3.7
great

Review

by Raul Stanciu STAFF
February 20th, 2014 | 27 replies | 3,943 views


Release Date: 02/19/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A really balanced album that offers the listener a bit of everything, making for a carefree, fun record.

At this point I am sure the Swedish population is born with a mutant gene that favors the creation of excellent rock and metal music. Focusing on the hard rock/stoner genre, there are so many bands that have released plenty of amazing records, one wouldn't even know where to start listening to them. In the past two decades, Sweden, along with a few other European countries, have slowly taken over the respective genre, gradually dethroning the Americans, even though they have helped develop and popularize it. Of course, as of today there are still various essential acts on the western side of the Atlantic, however, taken upon a closer inspection, the US is constantly losing precious ground.

Kamchatka are yet another example of cool, blues-infested stoner rock, created by a trio which happens to also feature multi-instrumentalist Per Wiberg (widely renowned for his tenure as keyboard player in Opeth and Spiritual Beggars) on bass and background vocals. He returned to his roots and, along with guitarist/singer Thomas Andersson and drummer Tobias Strandvik, has come up with another great record. The Search Goes On is a fun listen whose overall vibe borrows a lot from classic blues-rock/hard rock acts such as ZZ Top, Led Zeppelin and Cactus, with a lot of dirty grooves and powerful riffing, often topped by juicy solos. Right from the beginning, the band cranks the volume up to 11, throwing some heavy rockers like 'Somedays' and 'Coast To Coast', that also channel Clutch with their tight riffs and wobbly solos. Meanwhile, the lovely highlight, 'Tango Decadence' has a really infectious rhythm and Andersson's melodic vocals are top notch as always.

The ZZ Top influence is most evident in the second half on the boogie shuffle 'Thank You For Your Time' or the steady cruiser 'Cross The Distance' , which boasts a chorus that reminds of 'Cheap Sunglasses'. At the same time, the slow burner 'Dragons', echoes 'A Fool For Your Stockings' off the veteran act's same, 1979 classic LP, Deguello, only with a rawer edge. Kamchatka aren't shy about wearing their influences on their sleeves, nevertheless, they twist and turn them to create an excellent and enjoyable mix. Plus, being more focused and shorter than their previous affair Bury Your Roots, this album is easier to digest.

Overall, The Search Goes On is a really balanced album which offers the listener a bit of everything, thus making it a carefree, fun listen. Frankly, this is what the band aimed at too, keeping it lightweight without loading it with pompous concepts and challenging lyrics. They just want you to blast it on your car stereo while going out or having some friends over on a Saturday night. All rock fans should take their time and give the record a chance.




Recent reviews by this author
Kaiser Chiefs Education, Education, Education & WarMotorpsycho Behind the Sun
The Ultra Electric Mega Galactic The Ultra Electric Mega GalacticBuckethead Monument Valley
Truckfighters UniverseThe Reverend Horton Heat Rev
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2014



3160 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Full stream available here - http://www.metalunderground.com/news/details.cfm?newsid=100232

This is a cool, fun record, check it out!

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2014



7162 Comments


'that have released such amazing records' - 'plenty of amazing records' reads better

'being more focused and shorter'

^ than what?

Also, switch 'careful' to some other word like 'carefree' in the last paragraph.

'without loading it pompous concepts and challenging lyrics' - put 'with' after 'it'


Digging: Floor - Oblation

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2014



3160 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Thanks for pointing out these small issues. I decided to change a few sentences when I submitted it and didn't read them twice.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2014



7162 Comments


... and perhaps change 'any rock fans' to 'all rock fans' in the last sentence.

Also, I'd be more specific with the description of musicians (what do they play?)

'Big' doesn't really collocate with 'number', change it to 'large'... still 'plenty of' works better in this sentence

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2014



3160 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Done. All good now?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2014



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Props for reviewing this album Raul, this is a bare-bones but solid nevertheless retro rock album, this is a low 3.5 for me atm.

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2014



3160 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I really like it because it reminds me of ZZ Top, it really has that old-school vibe. Plus, some of the songs here are downright infectious.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2014



5612 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, the album is solid and I can definitely sense the ZZ top influence, but the Swedes have been spoiling us for ages, and I want more haha :-D

Also, is it my idea or "Cross The Distance" ends rather abruptly?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2014



7162 Comments


I'd write sth like that:

He returned to his roots and, along with guitarist/singer Thomas Andersson and drummer Tobias Strandvikwith, has come up with another great record.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2014



3160 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Agreed. They could've kept it a bit longer to give the song a proper ending

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2014



7162 Comments


This is solid all around, but not particularly memorable. Will listen more to decide on the rating.

Emyay
February 20th 2014



4553 Comments


you lost me at zz top.

Mad.
February 20th 2014



2933 Comments


Looks interesting, great write up Raul.

Did you check Astrosoniq?

SharkTooth
February 20th 2014



1623 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Them swedes

Digging: High Tone - Ekphrön

CaptainDooRight
February 20th 2014



26444 Comments


'At this point I am sure the Swedish population is born with a mutant gene that favors the creation of excellent rock and metal music.'

known fact for many decades

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

CaptainDooRight
February 20th 2014



26444 Comments


Also, I like the new site feature of being able to add a song playback on the actual review. Great stuff!

manosg
February 20th 2014



4693 Comments


Nice rev Raul and the track is quite good. Might give this one a listen in due time.

Digging: Jan Akkerman - Tabernakel

Wolfhorde
February 20th 2014



11799 Comments


riffs.

m/

digging this so far.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2014



3160 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

@Captain - true, but I wanted to point out the fact that Sweden has become more prolific than any other country when it comes to stoner/hard rock

zaruyache
February 20th 2014



4823 Comments


You use a lot of commas in your sentences.

Digging: Paramnesia - Paramnesia



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy