Abandon All Ships
Malocchio


2.4
average

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
February 10th, 2014 | 201 replies | 11,133 views


Release Date: 02/11/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Wildly flailing away in the hope of stumbling upon a successful balance. Sorry, you're not a winner!

Ever since Enter Shikari apologized to us for not being winners in 2006, it feels as if hundreds of bands have attempted to emulate such a successful balance of electronica and post-hardcore. Considering that the Englishmen themselves struggled to follow up their first physical single, it should come as no surprise that synthcore act after electronicore act have subsequently delivered albums ranging from sub-par to unlistenable clusterfucks. Promisingly, Michigan sextet I See Stars – another group who had previously released three barely passable LPs – stepped it up in 2013 with ‘New Demons’; an album which proved that the genre could juxtapose such disparate elements to sustain tunes that crossed the four minute barrier. Could their Canadian counterparts Abandon All Ships overcome their reality show roots to replicate such success on their third LP ‘Malocchio’?

While containing a moderately catchy chorus courtesy of clean vocalist Martin Broda, lead single and album opener ‘Reefer Madness’ suggests the answer to the aforementioned question is unfortunately in the negative. Doing nothing to break away from the tired formula of screamed verses and clean choruses, the Toronto quintet deliver another messy album where they wildly flail away in the hope of stumbling upon a successful balance, to no avail. As per usual, practically every track provides at least a fleeting moment of inspiration, but each is brought down by one obnoxious element or another. On occasion, it is the loud, in-your-face clubby synths, but more often than not it is Angelo Aita’s nondescript, predominantly unintelligible screams, which lack the necessary power and emotion to anchor these ten songs.

From a musical perspective, it is disappointing that apart from the slowed down section of ‘Trapped’, there isn’t a great deal of experimentation with tempo here. Nor – with the exception of a handful of intros – is there much atmosphere infused into proceedings. As ‘Malocchio’ progresses, Abandon All Ship’s metalcore foundations give way to their electronic tendencies. ‘Alive’ stretches the blueprint the furthest; Featuring Canadian producer AstroKrat, it is ready made for the Ibiza crowd, even making a belated toe-dip into Skrillex’s popular brand of dubstep! Of course, with the synth and keys of Sebastian Cassisi-Nunez taking precedence, Kyler Browne’s guitar-work – and to a lesser extent, Melvin Murray’s drumming – is reduced to mere background noise when not in full breakdown mode. Disappointingly, there is barely a striking riff or exciting solo to be heard.

From the heavily auto-tuned clean vocals of their debut (which are wisely dialled down here) to the rap and R&B embellishments of latest release ‘Infamous’, Abandon All Ships have admirably continued to tinker with their formulaic brand of trancecore. That continues on ‘Malocchio’, and while the clubby style actually suits them, the results are pretty much the same, since the band rarely approach balancing all of the varying elements satisfyingly. They come closest on ‘Trapped’ and closer ‘Paradise’, but even then there is the nagging feeling that the choruses simply aren’t infectious enough to make the tunes memorable. Abandon All Ships may be steadily improving their consistency, but it still feels as if they are as far away from Enter Shikari’s benchmark song as they were when they entered that reality show back in 2009. They could very well be heading in the right direction, but for now: Sorry, you’re not a winner.

Recommended Tracks: Trapped, Paradise & Bloor Street West.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctYou Me At Six Cavalier Youth
user ratings (75)
Chart.
1.9
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4

As per usual, the review probably reads a little lower than the rating, but that’s just me.

Oh, and malocchio means "evil eye" in Italian.

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2014



1629 Comments


Dang, you've been putting them out like clockwork lately. Nice review.

Digging: Sallie - Moonlight Detective

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4

Yep, 5 reviews for all of 2013... And, if everything goes to plan later this week, I will be posting my 5th review of 2014.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2014



21559 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i actually like some of their stuff so im gonna check this out

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

VermTheImpaler
February 9th 2014



1360 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Lol

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4

fishy, you're one of the few people around here that I can see awarding this album a pass mark.

VermTheImpaler
February 9th 2014



1360 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Band has always been just a really lame genericore group with shitty instrumentation and abysmal lyrics. Album is just a little bit better than infamous, still, this just crap

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4

I didn't mention the lyrics in the review, because they're kind of just there. Apart from Angelo screaming "f**k this" & "f**k that" too often, they're not that cringe-worthy, but they're also definitely not a strength.

skoopy48
February 9th 2014



1429 Comments


Imfamous was probably my least favorite album of 2012, and it looks like this one will be no better so I won't bother.

VermTheImpaler
February 9th 2014



1360 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

For me they were really that cringe-worthy. And those screams of fuck this and fuck that are worse than fedoras are avesome

silentstar
February 9th 2014



2228 Comments


"recommended by reviewer

I See Stars Digital Renegade
Crown The Empire The Fallout
Capture the Crown Til Death
That's Outrageous! Psycho
Abandon All Ships Infamous
Enter Shikari Take to the Skies
Attack Attack! Attack Attack!
We Came As Romans To Plant A Seed
Asking Alexandria Stand Up and Scream
Abandon All Ships Geeving"

I'd hate to be the person who looked at that and got happy

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4

Skoopy, you're probably right. Unfortunately, from what I can see, there's nothing from this album up on SoundCloud as yet, so I can't give you guys a preview. 'Cowboys' is on YouTube though, I think.

'Fedoras are Awesome': Sounds like a great album name.

VermTheImpaler
February 9th 2014



1360 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

You know that those recs are bad when enter shikari is the best in the entire list, lol

Azn.
February 9th 2014



5557 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

horrible, horrible, horrible

Digging: Trophy Scars - Never Born, Never Dead

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4

Tbh, I'm still not certain about using 'Sorry, You're Not a Winner' as a benchmark for the genre of sorts, but it's close enough & the play on the title was too good to refuse.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2014



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.4

Write review..... See 1 ratings sky-rocket!

Azn.
February 9th 2014



5557 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeh 1.5 might be more accurate

if this is worse than the last album then I must say this is quite the feat

silentstar
February 9th 2014



2228 Comments


Davey, I'm curious,

why do you choose to review these albums?

(I also noticed your crazy frog soundoffs, besides other things)

ILJ
February 9th 2014



6615 Comments


they just released a full length 7 months ago. christ

Digging: Mastodon - Once More 'Round the Sun

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 9th 2014



21559 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

19 months ago



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy