Temples
Sun Structures


3.5
great

Review

by Major Tom CONTRIBUTOR (139 Reviews)
February 17th, 2014 | 26 replies | 2,396 views


Release Date: 02/10/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Psychedelic?

Temples are an English indie rock outfit that describe their music as ‘psychedelic’, which has always been a slightly ambiguous term. The same notion of vagueness applies to Temples’ debut album, as although they throw in a few wacky sounds, wear their 60's/70’s influences on their sleeve, and opt for kitschy production choices, the music they make is essentially indie rock that hints at psychedelica without ever succumbing to its excesses. In other words, Sun Structures is not a blazed out, experimental piece of work but a slightly more colourful and trippy shade of indie rock, and works solidly on such a promise with easily digestible structures and melodies intact.

Temples could easily appear as passable retroists at a glance but such a glib assessment is unfair. The production is smothered by a layer of distortion - the shrill vocals, pounding drums and effervescent guitars are deliberately covered by a thin veil of dust to perhaps hint that Sun Structures is, or wishes to be, a psychedelic record that sounds as though it could have been recorded in the genre’s classic era. But for the most part that is as kitschy as it gets, other than the bands appearance or the album cover artwork.

Although Sun Structures undeniably reeks of the past its retroisms transcend the mere level of kitsch and gimmick because the music is hooky, sharp and highly pleasurable on its own merits. ‘Shelter Song’s slippery guitar and reverbed vocals call out from the late 60’s and latch infectiously onto those caught in the airwaves; ‘The Golden Throne’ marches along on fuzzy guitars and faux drama, and the exotic riffs and kinetic arrangement of ‘Sun Structures’ also makes for a winner. Also pleasurable is the psych-blues of ‘Keep in the Dark’, the vibrant ‘Mesmerise’ and the shimmering, mysterious ‘Sand Dance’. The album as a whole is very solid and whilst around half of the tracks aren't quite as exciting as those mentioned above none are truly poor or weak when it comes down to it.

Ultimately, Sun Structures may not be all that psychedelic and Temples may not have crafted something truly mind-boggling but when their compositions hit the right vibe the result is vibrant and exciting indie rock, so who could really complain? Psychedelic is a vague genre and Temples’ heart appears to be in the right place so switch off your mind, relax and enjoy the highlights from this sturdy and colourful debut.

Highlights: Shelter Song; Sun Structures; The Golden Throne; Keep in the Dark; Mesmerise



Recent reviews by this author
Metronomy Love LettersBombay Bicycle Club So Long, See You Tomorrow
Oasis Dig Out Your SoulOasis Don't Believe the Truth
Oasis Heathen ChemistryOasis Standing on the Shoulder of Giants
user ratings (76)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
JamieTwort CONTRIBUTOR (3)
A decent if somewhat flawed psychedelic pop album that shows promise for the band’s future....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014



1106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Quite a fun album, nothing mind blowing but there's a handful of really decent tunes on here

Review also at http://www.thealtreview.net/album-reviews/temples-sun-structures

TWIGtheWONDERKID
February 17th 2014



740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review--you described the album perfectly. I almost dismissed it the first time I listened, but I’m glad I gave it another chance. I’m really liking it now.


Digging: Luke Haines - New York in the '70s

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014



7325 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I more or less agree with this. There's some really strong songwriting here.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014



1106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@TWIG - Thanks man, a few of these tracks are growers for sure.

@Ali - That's a rarity for us! It's very solid through and through, think my favourite may be Shelter Song but that's liable to change.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014



20365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn, I was just about to post a review for this.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014



7325 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah Shelter Song's pretty good. Mesmerise would probably be my favourite.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014



1106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@JamieTwort - Sorry man! I was surprised that there wasn't already a review up for this, having been
out for a week

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014



20365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No worries man, I might as well post it anyway as it's already written.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014



15906 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"indie rock that hints at psychedelica without ever succumbing to its excesses"

I like the 'excesses' side of psychedelia.

Listening to this right now though its quite fun

Digging: Nemrud - Journey of the Shaman

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014



20365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review. We make different points in our reviews (which is good seeing as they've both been posted on the same day haha) but I generally agree with a lot of what you've said in yours too.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014



1106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man.

I agree that the album is a tad uneven but nothing is super weak + there's a few winners on here so 3-3.5 seems fair enough

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014



20365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My personal rating is more like a 3.5 as I really do enjoy the album, it's just that when reviewing an album I tend to look at it more objectively and as I was writing the review it felt closer to a 3.0.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2014



1106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm at 3.5 both objectively and subjectively i think, which is nice but rare

apokolypz
February 17th 2014



282 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album art reminds me of The Who.

WhiteNoise
February 18th 2014



3103 Comments


Saw that one of my favourite bands (Deep Sea Arcade) are supporting these guys out in Melbourne so I gave them a shot. I really like what I heard.

jefflebowski
February 18th 2014



7822 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

they don't have a single original idea but the album's still pretty fun

Digging: Big Black - Atomizer

TWIGtheWONDERKID
February 18th 2014



740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Jeff: Indeed

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2014



4507 Comments


"The same notion of vagueness applies to Temples’ debut album, as although they throw in a few wacky sounds"

I'd change "as" to "because" here, which sounds smoother when you break up that sentence add a few extra points in. Other than that the review reads well ;). Still need to hear this, as I just got done listening to Toy's last album. What a great album that is, love those krautrock vibes.

Dimor
February 18th 2014



1757 Comments


Man, this album is really average.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2014



20365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's above average imo. In fact it's pretty damn enjoyable.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy