Snowmine
Dialects


3.5
great

Review

by Tony Li USER (36 Reviews)
February 11th, 2014 | 53 replies


Release Date: 02/04/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A different breed of animal.

Perhaps it's just a sign of maturity, but Snowmine is treading a calmer path with sophomore release Dialects, trading out pop hooks for more brooding, drawn-out passages. With previous release Laminate Pet Animal we were introduced to a psychedelic mishmash that sustained itself (when not on some mind-bending substance) by way of staggeringly clever hooks and eclectic instrumentation. Dialects comes across as a continuation of this formula, with a more washed-out and laidback direction that lends itself to a more overall pleasant psychedelic ride. It's a more intelligently constructed album than its excellent predecessor, and while it may come across as more same-y throughout due to its toned down ambiance, Dialects is no doubt a more concentrated release.

Opener "To Hold an Ocean" is a prime example of what the album has to offer, featuring a delightfully unorthodox beat and vocalist Grayson Sanders crooning over the track. Sanders himself is a neo-classical composer, and this influence is evident throughout in the form of lilting and soaring string arrangements. The same intro track closes with a echoing piano interlude, signifying that Snowmine is also skilled with transitions. The tracks that most resemble their Laminate Pet Animal counterparts are "Rome" and "Further Along, Farther Away", and even so this resemblance is fleeting. The overall slowness in tempo is more evident, but Sanders' usage of vocal hooks is still present.

Unfortunately, while it is evident that Snowmine is capable of crafting memorable tunes, their formula and their general sound lends itself very vulnerable to filler content. The second half of the album, with the exception of "Silver Sieve", tends to bleed together much more than the relatively memorable first half. Dialects is ill-suited for lengthy listening for the sake of listening, and is perhaps more fitting as a sleepy sort of album instead of an active everyday listen. In this respect, Snowmine has succeeded in creating exactly the sort of album that they intended to create, but whether or not this bodes well for its replay value depends on individual moods and preferences. Dialects is an excellent but very situational album, outshining its predecessor in terms of experimentation but faltering on the grounds of accessibility and replay value.



Recent reviews by this author
How to Dress Well What Is This Heart?Lana Del Rey Ultraviolence
The Amity Affliction Let the Ocean Take MeClosure in Moscow Pink Lemonade
Adestria Gilded HeartsSave Us From The Archon Thereafter
user ratings (40)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
McStrongarm (3.5)
I'm starting to think that I might look back at this later on and think to myself that this was a gr...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Azn.
February 11th 2014


5615 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wish this would've been my first contrib review but oh well

¯_(ツ)_/¯

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


2719 Comments


Pos

Ah man I tried to review this for the longest time but just could not do it. Might have another crack at it tonight but jesus, this ain't the easiest to talk about.

Last track is dope, in any case.

Azn.
February 11th 2014


5615 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ty m8

I really appreciate some parts of this album but I still have to prefer laminate

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


2719 Comments


Yeah for sure, I feel like they've traded out something special for something that's just kind of interesting.

Calc
February 11th 2014


12309 Comments


"Perhaps it's just a sign of maturity, but Snowmine is treading a calmer path with sophomoric release Dialects,"


hehe this sentence is funny. can you post a Link please?

Digging: Mr. Oizo - The Church

Azn.
February 11th 2014


5615 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

http://www.brooklynvegan.com/archives/2014/01/stream_snowmine.html

spoderfy stream

Azn.
February 11th 2014


5615 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

spotify is really awesome

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


6188 Comments


wow that artwork is really cool

Comatorium.
February 11th 2014


4187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

good to see a featured review for this. they put on a pretty good show in baltimore a few days ago.

Pheromone
February 11th 2014


3788 Comments


What's up with the amount of releases on the 4th of feb

Digging: Kid Loco - A Grand Love Story

Calc
February 11th 2014


12309 Comments


dang since this is featured I'll bring this up:

sophomoric: having or showing a lack of emotional maturity : foolish and immature


so I think you can better word that first sentence.




Azn.
February 11th 2014


5615 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fixed, thank calc

whoa a feature! thanks whoever featured this!

Italianjesusfootball
February 11th 2014


276 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

badass artwork for sure.
i'll listen to the album in a little bit.
good review as well. pos.

Digging: Ryan Hemsworth - Alone For The First Time

Italianjesusfootball
February 11th 2014


276 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ehhh, I found it to just be okay. Not really my thing, I guess.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


16789 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Glad this got another review. I still think this is a 4 but as long as we all can agree that laminate pet animal is better then I'm cool

Digging: Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


16789 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Great review by the way and congrats on the promotion.

Azn.
February 11th 2014


5615 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh no sowing I didn't get promoted this cycle (I wish doe)

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2014


16789 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Oh wow I totally misread that first comment, my bad! (wasn't trying to rub salt in the wound)

Either way, I felt this was a very accurate and concise review for an album that needed one. Keep up the good work!

Azn.
February 11th 2014


5615 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks!

hope I have better luck next cycle

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 11th 2014


20077 Comments


Yeah great review keep it up

Digging: Circa Survive - Descensus



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy