Tides of Man
Young and Courageous


3.6
great

Review

by Thompson D. Gerhart STAFF
February 13th, 2014 | 58 replies | 9,622 views


Release Date: 02/04/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Channeling the pain of change.

Change hurts.

If there's anyone in the world who understands that, it's me. I have an unenviable condition where major life changes give me a tremendous amount of anxiety. I first encountered it when I switched high schools in 2005 and became psychosomatically ill for a full month. The condition has persisted through my first, second, and third attempts at college; my first, second, and third attempts at full-time work; and now, after a promotion I worked my ass off to earn at my physical place of work.

But why bring all of that up?

Because change is painful, and Young and Courageous does a fine job of bringing that fact to light. And I can relate.

From the opening sprawls of "Desolate. Magnificent.", Tides of Man make us very aware of their emotional descent since the departure of much-lauded vocalist Tilian Pearson. Though the album isn't wholly too different from an instrumental version of debut Empire Theory, the down-tempo post-rock on the album carries a sentiment of depressive flailing. The Tides of Man of Young and Courageous are very obviously struggling to cement a new identity while fighting to overcome grief for glory days long beyond their reach.

Such tumult is especially noticeable in songs like "Mountain House," which contain lead lines reminiscent of Tilian's over-the-top vocals. Yet it's equally apparent in the drawn-out vastness of Courageous as a whole and in songs like "We Were Only Dreaming" which reach bouncy and bright highs only to come crashing back down into those dark, downtrodden corners. Other songs, for all of their interlacing instrumental work, feel like they're simply missing a part. Like a room once filled with laughter and excitement left suddenly empty, silent, and loomingly large, even if still grandly decorated.

But there's power to be had in that ethereally sublime quality of the music; a hidden power to tap into in that frightful event of change. And Tides of Man reach within and make use of it by infusing raw emotion into their textured and proficient approach to post-rock. And while there may be moments that linger a little too long or which grow repetitive (mostly in the second half of the album, with its closer being the top offender), it's oddly comforting to see a band that's gone through such an identity upheaval build on their strengths, exemplify just what every instrument can bring to an album, and march firmly into new territory.

After all, if Tides of Man can take the challenge of even the most perilous looking change head-on and succeed, maybe people like me can, too.




Recent reviews by this author
Althea ElevenAnimals As Leaders The Joy Of Motion
Angel Vivaldi Away With Words - Part IGab.riel Tangent
Being AnthropoceneAyreon The Theory of Everything
user ratings (125)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Daniel Davis (4.5)
A surprisingly mature post-rock effort from a band in a self-described “identity crisis”....

related reviews

Empire Theory

Dreamhouse

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2014



9469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This review is beautiful and makes me so proud < 3

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2014



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Album was kind of speaking to me. I thought it'd take me longer to get my first staff review out since working in a new role has really been stressing me out, but here we are (getting a lot done while the office was closed probably helped, too).

It looks like I even got the stream to work, too!

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2014



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

This review is beautiful and makes me so proud < 3


<3 Team sexy tearing up staff these dayzzzzz!

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2014



7840 Comments


Such a good review; I can relate to a lot of it as well personally.

FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2014



7840 Comments


Man, we're kicking off this promotion week with a bang!

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2014



14492 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sounding good, enjoyed reading the rev

Digging: Ian Anderson - Homo Erraticus

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2014



9469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The production on this album is fantastic. That snare drum, man.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 13th 2014



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Man, we're kicking off this promotion week with a bang!

Staff and contrib reviews for everything!

The production on this album is fantastic. That snare drum, man.

Everything is really well-dialed-in and balanced. I still have faith in these guys going forward, though I wouldn't be surprised if they pick up a new singer somewhere along the way.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2014



18612 Comments


Great first review as Staff man

Digging: Somos - Temple of Plenty

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 13th 2014



1546 Comments


Yeah, I really like the way you approached reviewing this. Song sounds great too.

oldsoul
February 13th 2014



68 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, it really held my interest. This album has been in heavy rotation for me lately, they did a really good job with it.

Digging: Copeland - Eat, Sleep, Repeat

JS19
February 14th 2014



3629 Comments


Yeah, so I'm checking this out

Digging: The Dillinger Escape Plan - Calculating Infinity

silentstar
February 14th 2014



1862 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

beautiful review for a beautiful album



linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
February 14th 2014



1776 Comments


If this condition is the one I'm thinking of, then I can definitely relate too. Nicely written review, enjoyed its sentiments.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
February 14th 2014



7800 Comments


cool

Digging: Kettle Rebellion - Kettle Rebellion

Froot
February 14th 2014



64 Comments


feels.jpg

Been looking for some new instrumental material to listen to lately. This might hit the spot for me.

ZippaThaRippa
February 14th 2014



2361 Comments


So is Tilian still part of the band?

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2014



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Is this a serious inquiry? 'Cause no.

silentstar
February 14th 2014



1862 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tillian plays drums and guitars and bass and everything

The T in Tides of Man stands for Tillian

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2014



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6 | Sound Off

Tilians of Man.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy